We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Klagan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Klagan Hotel
Ranked #12 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
72 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

Arrived late, promptly checked in and went up to the room to prepare for a presentation the next morning. I like small rooms, but I like reasonably sized rooms better and this was one of the latter. Well appointed with electrical sockets everywhere to charge the myriad of gadgets I carry.

Bathroom ameneties was basic with the usual suspects. Arriving late, I usually won't get an iron, but this had both iron and board. So that's good. Internet connection was complementary, but it was rather slow. Had to use my LTE if I wanted to get any work done. That's an area for improvement.

Sleep was comfortable enough. Didn't wake up with a neck ache.

Breakfast? Hmmm....rudimentary at best. You won't go hungry, but you could do better elsewhere. Still, there was a convenience store just next to the hotel and the mall is just a hop away. So you're pretty set.

Roomy, clean, pretty bright room gets my vote every time. Wish I was staying longer instead of for just 10 hours.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    167
    61
    14
    2
See reviews for
55
81
19
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Putrajaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

I was here for a business trip for 3 nights. Compared to 5 star Meridien Hotel situated next to each other, this hotel offered the best location for travelers seeking easy access to shopping outlets and eateries. The room is spacious and comfortable for people to stay with families. Value for money. Cleanliness in the bathroom can be improved by ensuring fingerprints on glass surface to be removed. Excellent choice.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank JayJamil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

Being located in shopping mall, the hotel is exceptionally convenient. The hotel is located closely to some the easy priced spa which I went for.

The room is also spacious and clean considering the price of the hotel

The biggest problem was that the check-in time is 3 pm which is very inconvenient.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Layjai123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

we spent 3 nights in Klagan hotel during our trip to Sabah.

this hotel is clean and quite near to city center, which means convenience of shopping and dining all around.

it's close to the sea side and we got a seaview room with sunrise available each morning.
Also, price is reasonable and certainly it's highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allenzhang628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

We three couples from Perth arrived late evening to a 'no hassle' check in.

Polite n friendly staff.

Top floors on sea side have great views, and are plenty spacious with large and clean bathrooms.

Buffet breakfast on top floor caters for all tastes - European n Asian.

Located across street from huge Centrepoint shopping complex and just behind waterfront.

A couple of minor housekeeping faults were quickly corrected.

Overall a great 4 night stay.

Good value for money, will stay again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

I'm a frequent patron of the hotel throughout the years & i can honestly say that they've definitely improved. This time we tried their atrium room (it's the only room we never tried) and despite my low expectation (cuz it is the cheapest room) i have to say that i'm very impressed. The room is spacious, designs were very modern & clean. They do have a window although like most standard rooms in sabah, there's hardly a view (although we did get to see the internal view of the hotel from the window so at least there's something). The location is definitely what attraches people to the place. There's been an influx of foreign tourists at the hotel which is nice. And if you're driving, you do not have to worry as there's plenty of free parking available (but do remember to parked your car in the internal parking lots inside the Warisan Square building & not the ones outside as they'll still charged you for it). Oh and sercurity has also been greatly improved as the elevators (from the parking lots to your room floors) are now available for hotel guests with keys only, as oppose to a more public approach before

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank amoichoty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sri Kembangan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights and selected the hotel based on excellent reviews in Trip Advisor. Check in very slow, had to wait for a very looong time before I could go to my room. Excellent location, walking distance to Street market and sea front. Food court across the road, and everywhere else next to the hotel.

Like the roof top lounge for breakfast.

Room Tip: Choose the top floor rooms. You only need to go up a short flight of stairs to the rooftop lounge fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ipah133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,976 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
#13 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#9 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.4 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#8 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Klagan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Klagan Hotel

Property: The Klagan Hotel
Address: Ground Floor, Block D - Warisan Square | Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Klagan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE KLAGAN HOTEL, Kota Kinabalu, Sabah is strategically located in the heartland of city-centre encompasses 208-fully refurbished guests rooms will be an ideal choice for your next holiday or business destination. With just a mere 10-minute drive from Kota Kinabalu International Airport and walking distance to the shopping arcades, KK Waterfront Esplanade and the Filipino Market, we at The Klagan Hotel welcomes you with the Sabahan hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotelopia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Klagan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing