We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing!! stunning!!! out of this world.......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

For starters we cannot believe how anyone can put this hotel and the staff down, we travel a lot and me and partner couldn't of had more of a perfect stay. From the moment we landed to the day we left it was outstanding! we stayed in the tanjung wing for 12 nights and had a beautiful look out over the sea where we could sit and watch the sunsets, we liked the adult pool for relaxation but the kids pool looked great!! we ate in all of the restaurants and the food was so nice! you could eat for a reasonable price or push the boat out and spend that little bit more if you wanted to! we could both have a main dish with a drink and sides for about £20, we ate in Pepinos the Italian and had 2 starters, 2 mains and a lovely bottle of red for £40 and it was delicious! we used the gym that was great! The sunset bar and watching the sunsets really did take our breath away it was magical! thank you to Alvin for making amazing cocktails and being so helpful and friendly! we also loved the lobby bar the band were great and thank you so much for the staff in the lobby bar for making our stay one to remember they made us feel so special and were some of the nicest people we have met I need to mention Velinda and Kelly as they just made our holiday extra special! we went to the Rasa Ria for the day to see the orangutans and we spent the day round the pool and don't get me wrong it's a beautiful hotel but we couldn't help but want to get back to ours as it felt more personal and special! thank you to Lidia for making our room immaculate day and night and thank you for making dans birthday so special! Also location wise the tanjung stood out for us, think we may have become slightly bored in the Rasa! we were treated like royalty and I thank all staff including for making our holiday one of the best we have been on! Thank you. Dan and Becky

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Explore1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shangrila_TAH, General Manager at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Dan and Becky, thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am delighted to hear that my team took good care of you both during your stay at the resort. Thank you so much for recognizing the efforts made by our dedicated and passionate colleagues. From all of us here at the resort, we look forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful stay in near future!
Sincerely,
Craig Powell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,773)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,523 - 1,529 of 3,773 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed here for 14 nights and had the most incredible holiday. We did read quite a few negative reviews on here before visiting, which can make you understandably worried, but as soon as we pulled up to the entrance in the taxi we knew we were going to have a fantastic time in a beautiful resort and shouldn’t have worried at all. The staff are incredibly welcoming and very helpful. We stayed in the Tanjung Wing with a sea view. The room was fantastic, spacious and lots of storage and you get bottles of water refilled every day. The resort has a gorgeous Sunset bar – it does get busy (as expected) but we found most people chose to watch the sunset from just outside the bar, so we always got a table inside! Peppinos restaurant is Italian and brilliant for a treat, we ate here 3 times – it’s more expensive because it’s in the hotel but it’s not at all over priced and the service and food were amazing and well worth it. Coco Joes by the pool was great for a snack at lunch time, but also for a relaxed dinner.
The hotel is only about 10mins in a taxi from KK city centre, and a taxi from the hotel costs RM30. It’s so easy to get a taxi – there is a designated desk and they give the destination to the driver. Getting taxi back costs the same and they are so easy to find on every corner in the city. I’d highly recommend going out to eat in the city – places in town such as El Centro, Chilli Vanilla and various places on the waterfront were brilliant – very well priced and delicious with welcoming staff and great atmospheres! In terms of dining we felt we had the best of both – we could happily eat in the hotel and treat ourselves in Peppinos for example, or venture into town and be spoiled for choice with cheaper and equally delicious options.
We were on a room only basis so didn’t have breakfast in Cafe Tatu, but we did order breakfast from room service every day and we were inundated with food every time, they certainly didn’t scrimp, and it was lovely to have breakfast on the balcony every morning.
If you fancy a massage outside of the hotel, we found a great place in the local shopping plaza, which is about 20min walk or 5 min taxi ride from the hotel called Jari Jari. It was great.
Other reviews have criticised the number of children and families in this resort, please don’t let it put you off. It is so easy to not be bothered by them and the pool has a separate adult zone which the life guards vigilantly guard against intruding children!
Some reviews have mentioned that the resort is dated, I didn’t see anything dated about it, everything was clean and in excellent condition.

Another added bonus was the use of a great lounge on check out – which had lovely showers, steam room, sauna and teas/coffees, this made the start of our journey home much less painful.

We did visit the Rasa Ria to see the Orangu-tans and while it is equally gorgeous we both agreed that we were happy we’d chosen this hotel due to the fact we could wander out of the hotel and find numerous bars and restaurants, the Rasa Ria felt somewhat isolated and I think you’d be restricted to the hotel restaurants. I would say that the Tanjung Aru only has a tiny beach, whereas the Rasa Ria one is huge, so if beach time is your thing you should bear that in mind.

All in all I would highly recommend this hotel for a luxurious, relaxing and fantastic place to enjoy your holiday.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
6  Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shangrila_TAH, General Manager at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear Amy M, thank you for your wonderful and honest comments on your recent stay experience with us. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and should you wish to visit us again, please write to me at Craig.powell@shangri-la.com and I will personally see to your reservation. Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back for another amazing stay in the future!
Sincerely,
Craig Powell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

For the price you pay I would expect the hotel to be impeccable. It wasn't.

Check-in: efficient

Room: all functioning but the room itself is quite old (carpet and amenities)

Health club: spacious

Locker room: no jacuzzi was a downer for me...but they had individual bath tubs for soaking...it did the deed but just not convenient enough

Breakfast: the worst; the queue for egg station was way too long. one had to wait 20mins just to order eggs; the breakfast buffet was 100% catered to the Chinese in terms of menu options. Really unexpired selection of mediocre food.

Spa: well-appointed with good ambience; pricey but worth it

Food: ate at one of their alfresco ones..good ambience and service. flatbread was really good..all others so so...food is really not inspiring. service was excellent though.

Pool: nice diversity of pools; enjoyed it, relaxing.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jumeirah_queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shangrila_TAH, General Manager at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear jumeirah_queen , thank you for your constructive feedback. Your comments are well noted and have been shared with the team for their further improvement. Please accept our sincere apologies for the poor breakfast experience and we will certainly continue to work on improving our products and services in the near future. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Craig Powell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed two nights and our experience was excellent. The room, service and cleanliness were outstanding. The only negtive factor was a dinner in one of the restaurants that not reach our expectations.




  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Rafael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Wow, where do I start? Actually I have to apologise to your staff if I did not spell their names correctly. What a great place to relax and just do nothing,although we did a few things after 3 days of just relaxing by the pool and being spoilt. I might as well start at the I check in counter.
1) Liz was fantastic at check in on the day , 8th Nov & offered us a room upgrade as we were celebrating a special anniversary & the room was ready straight away, which was perfect as we had been travelling overnight. Perfect sea & sunset view room, loved it.
2) Cafe Tatu - Jazni Dalimut's customer service is just excellent. Compliments to the chef, Salvatore,he'll remember my husband as the "salmon man", thanks Jazni & Salvatore for making our last dinner extra special. Excellent service from the waiting staff , Ratinah,Lourina,MD Dalil, always taking time out to see if everything was ok at our table. All food was just amazing & plenty of it.
3) Sunset Bar- AG Sharizan, Alvin,Azmi,Sheila, Nurkhin, always welcoming and leaving us wanting to come back there every evening. It's our first night home tonight and we miss going to Sunset Bar.
4) Angie - Customer/ Guest relations desk, so lovely of you to take the time out to chat to us while we were sitting in the foyer making us feel so at home.
5) Sulizatt & Nurain- House Keeping, thanks so much for letting us come back to a clean and tidy room every day and at night time turning over the bed covers and leaving a flower and an inspirational card, made us feel very special.
The management of Shangri-La Tanjung Aru should be proud of the smiling faces of their staff although they have worked a long day it never showed on any of their faces,there was always that welcoming smile and they look like they are happy to be at work.
We do not have a single complaint in the 9 days we spent at your resort, we were actually sad our stay had to come to an end. Jazni & AG Sharizan we will always remember you.
We would highly recommend your resort to all our friends and family and we will be back for sure. Will definitely need to thank our travel agent, Diyana at Escape Travel Fountain Gate Melbourne for recommending your resort.
We will be back for sure.
Regards
Alton & Tania

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Altania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shangrila_TAH, General Manager at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear Alton and Tania, thank you so much for sharing your stay experience with us. I am very fortunate to have such a dedicated team and will be sure to share your compliments with all of them. Thank you again for your encouraging comments and we look forward to welcoming you back for another amazing stay in the future!
Sincerely,
Craig Powell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Had a 5 day/4night mini-holiday en route to/from Europe with my two teenegers . We had a Club Room which is well worth the extra for the shorter vacation to avail of the afternoon teas , evening drinks and food 4.30-8.30 and the more private club breakfast facilities . Staff were all very nice and helpful . Only downside is the quote of 1210 ringgits/night goes up by nearly 200 when a service charge and tax are added but we still enjoyed it a lot and the facilities are all excellent .No evening turndown service appeared on our first 3 nights so I was somewhat surprised when it happened on the last night . No chocolates here but there's a lovely mini-orchid on your pillow . It's worth the blowout .

Room Tip: Don't see a lot of point in paying extra for sea view in Club Wing . You see it anyway from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vincentreardon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Having spent nearly 4 weeks travelling around Malaysia and staying in a wide variety of accommodation, we chose this Shangrila to treat ourselves on the very last night. This is right up there with the best of them, interesting all the Shangrila's are so different. However we also tried the Rasa Ria and that wins out slightly for us - about same price too. There are plenty of activities here, lots of bars and restaurants. Food and drink good but the priciest anywhere in Malaysia. Rooms spacious and work well as you'd expect. Also great to have decent hi speed Internet everywhere. We had a few hours to kill on arrival and after checking out so the Star Lounge and free use of gym and showers was fabulous. The place was very full when we were there which had some staff a bit 'flustered'. Overall very good with lots of nice touches, but at $A300 you expect a bit of 'wow' factor which this does not quite have.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
1.5 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
2.7 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,146 reviews
15.5 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#10 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,390 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,481 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa

Address: 20 Jalan Aru, Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £151 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A paradise for the senses surrounded by natural beautyA gentle breeze caresses your face as you wake to the sound of waves lapping the beach. The balcony opens up to an inspiring vista of sparkling coral islands and swaying of palm trees. Tunku Abdul Rahman Park, bordered by crystal clear waters and lush vegetation Sophistication surrounds you in a lavishly decorated suite inspired by Borneo’s rich cultural heritage. Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu, is a perfect tropical getaway, a luxurious tranquil retreat just a short drive from the city.Yet, excitement beckons as you set out to discover all Kota Kinabalu’s delights. Making your way to Kinabalu National Park, you are thrust into a jungle paradise of natural wonders, rugged landscapes and scenic beauty. From the Rafflesia, the largest flower in the world, to the famous Orangutans in their natural habitat, it only gets more breathtaking every step of the way.The afternoon is spent exploring the picturesque town of Kota Belud. As Sabah’s largest and most popular open market, you find gems of all sorts, ranging from handmade handicrafts to mouth-watering local delights like natural honey.Back at the resort, you look forward to a sunset cruise, which departs from STAR Marina, to catch Borneo's famous sunset. Not long after, you wind down at Coco-Joe’s Bar & Grill. Lounging atop one of the beach-dining platforms, over cocktails and a delectable seafood tower, you continue to enjoy the sound of overlapping waves on the shores of Sunset Beach. A pampering session at CHI, The Spa rounds off the day. With treatments based on traditional Asian healing philosophies, you lose yourself in an enchanted and indulgent journey, all on the resort’s private spa island.For every experience here, you are surrounded by natural beauty. And it all begins at Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Holiday Gems, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Resort And Spa
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Resort
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Hotel
Shangri La Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing