We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect getaway !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

We stayed for four nights in a Kinabalu seaview room and had a great time at this resort. The staff are very friendly and were kind enough to change our room from the first floor to the fifth after we had some problems with mosquitoes on the first night (unable to use chemical insect repellents due to pregnancy). Both rooms were spacious and clean with excellent sea views. The gardens are well kept. Recreational facilities also do not disappoint. There is a massive infinity edge pool with water at the perfect temperature although the adult pool is deep throughout. There are water slides for kids (and adults !) and even life guards on duty. The breakfast buffet has everything you can imagine as we also thoroughly enjoyed the dinner buffet (the food is actually nice without the tasteless stuff that you often see at buffets). Although due to the location, you are somewhat limited to hotel restaurants for meals, the prices are reasonable. Overall, we would definitely consider returning to this hotel.

Room Tip: Although pricey, would definitely recommend the seaview room which is spacious with excellent views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ddwcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,031
    1,033
    332
    112
    77
See reviews for
1,237
1,353
88
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (777)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

hmmm...where do I start....
I'll go straight to Pros and Cons

Pro:
Resort is very scenic with beautiful backdrop of ocean.
One of the best sunset I had witnessed after the one I witnessed in Maui, Hawaii
Very close to airport, 10 minutes by taxi

Cons:
Food at both Coco Joe's and Ta Tu are horrible. We ate at Ta Tu several times for breakfast and once for dinner and we were disappointed every time (there are no other choices in the hotel). Same boring and bland selection of breakfast at Ta Tu. After the second night, I skipped the food and just drank coffee and ate fruits to fill my stomach.
We had seafood platter and my wife drank martini at Coco Joes. I'm a huge seafood lover, but I stopped eating half way through the meal. It seemed like most of seafood had been pre-cooked for hours before being served. Martini tasted like salt water. Ribeye steak and pizza were decent.
Cockroaches - we stayed on the groud floor of Tanjung hall. One of the hallways where the lights were dimmed (i think it was the corridor to room 136 thru 150??), I saw some of the biggest cockroaches ever!! There must have been atleast half dozen dead coackroaches on that hall way. It was the day after when I saw staffs nonchalantly brushing off these dead insects with a mop.
Beach - don't be fooled by the hotel photo. Beach is tiny and i saw rubbish floating in water multiple times. I did not allow my son to swim here.

My initial excitement quickly deflated exponentially as time went. Despite the beautiful scenic backdrop, I would much rather prefer 3 or 4 star resorts in Phuket and Koh Samui where I've been multiple times. Lets just say I was glad to be back home after 3 nights in KK.

Room Tip: Stay away from Tanjung Hall room 136 thru 159 (?) where I saw tons of dead cockroaches
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RobfromHKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

Overall very positive.

Some 5 star aspects and some definately 3-4 star aspects.

The location firstly is very handy for the airport and the not so nice town of KK. The restaurants are average and very expensive. Drinks in particular.
Seems to have cracking childrens facilities. The overall ambience of the hotel is lovely, and the spa and the sunset bar are definately 5 star.
I used the gym aswell which was very good.

Further afield from the hotel we were disappointed. KK is dirty, bare and reflects what is going on all over Borneo. Development. And lots of it. If you have in mind a beautiful tropical paradise, think again. Sad really.David Attenborough would be horrified.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mich13uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KL
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

Amazing. Perfect. Fantastic. Awesome!

That sums it up actually.

We splurged for a family holiday last June '12. We took 2 rooms and asked for the ones that were facing the water play area. We did not regret the decision.

Kids loved the place. The water park was a mere few feet away from our balcony. They just walk out the door and straight to the play area. It was like a mini water park. There was also a 'club' area for kids with PS3s. They were completely entertained.

The surroundings were romantic too. While the kids were enjoying themselves, the parents had a nice time getting pampered by the hotel staff. The views were breathtaking (I'll try to upload some photos).

We did pry ourselves away to do touristy stuff, but enjoyed the relaxing evenings at the resort. We did try their BBQ dinner by the beach. They had cabanas with high end BBQ equipment where we cooked our meat and seafood ourselves with the view of the sunset.

It was a very good week away from the busy Kuala Lumpur.

Highly recommended (if there was a 6th or 7th star, I would have given this resort those too).

Room Tip: Family with kids: get the ground floor rooms opening to the water play area. You will thank me later...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank imkj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

Booked this holiday as a special 30th birthday for my husband and was not disappointed. Upon arrival we were whisked away to the Kinabalu Club Lounge for personal check in and escorted to our Kinabalu Club Sea View room, the upgrade was well worth it. The staff in the club lounge made us feel like royalty and even presented my husband with a cake while singing happy birthday. There was complimentary drinks and even a buffet for adults only between 6:30-8:30, my husband didn't even have to ask for his next G&T as it was swiftly delivered to our table. The hotel was clean and tidy and the pools were safely watched by lifeguards. We tried the buffet and got a great variety of foods for a fab price. Also had a special meal in Peppinos, considering the high standard and quality of food and service, the price was surprisingly fair. Cannot thank the hotel enough for making my husbands birthday extra special. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsLRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

We have just got back from a week long holiday in Shangri La's Tanjung Aru hotel. How anybody can give this hotel less than 5 stars is beyond me. The hotel itself was beautiful, from the moment we stepped into the hotel we were treated like royalty- it has been mentioned elsewhere but your arrival is "gonged in" and the staff greet you with a welcome drink, open arms and smiles all around. The facilities in the hotel are absolutely first rate- numerous sports available including tennis courts, fully equipped gym, badminton, 9 hole golf course and various recreational sports such as petanque, table tennis etc.

The infinity swimming pool with "jacuzzi beds" provided the perfect environment and setting in which to truly relax.

We generally ate out most nights (We went to Sedco by centre point most evenings for the seafood), but sampled tatu restaurant for the buffet breakfast twice and dinner on the final night. The assortment of food is excellent and the standard was fine. I am not a great lover of buffets generally as feel that the quality of food tends to suffer due to the quantity, but was generally quite impressed with the meals I had at Tatu.

We went to the sunset bar numerous times and it really is something special- there is nowhere else in the world that i would prefer to watch the sun go down with a cocktail in hand (cocktail prices weren't as exorbitant as others have suggested- 20-30MYR, circa £5- £7 for a cocktail which coming from London didn't seem too extortionate).

However, the absolute selling point to Tanjung Aru has to be the impeccable service provided by the staff. They are an absolute delight to be around and they always make you feel warm and at home with their general attentiveness and friendliness. An example of this was when my girlfriend wasn't very well halfway through the holiday. I had ordered a drink at the sunset bar when out of the blue one of the girls at the bar came over with a glass of warm water to make her feel better as she had noticed she wasn't looking well. We thought this was such a nice gesture and were both very touched by this.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Matt333999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

Stayed there in October, didn't cost that much, just had room only, the room was clean, and had everything in it that was needed for a comfortable stay. Had a mountain view room, which I think is the cheapest option, it was quiet and suited us, as we spend very little time in any hotel room. We had breakfast in the room, the American breakfast is 58r and one breakfast is more than ample for 2 persons. A glass of wine is 19r which is not too overpriced, but the beer is, at 28r. We ate at the waterfront most evenings, taxi from hotel was about £6, which was reasonable. Went to the Orangutan sanctuary a La's Rasa Ria Resort, did see the young Orangutan's and also a couple of babies. The La Risa was a haven for mossies and flies. We also went to the wild life park, it was ok and had a very cheap entrance fee. You have to have a taxi to get there and you must arrange with the driver to take you back again, two hours is long enough to see everything. We also did the Firefly trip, arranged it with one of the taxi drivers, it was more comfortable in a limo rather than a mini bus, it is about a 2 hr drive there. Cost was 150r each for adults and 75r for children. It was a must to wear long sleeve tops and long pants, to help protect you from the mossies. Had a nice stay there, and we did everything that we went to see and do.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patsyManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
1.5 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
15.5 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
2.7 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
11.9 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#14 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
Address: 20 Jalan Aru, Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A paradise for the senses surrounded by natural beautyA gentle breeze caresses your face as you wake to the sound of waves lapping the beach. The balcony opens up to an inspiring vista of sparkling coral islands and swaying of palm trees. Tunku Abdul Rahman Park, bordered by crystal clear waters and lush vegetation Sophistication surrounds you in a lavishly decorated suite inspired by Borneo’s rich cultural heritage. Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu, is a perfect tropical getaway, a luxurious tranquil retreat just a short drive from the city.Yet, excitement beckons as you set out to discover all Kota Kinabalu’s delights. Making your way to Kinabalu National Park, you are thrust into a jungle paradise of natural wonders, rugged landscapes and scenic beauty. From the Rafflesia, the largest flower in the world, to the famous Orangutans in their natural habitat, it only gets more breathtaking every step of the way.The afternoon is spent exploring the picturesque town of Kota Belud. As Sabah’s largest and most popular open market, you find gems of all sorts, ranging from handmade handicrafts to mouth-watering local delights like natural honey.Back at the resort, you look forward to a sunset cruise, which departs from STAR Marina, to catch Borneo's famous sunset. Not long after, you wind down at Coco-Joe’s Bar & Grill. Lounging atop one of the beach-dining platforms, over cocktails and a delectable seafood tower, you continue to enjoy the sound of overlapping waves on the shores of Sunset Beach. A pampering session at CHI, The Spa rounds off the day. With treatments based on traditional Asian healing philosophies, you lose yourself in an enchanted and indulgent journey, all on the resort’s private spa island.For every experience here, you are surrounded by natural beauty. And it all begins at Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Destinology, Southall Travel, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Resort And Spa
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Resort
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Hotel
Shangri La Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing