We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time to KK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This is our first trip to KK and we are going to celebrate our Anniversary. Before arrival I have send e-mail to re-confirm our celebration and the hotel has told us that they can offer a cake and the Anniversary set up but during our stay we have got nothing.
Although there is some disappointment, we still enjoy our stay.
We have joined the transfer to Sapi Island, I know the rate is a bit higher than outside, but their service is excellent, they provided a guide for us and he look after all our belonging during the day.
The Spa is good as well!
We stay in the Tanjung Aru Wing, the room is a bit dated but still comfort, must go for the sea view and away from the Pool Area.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must! Away from the Pool Area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chungkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shangrila_TAH, General Manager at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear chungkk, I am truly sorry to learn of your disappointing experience and have shared your feedback with the team for our further improvement. Thank you again for sharing your comments with us and we hope to see you and your partner again in near future.
Sincerely,
Craig Powell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,862)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,595 - 1,601 of 3,862 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

Good was very bad. Its my first time to eat Spaghetti Bolognese that is brown and tasted funny. The rest of the food is mostly miss than hits. I had to get a cab and have lunch in the city because I cannot enjoy my dining experience.

I tried to book under a Mastercard BDO Promotion. Nobody knows about this. I showed them the website but still they do not have a clue. Useless marketing.

Room Tip: The sea view is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Glenster_Holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shangrila_TAH, General Manager at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Glenster_Holiday, thank you for highlighting your experience with regards to our partnership with Mastercard BDO. Please accept our sincere apologies for the oversight and if you could please provide us with your booking details to assist us in our further investigation on this matter. You may write to me at craig.powell@shangri-la.com. I have personally highlighted your experience with the team to avoid any further mis-communication in the future. As for your comment on our spaghetti bolognese, rest assured we have highlighted this to our Food and Beverage team for their improvement. Thank you and I look forward to hearing from you soon.
Sincerely,
Craig Powell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

After a perfect week at Shangri La's Rasa Ria resort, we were curious about the sister city-based resort. We didn't have anything to worry about! Again, lovely views and fabulous service from everyone we spoke to - Rohan the breakfast entertainer extraordinaire, Mr Paul the recreation activity guide, to the restaurant staff, hair braiders, and the ladies who organised our online checking before our flights. Nothing was any trouble!

Our balcony looked towards KK and was a lovely spot to enjoy our morning coffee or read a book. The room was v comfortable, tho the layout for storing suitcases wasn't as convenient as the Rasa Ria. The pools were just fantastic. Slides, toddler pools, infinity pool and an adults only area for those not travelling with kids. The adjacent ice cream bar was a real hit!

We'll be back in 2015! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OscarMolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shangrila_TAH, General Manager at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear OscarMolly, thank you for recognizing the efforts of our dedicated team members. Rohan and Paul are among our shining stars and I will definitely share your compliments with them. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back for another memorable stay in 2015!
Sincerely,
Craig Powell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

First step down from the taxi, the warmest greetings from the hotel staff making you feeling rather special. Though i must say, i was quite disappointed as my check in wasn't being served any welcoming drinks while the other check in guests have. This is rather inconsistent for an international hotel despite the number of guests arriving there.
Well, lets not spoil our day. One step into the room, wow!! enjoying panoramic sea views with the splashing sea waves sounds at the balcony, just took all those worries off your minds. toilet are clean and well equipped with all the necessities. Those lovely beaches, pools for kids and adults awaiting for us... And the nice part was, there is a mini water theme park. Kids heaven!!! There are few selections of restaurants to choose from from chinese cuisine to western. Varieties of activities being listed n the hotel. Approach the hotel receptionist and they are willing to help you register in one of the activities. You'll never be bored here. Gym, spa, sauna you named it, were good. especially their gym, loved it. biking, treadmill, muscles building or yoga, you choose it. their sunset bar was fantastic one. bear in mind, night time have insects. if you dont want any of those in your rooms, close your balcony door!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adeline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

it's a big family event for us, 6 of us go. i'm amazed the hotel is so well kept with the recent renovation it's definitely make a plus. we got a very nice seaview room on 1/F so we able to walk out to the garden and able to see the sunset and seaview. the pool area is really nice. quiet big not crowded, lots of sun bath chairs for guests to relax and enjoy the stunning sea view and sunset. the water slides and water game area definitely make a plus. we so enjoy the game. the biggest selling point is the sunset, we spent 2 hours lie down at the sunset bar enjoy the stunning sunset and sip in wine/beer. can't be better than this. food is very nice, lots of choices and good quality.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank chansus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The hotel location makes you feel that you were in a secluded island and yet it's just a 5-10 min drive from the airport. The staff are wonderful and courteous. We stayed for 5 days in one of the sea view room of Kinabalu Wing.The view is spectacular. The room is equipped with everything we need during our stay. Great pool ideal for all ages.

Personally, there are two areas that may need further improvement:
1. Food - Quality is there but the taste does not match my personal expectation (could be subjective though).
2. TV - Long staying guest sometimes prefer to stay in the room watching good movies but the channels are very limited.

Nevertheless, these two minor points does not affect my overall impression of the hotel and will still receive a 5-Star rating.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Reymar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Just back from wonderful 12 nights here. Stayed in Kotakinbala sea room. Large, clean, comfortable room. Air con. Kettle, tea, coffee and bottles of water provided.Bath and lovely hot powerful shower.Clean towels and linen as often as you want it. Superb views from balcony. Upgraded to Club lounge(250 ringlets per night per room to upgrade) Great choice of breakfasts, tea and cakes 2 pm to 4 pm and canopies etc etc and drinks 6.30pm to 8.30 pm. Wonderful staff. (Thank you especially to Johnny and Elizabeth in club lounge) Pool gets crowded but plenty of sunbeds around beach area where it is much quieter. Superb sunsets at sunset bar.Great gym and health club.
There is a marina shop on site where you can get a boat to three of the nearby islands. Great snorkeling

Recommend Sunday market where we had a superb foot and back massage with the blind masseurs. (40 Malaysian ringlets for a hour)
Saw 2 young orangutans at Rasa Ria (30 ringlets per person on shuttle and 65 ringlets per person at hotel) but highly recommend a drip to Sepilok to see the orangutans there. We booked the Sepilok extravaganza through the Kuoni rep at the hotel (499 ringlets per person and paid for our own flights) Fantastic day out. Morning feeding, lunch (where we were lucky enough to see Eric one of the orangutans playing at the restaurant for the 2 hours we were there), afternoon feed and then a visit to a water village and the proboscis monkeys.
Also had a great day out visiting the tip of Borneo. Long journey but fantastic scenery.

Lots to see and do. Lovely hotel

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank darlingpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shangrila_TAH, General Manager at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear darlingpa, thank you for sharing your comments and photos with us on Trip Advisor. We are glad that you and your partner had a wonderful stay at the resort. I will personally pass on your favourable comments to our colleagues Johnny and Elizabeth whom I am sure will be delighted to receive them. Thank you once again and I look forward to your next visit!
Sincerely,
Craig Powell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
1.4 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
2.7 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,231 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#9 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,440 reviews
15.5 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
2.6 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa

Address: 20 Jalan Aru, Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £157 - £387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 492
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A paradise for the senses surrounded by natural beautyA gentle breeze caresses your face as you wake to the sound of waves lapping the beach. The balcony opens up to an inspiring vista of sparkling coral islands and swaying of palm trees. Tunku Abdul Rahman Park, bordered by crystal clear waters and lush vegetation Sophistication surrounds you in a lavishly decorated suite inspired by Borneo’s rich cultural heritage. Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu, is a perfect tropical getaway, a luxurious tranquil retreat just a short drive from the city.Yet, excitement beckons as you set out to discover all Kota Kinabalu’s delights. Making your way to Kinabalu National Park, you are thrust into a jungle paradise of natural wonders, rugged landscapes and scenic beauty. From the Rafflesia, the largest flower in the world, to the famous Orangutans in their natural habitat, it only gets more breathtaking every step of the way.The afternoon is spent exploring the picturesque town of Kota Belud. As Sabah’s largest and most popular open market, you find gems of all sorts, ranging from handmade handicrafts to mouth-watering local delights like natural honey.Back at the resort, you look forward to a sunset cruise, which departs from STAR Marina, to catch Borneo's famous sunset. Not long after, you wind down at Coco-Joe’s Bar & Grill. Lounging atop one of the beach-dining platforms, over cocktails and a delectable seafood tower, you continue to enjoy the sound of overlapping waves on the shores of Sunset Beach. A pampering session at CHI, The Spa rounds off the day. With treatments based on traditional Asian healing philosophies, you lose yourself in an enchanted and indulgent journey, all on the resort’s private spa island.For every experience here, you are surrounded by natural beauty. And it all begins at Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Resort And Spa
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Resort
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Hotel
Shangri La Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing