We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Klagan Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Grandis(Kota Kinabalu)
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu(Kota Kinabalu)
US$136
US$101
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa(Kota Kinabalu)
US$300
US$252
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu(Kota Kinabalu)
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Horizon Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
US$104
US$81
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$201
US$145
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$161
US$115
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Borneo Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
US$47
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$45
US$39
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$55
US$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (359)
Filter reviews
359 results
Traveller rating
71
200
68
17
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
71
200
68
17
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop cafewarisan squarewalking distanceshopping mallfilipino marketspacious roomtop floorseafoodcentre pointnice view of the seahotel is locatedrain showermoney changerairport taxismall citybreakfast buffetborneo hypermall
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
190 - 195 of 359 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Wow, Trip Advisor - this is the first time you let me down. I trusted you to find me a nice hotel for an affordable price. The price was a little higher than other places, but i was a bit disappointed. First of all, the rooms were crap. There was mold all over the bathroom and the hotel itself feels like something out of the 1980s. Very old interior.

Good
- Great breakfast (made order eggs)
- Location - near the boardwalk

Bad
- horrible rooms, moldy bathroom
- service was not great
- Location - a bit far from the jetty and the new mall

I would not recommend this place

Room Tip: Make sure you inspect the room. If you dont like, as for another. Bathrooms might have mold
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McNyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

My main letdown was upgrading from an Atrium View to a City View room only to look out onto the back end of a shopping mall. Rooms are nontheless large yet strangely furnished; bare walls, high ceiling, and a chair resembling a tongue carved from red dralon.
The breakfast buffet was just so so, no complaints over cleanliness although it wasn't until very late in the afternoon that the room was serviced. The TV was very small indeed.
They do have one feature that I have not encountered before - an sms number to contact reception over any issue with the room. I tried this out in the hope of securing a better view but never got a reply. All in all it was just OK but I have stayed in five different KK hotels and there is better value elsewhere. Perhaps paying a further premium for a sea view room would have helped make this a happier stay.

Room Tip: If you pick a City View room make sure at check-in that's what you are getting.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crouchender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Lovely rooms, great buffet breakfast with lots of variety, modern and spacious. 4 for cleanliness as like many hotels bathrooms in Malaysia (regardless if star rating it seems) there was a little mould

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chirpyandcheerful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night at Klagan Hotel on the 9th floor. This was a stop over accommodation option and we were not expecting much from the room. Our room was harbor facing with incredible views of the ocean. There was a great big window set up to maximize the view. We had booked for two singles and ended up with a king double. The hotel offered to bring a extra single into the room but we wanted the space and found that the bed was so big and comfortable we didn't even notice we were sharing a bed! There was this awesome, comfortable, red spinning reclining chair by the window. The bathroom was amazing, bath, separate shower (with massive shower head), toilet and vanity - so much space in the bathroom. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Good location beside Warisan Square, cheap parking building on same street (we have hired a car), massage salon on street below with reasonable (25RMB) 30 min foot massages, 10 min walk to Gaya Street Market and 15 min to Jessleton Wharf. We were sad to leave.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

After a bad experience the previous night, this place was a great relief. The staff are friendly and helpful, and the rooms clean.

The bed was a bit on the hard side, but for Malaysia that is a good result. Even better, this is the only hotel I have come across in Malaysia so far with double glazing, and it was a nice change to settle down to sleep without traffic noise in the background.

Everything worked in the bathroom, and there was a decent-sized tub. The only criticism was the air conditioning, which took several hours to get the temperature in the room below 25 degrees. Fortunately the slot in the wall that switches everything off when you leave is not the clever kind, so pack a store card that you can use to keep the aircon chugging feebly while you take dinner.

The hotel is very handy for the seafront market, where you can get excellent seafood at a good price if you are not the kind to obsess about style or hygiene. After a couple of weeks my digestion has become accustomed to Malaysia. So I cannot comment on the hotel restaurant in the hotel.

Room Tip: It is worth a bit extra to get a room with a good view of the sea.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews