We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It doesn't get much better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We would rate this as one of the best hotels we've ever stayed in. The Shangri La experience was something very special indeed. Facilities, views, attention to detail, but primarily down to the staff who were absolutely great.

Room Tip: Kinabalu wing is the newest, and we found the rooms to be of a very high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GRAHAM O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,861)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,239 - 2,245 of 3,861 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2012

Great room, fantastic staff, overall a very well run outfit. We stayed on the 7th floor of the Kinabalu wing with seaview in room 9720. Great position, quiet, but with a lovely morning view over the sea and evening sunsets. We payed extra for the Club facility, which was well worth the extra. It gave a quiet breakfast area, with very friendly service and a very flexible kitchen, whithout the noisier buffet in the main Tatu restaurant. The Club lounge was run by Mr Andy Zain (great manager), his team were outstanding, particularly Fifey and Norhayati. I cannot praise them more highly. For any one visiting this hotel, pay the extra for the Club facility. We will be back. Thanks for an outstanding holiday.

Room Tip: W liked the seaview from the Kinabalu wing, go for the higher levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YorkLightning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

we had a wonderful stay here, everything was 1st class

Room Tip: all rooms are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mjee248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

I want to preface this review with the fact that the main reason this hotel does not get five stars from us is that it is not the sort of place that we normally choose to stay. We are far more used to smaller, more individual hotels in this sort of location. If we could give it four and a half then we would.

But putting our personal prejudices aside, there is very little to fault and we had a wonderful time here over three separate visits over the last couple of weeks in between trips to different parts of Sabah.

Our first stay was for one night only and our initial reaction was that it was much too big and corporate for our tastes (although we were well aware of the size of the hotel when booking so should have expected this). Our first night was not helped by the fact that when we arrived it took about an hour for our luggage to arrive at our room which was an inconvenience as we had to pack for a very early start the following day. We probably would have been happier just dragging our luggage to the room ourselves as to be honest we are not used to such luxury.

But after that we only have good things to say. On our subsequent returns we had no problems at all and were won over by the wonderful staff who looked after us tremendously at every turn. It is amazing that in a hotel of this size that you can receive such attentive service.

Rooms were generally lovely with comfy beds (when you are lying awake with jet lag it is a huge bonus to be somewhere so comfortable). But the thing we probably enjoyed most, apart from the wonderful pool, was breakfast in Cafe Tatu. Amazing choice and good service and we especially liked the Breakfast Ambassador and the guy who dressed up most days to entertain the children (as well as the adults). We don't have children ourselves but can see how this hotel really goes the extra mile in looking after families with it's great facilities for kids.

We booked a trip with the Concierge, via the Sutera Harbour Hotel, to the Tunkul Abdul Rahman park islands which was good value. Yes, probably cheaper to go into town and do it yourself but we guess we saved about an hour in organizing the way we did and it really was not so expensive.

Several nice bars and restaurants about ten minutes walk away on Tanjung Aru beach if you want a bit of a change from the hotel facilities and a good location for watching the sunset.

On our last day, we realised that we had in no way touched all that the hotel has to offer, there is that much to do.

So, to conclude, despite our initial reservations and minor niggles at the start, it would be petty to complain any more after we had such a wonderful time at the hotel. Based on our experience we would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone, especially the wonderful staff who really help to make your holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neworiginal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Resort is set in a fabulous location for sunsets of a lifetime! Three out of four nights there were double rainbows to the east.
The property is beautiful, clean and luxurious. The staff is wonderful at every venue. It's really a tropical paradise. The Coco Joe's bar on the point was my favorite.
It's worth the money to get a western facing room. The sunsets here are probably the most beautiful I've seen.
The beach is small & man made. The water was very murky & not that enjoyable during my visit. Of course the Shangri La has no control over that. There is a long public beach just outside the property if you like to walk on the beach. It's only a short ride to the airport.
Recommend insect repellent when visiting this island although the Mosquitos did not bother me at all on property.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KTNashTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We have just returned from a 2 week honeymoon staying at the Tanjung Aru resort and it is quite literally heaven. The resort itself is beautiful. You are greeted with a cold drink and cool towel as soon as you arrive in the stunning open plan lobby which is a lovely touch as the heat in Borneo is quite a shock when you first get there (you do get used to it after a couple of days!). We had orginally booked a Kinabalu wing room but decided to upgrade to an Tanjung wing room which was a great decision as we had a great balcony with a sea view. The Shangri-La wont upgrade you for free for being honeymooners- but this is to be expected as the resort is full of honeymooners! The rooms are stunning and immaculate. They are serviced twice a day and we had a lot of lovely pressies left in our room- such as chocolates, fruit and rose petals on the bed! The staff are amazing- they are the most polite and attentive hotel staff I have ever experienced. If you're tired from a long day out then I would recommend the room service menu- very good value and its delivered on a table to your room.The restaurants in the resort are very good- Peppinos was the best- amazing food. Beware that wine is very expensive everywhere in Borneo so make sure you discover the hotel shop- we bought a bottle of Smirnoff vodka in there for the same price as a bottle of wine. The shop sells lots of souvenirs, clothes and drinks too which is very handy. The Borneo lounge int he lobby is lovely anf has a great view and also a house band on from 8pm- make sure you go for the happy hour. The infinity pool is stunning and never seemed to get busy. Swim at 7am before breakfast if you want the pool all to yourself! Breakfast in Cafe Tatu was busy but never felt rushed and the food is very fresh and tasty- there are lots of chefs to cook you anything you ask for. Check out the Borneo tribal art gallery- I loved that. The resort has a private beach which is beautiful and literally a 2 minute walk from your room. Its partolled but beware there are lots of jellyfish in the South China sea if you swim too far out! Tons of loungers with lots of complimentary big, clean, soft towels- never had any problems getting a lounger even at peak times. The sunsets are stunning so make sure you are down by the sunset bar at 6pm every night. This is the main time you will get bitten so make sure you use lots of insect repellant in the evening, never got bitten during the day unless you go into the very pretty jungle garden.The only complaint I can make is the service at Coco Joes bar by the pool- its very, very slow. We asked for 2 diet cokes and waited about 25 minutes to be served- so we started to go to the hotel shop which is right next to the pool to buy soft drinks during the day as it was a lot quicker and cheaper also- I loved the shop!!! (Bought aftersun, nailvarnish, a sarong, hairclip, hat, food, drinks, vodka, wine and playing cards among other things!) We booked the tour of KK and our tour guide Ramu was great! Also make sure that you take the shuttle to the Rasa Ria resort for the day too to visit the nature reserve and do the Orangutan experience- its one you wont forget. The Tanjung Aru really is a better hotel that the Rasa Ria though- lots of building work going on there and it would have ruined my holiday if we had been staying there. I have never stayed anywhere as lovely as the Tanjung Aru resort and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Tanjung wing- the rooms are bigger and much closer to the pool and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leepsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

This has got to be one of the best holiday destinations to de-stress.You can be active or veg out to whatever degree you wish. Every staff member greets you as an honoured guest with that wonderful "hand on heart' gesture at any time.
The infinity pool is one of the best and the grounds are immaculate.
The food in all the restaurants is excellent but if you like a "european/english" breakfast you might be little disappointed but there are plenty of alternatves to choose from.
The sunsets are not to be missed, especially from the sunset bar.
The resort is far enough away from town to be secluded but only a ten minute AUS$7 taxi ride away if you want shopping and a local experience. It is totally safe.
Another must is a day trip to Shangri-la Rasa Ria to visit the Orangutan sanctuary where you get really close to the young orangutans there. If you are really lucky to get to meet the very young one/s that are too young to go into the semi-wild santuary.
If you are into massages and relaxation, Chi, the spa is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winsboa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
1.4 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
2.7 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,229 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#10 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,440 reviews
15.5 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
2.6 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa

Address: 20 Jalan Aru, Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £158 - £380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 492
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A paradise for the senses surrounded by natural beautyA gentle breeze caresses your face as you wake to the sound of waves lapping the beach. The balcony opens up to an inspiring vista of sparkling coral islands and swaying of palm trees. Tunku Abdul Rahman Park, bordered by crystal clear waters and lush vegetation Sophistication surrounds you in a lavishly decorated suite inspired by Borneo’s rich cultural heritage. Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu, is a perfect tropical getaway, a luxurious tranquil retreat just a short drive from the city.Yet, excitement beckons as you set out to discover all Kota Kinabalu’s delights. Making your way to Kinabalu National Park, you are thrust into a jungle paradise of natural wonders, rugged landscapes and scenic beauty. From the Rafflesia, the largest flower in the world, to the famous Orangutans in their natural habitat, it only gets more breathtaking every step of the way.The afternoon is spent exploring the picturesque town of Kota Belud. As Sabah’s largest and most popular open market, you find gems of all sorts, ranging from handmade handicrafts to mouth-watering local delights like natural honey.Back at the resort, you look forward to a sunset cruise, which departs from STAR Marina, to catch Borneo's famous sunset. Not long after, you wind down at Coco-Joe’s Bar & Grill. Lounging atop one of the beach-dining platforms, over cocktails and a delectable seafood tower, you continue to enjoy the sound of overlapping waves on the shores of Sunset Beach. A pampering session at CHI, The Spa rounds off the day. With treatments based on traditional Asian healing philosophies, you lose yourself in an enchanted and indulgent journey, all on the resort’s private spa island.For every experience here, you are surrounded by natural beauty. And it all begins at Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Resort And Spa
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Resort
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Hotel
Shangri La Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing