We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A short stay but good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Klagan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Klagan Hotel
Ranked #11 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
plymouth
Level Contributor
90 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A short stay but good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

We were booked in here for one night by the tour company arriving at 8pm and leaving again at 5am the following morning. I can only comment on the room which was very good clean large excellent wifi. The reception staff sorted out early morning call and checkin/out very efficiently. I would say if you want a City hotel this is a good bet.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beats21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    167
    61
    14
    2
See reviews for
55
81
19
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel feature a very simple and comfortable room. Has a very good space in the room. Location is excellent. Located right in front of the lively waterfront, a shopping mall, the market whr u can hv many choices of food, souveniers, the hotel itself is in a shopping mall. U can also walk to the famous seafood food court in KK whr u can hv a vast seafood of choices n u can choose on how the seafood be cooked.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MsApex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Checking in was pleasant, being greeted by friendly and helpful reception. The front desk even went the extra mile to help my wife and I look for cars to rent. We really appreciate the help.
The Klagan Hotel was located just next to shopping complex. It was also just across the street, about 1km from seafood centres such as Twinsky Seafood and Welcome Seafood restaurants, both being recommended seafood restaurants.
The room and bathroom is spacious and clean. We were quite happy with this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

This is our 1st visit to The Klagan with zero impression of how it looks like physically. To our surprised, the hotel location was good and the room was excellent indeed!

The front desk personnel were friendly except it tooks so long for them to complete the process.

Breakfast was simple and nice.

The hotel's location is just infront of the Centre Point Mall. Near to Philippine Market and the eating places. Value for money. We will come back.

Room Tip: seaview room will be perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Are-Narz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

I booked the Atrium Room which was ok. It was spacious and clean. Nice modern feel to it.
Free wifi too.
Unfortunately it didn't have a view of the sea. Window was facing inside the building.

But it is very strategically located in mall and next another 2 more shopping mall and the market. Walking distance to waterfront and free parking too.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jayelle8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Book a deluxe king size bed for 3 night with my husband & two children. Huge room and comfortable. Only things is room price too expensive. During my breakfast on the 3rd day one of the lady (sino) make me angry & informed me there is a charges for children below 5 yrs. During my booking & check in we had been confirmed & reconfirmed no charges for children below 5, even we had taken for the 1st two days also free but on the last day come out this, please be standard & state clearly if got charges, we are affort to pay for it. Location ok just next to centre point.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ho L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Korcula Island, Croatia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

I have had the pleasure of staying at many hotels, including several expensive properties and this is without a doubt, the best place that I have ever been. Our room was spacious with a great interior design, amenities and the bathroom was really clean. We spent 5 days, the hotel was beautiful and had a completely different character. Service is WOW really sets themselves apart and the team recovered from a bit of service glitch very well and earned a return trip from us. Now we just have to figure out when we can get back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WayneT135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
#13 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#10 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Klagan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Klagan Hotel

Property: The Klagan Hotel
Address: Ground Floor, Block D - Warisan Square | Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Klagan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE KLAGAN HOTEL, Kota Kinabalu, Sabah is strategically located in the heartland of city-centre encompasses 208-fully refurbished guests rooms will be an ideal choice for your next holiday or business destination. With just a mere 10-minute drive from Kota Kinabalu International Airport and walking distance to the shopping arcades, KK Waterfront Esplanade and the Filipino Market, we at The Klagan Hotel welcomes you with the Sabahan hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Klagan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing