We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing good about it” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nothing good about it”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel can t be a Shangri-La!!! We booked a 5 nights stay at Tanjung Aru and ran away after 12 hours. Could not stand it one more second. We landed late in Kotakinabalu - the hotel driver was kindly waiting for us and took us in his old smelly uncomfortable rental van, luckily for 10 minutes only as the resort is close to the airport. We arrived in a dark and empty lobby, carried our own luggage and arrived in a room from the seventies. This was obviously a smoking room while we had requested a non smoking one. The bathroom was old and dirty, and we brushed our teeth in the bathtub as we could not open sink. Towels smelled bad. The breakfast was huge, looked like a train station, and the food no better than the one you find in a station. We would not have stayed 1 second more and left the hotel after standing 20 minutes in the line to check out (only one counter open). Never again!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Tatchuae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shangrila_TAH, General Manager at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear Tatchuae, thank you so much for your response. I would like to express my urgent concern with your overall review of our property and would appreciate if you can contact me directly at craig.powell@shangri-la.com with more information on your stay. If possible, please include your stay date and room number for our further investigation. Thank you and I look forward to hearing from you soon. Regards, Craig Powell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,012
    1,020
    327
    111
    76
See reviews for
1,217
1,341
87
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (764)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Very disappointing, we had just come from Rasa Ria which was fantastic and were greeted with a very rushed and grumpy check in. The room was not ready and was not a King as requested. We had afternoon tea in the club lounge and although the food was at the usual high Shangri-la standard the staff were grumpy. I felt like I was being glared at. We booked a taxi for an early morning flight, this was also mucked up with a confirmation being received at 2330 that was in coerce and needed fixing. Overall a shabby room and poor service.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shangrila_TAH, General Manager at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear Ben, thank you for your comments. I am sorry to learn of your disappointing experience and have personally taken note of your feedback to share with the team for their further improvement.
Sincerely,
Craig Powell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We were part of a large group - 200 people. This hotel catered very well with all aspects from amazing Grand Ballroom dinners to lunch. Breakfasts on the weekend was very busy due to 2 conferences and full capacity but the staff managed the congestion very well with the overflow on the front terraces. The conference facilities were outstanding. The shining feature was the genuine friendliness of all staff who said hello with a smile and with their eyes every time you went past or engaged with them. This attention to service with a smile is a credit to the hotel and management. Our room attendant was absolutely fantastic.

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic and large. We were on the atrium side of the resort directly facing the ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie and Charl... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

We were a little hesitant about coming to the resort after reading some of the reports , on our first day we did encounter some issues that made us look at moving , however we discussed these issues with the front of desk manager and the personnel in the club lounge , they were absolutely
fantastic and did everything possible & more to help us . The staff in the club lounge are so pleasant & help full , nothing is too much trouble . I felt compelled to write this review as I think that the staff in this hotel will do everything possible to make your stay great . We decided to stay at this hotel & we still have another 5 nights to go . Fantastic holiday , I guess the hotel don't know you have problems until you tell them , well done to the staff

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

from serving milo to kids on welcome, habding out colouring book welcome packs to having a great kids club, water park, pool and beach, smiley plates and seperate kids food area at breakfast .. it was a great stay with the kids .. great internet wifi facilities throughout the property

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Kashsingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel. Staff can't do enough for you. Me and my fiancée stayed for 7 nights and didn't have a single problem. We don't usually stay 5 star but treated ourselves to the holiday we always wanted. We weren't disappointed. We enjoyed trips to turtle island and sepilok to see the orang-utans. All of our trips where superbly organised from within the hotel and it was always nice to come back to the hotel to relax in the stunning rooms, swimming pool and service on offer. Only down side for us was the volume of kids and the fact that there is a service charge on everything, even when ordering drinks at the bar. These where however, minor blemishes on an amazing holiday.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Aggy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

As expected from a 5 star resort service standards were consistent.

Room- Tj seaview and yes we paid for it.However 3 other rooms occupants from my same party receive room upgrades. 1 to Tanjung wing as the Kinabalu room wasn't ready. The other 2 because there was a mix up in room configuration.

Rooms- good air con. Nice size. 2 liters of water a day and for half of the 7 night stay had 3 pieces of complimentary fruits in the afternoon. Didn't understand why it didn't turn up on the other days.

Kids club and kids pool area excellent. Tried Shang Palace, Peppinos and Cafe Tatu during stay and ate all meals in the resort for the duration of the stay. Have to say the buffet prices are reasonable and huge local salad selections which is preferable to the normal style salads. However local desserts were pretty ordinary which was surprising because all food across the restaurants were excellent. Bad enough that I skipped it entirely during the buffets.

Please note one of my party was a health conscious vegan and we met with the executive sous chef and modifications were added to his meals at no extra cost. I am mentioning it as my husband did not want to eat any of the pasta, white rice and potatoes options. But the options provided ensured he had a really good selection of meals during his stay.

Not all 5 star hotels are as accommodating and I dislike management's standard excuses. Like other hotels who refused to change their practice to accommodate their guests. Or try to explain why one can't have a fresh made latte instead of the machine provided for the breakfast buffet. Did not get this at this resort.

Other people's circumstances may be different but a responsive staff makes a huge difference. Overall can't fault this resort. And yes the towel were nice and thick and the bed was comfortable. And did not smell smoking much through the corridors although disliked the smokers who just polluted the nice sunset scenes on the only foreshore.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank ck1Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shangrila_TAH, General Manager at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear ck1Oz, thank you for sharing your stay experience with us. I’m delighted to learn that you enjoyed our Shangri-La hospitality and that our dedicated Food and Beverage team were able to accommodate to your husband's dietary requirements. It is part of our service and belief in meeting our customers needs to the best of our abilities. Thank you again for your positive comments and we hope to see you again soon!
Sincerely,
Craig Powell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
1.5 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
15.6 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,977 reviews
11.8 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#12 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
Address: 20 Jalan Aru, Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A paradise for the senses surrounded by natural beautyA gentle breeze caresses your face as you wake to the sound of waves lapping the beach. The balcony opens up to an inspiring vista of sparkling coral islands and swaying of palm trees. Tunku Abdul Rahman Park, bordered by crystal clear waters and lush vegetation Sophistication surrounds you in a lavishly decorated suite inspired by Borneo’s rich cultural heritage. Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu, is a perfect tropical getaway, a luxurious tranquil retreat just a short drive from the city.Yet, excitement beckons as you set out to discover all Kota Kinabalu’s delights. Making your way to Kinabalu National Park, you are thrust into a jungle paradise of natural wonders, rugged landscapes and scenic beauty. From the Rafflesia, the largest flower in the world, to the famous Orangutans in their natural habitat, it only gets more breathtaking every step of the way.The afternoon is spent exploring the picturesque town of Kota Belud. As Sabah’s largest and most popular open market, you find gems of all sorts, ranging from handmade handicrafts to mouth-watering local delights like natural honey.Back at the resort, you look forward to a sunset cruise, which departs from STAR Marina, to catch Borneo's famous sunset. Not long after, you wind down at Coco-Joe’s Bar & Grill. Lounging atop one of the beach-dining platforms, over cocktails and a delectable seafood tower, you continue to enjoy the sound of overlapping waves on the shores of Sunset Beach. A pampering session at CHI, The Spa rounds off the day. With treatments based on traditional Asian healing philosophies, you lose yourself in an enchanted and indulgent journey, all on the resort’s private spa island.For every experience here, you are surrounded by natural beauty. And it all begins at Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Destinology and Agoda so you can book your Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Resort And Spa
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Resort
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Hotel
Shangri La Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing