We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Grandis(Kota Kinabalu)
US$162
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$290
US$154
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$147
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Eminent Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)(Great Value!)
US$33
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Horizon Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
US$104
US$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu(Kota Kinabalu)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$193
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Celyn Hotel City Mall(Kota Kinabalu)
US$37
US$30
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Jesselton Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
US$66
US$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Crown Borneo Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
US$28
US$24
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,929)
Filter reviews
3,929 results
Traveller rating
2,215
1,124
370
126
94
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,215
1,124
370
126
94
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskinabalu wingsunset barkinabalu clubcafe tatucoco joeschi spastar marinawater slidesborneo loungehorizon clubsister hotelpitch and puttkids clubinfinity poola mountain view roomclub roomlife guards
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,063 - 2,068 of 3,929 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Great location near to Airport Fantastic Hotel good restaurants You can fly to Sandakan 1 hour
Coco Joe's is a great place to relax in the evening Go and visit the head hunters while your there its a great trip out boat trips to the islands are good value

Room Tip: South side best
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GarethRhuddlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

one of the best hotel for family. Best Kids Club, big thump up to staffs. My 4 years old loves it. Very nice swimming pools, Worth of money for international dinner buffet. A bit boring Breakfast. Spacious room. Very nice touching for a garden in Tanjung view. Crowded Sun Set Bar, nice view though. Delicious but expensive for a Curry Mee Laksa (room service).
Will visit again surely.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Supida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We stayed at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort at the the of September 2012. We stayed in a Tanjung Executive Suite which was at the opposite end of the hotel to the pools and restaurants, therefore quiet. The room had a spacious balconey overlooking the gardens and ocean with comfortable adjustable pool beds togetherwith table and chairs if you wanted to eat outside. There was a separate lounge and dining area and two bathrooms!! The quality of the bathroom products was a nice extra touch. Bedding was very comfortable. . The Kinabalu Club is very good and I would definitely recommend it if you can afford to pay the extra. The staff are excellent, friendly and helpful, the lounge is comfortable and the drinks and nibbles in the evening are great. Breakfast at the Club in the morning is excellent. It is quiet and the view from the 4th floor overlooks the islands. The buffet area at Cafe Tatu is very busy from early in the morning. It does cater for all tastes and cultures but we preferred the Club room.
We enjoyed having late evening drinks at Coco Joes. They do a fabulous iced Margarita! One of the highlights was to go out to the islands snorkelling. Well worth the short boat ride. I wouldn't go to all the islands, just a couple. The coral that is close to the shore is bleached and damaged, but a bit further out are some lovely spots.
The staff at the hotel are friendly, charming and efficient and they really seem to care about the welfare of their guests,

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jengai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We stayed in this property in a suite in the Tanjung Wing for 5 nights.

Excellently maintained property. The suite is well furnished, has a nice balcony facing the mini-golf course and beyond that the sea.

The water play area and the swimming pool is great. And there are regular activities organised separately for the kids and for the adults.

3 travel agencies are available on the property to guide and help make arrangements for various local trips. Good service by the hotel staff all round. Easily available taxi service to go to/fro the city.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rushmore76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We had a 3 night stay here. The rooms were beautiful and spacious. Our room was on the ground floor of the Tanjung Wing, so we were able to walk out from our balcony onto the grass to watch the sunset. The view from the room was stunning.
The pool area was lovely, and has a few separate pools for kids and adults which is great. Unfortunately it was jellyfish season, so we couldn't swim in the beach :(
The breakfast selection is huge, and the other restaurant prices are quite high, but you have to expect that at a resort. The food at the chinese restaurant Shang Palace was delicious.
The shuttle to Rasa-Ria cost RM30 return, and you have to pay another fee to get in to the orangutans. The shuttle times allow you enough time to see the orangutans and then cool off with a swim. You can also order food and put in on your room at Tanjung-Aru which was handy.
The resort is a great place - especially for families, as there's a water park for the kids.
The cab price from the Airport is set at RM30, and it cost us RM25 to get to Jessleton Point Pier.

Room Tip: We enjoyed bein gon the ground floor in the Tanjung Wing.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel_dreamer80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews