We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IMPECCABLE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“IMPECCABLE”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We stayed here for 7 days. Not much to do in Kota Kinabalu. The hotel was fantastic. They cater for all ages. The breakfast is the largest, best run buffet we have ever eaten at. They have fantastic service & the kids are a priority. There is a comical staff member who is very entertaining during breakfast time. Children have their own buffet serving area (for them only)
Food throughout the day & night buffet are top standard.
There is a water park / slides in the pool area to keep the kids busy
If you plan on staying in KK this hotel (10 mins drive out of town) won't disappoint

Room Tip: We had a Tanjung executive suite sea view room. It was large, clean & very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,725 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,108
    1,074
    341
    120
    82
See reviews for
1,299
1,406
92
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (797)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kota Kinabalu
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We choose this resort to celebrate our 1st Wedding Anniversary!!

Our room located at Tanjung Wing which was clean, tidy and attached balcony with sea view. Our bed is huge, comfortable & was decorated beautifully - full of red rose petals and a pair of swan towels. It’s just very lovely and romantic! We are really appreciated the arrangement. TQ.

The staff, the service and the whole resort were just excellent. Beautiful pool and fun water slides you shouldn’t miss it! Go to Sunset Bar for the best spot of sunset view which you would not regret.

We had our breakfast in Café Tatu, food are fine with variety choices.

Overall, this resort is suitable for everyone. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
4 Thank MichelleThien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shangrila_TAH, General Manager at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Michelle, thank you for your sharing your feedback and pictures with us. I’m pleased to know that you and your partner liked our special arrangement and enjoyed your stay overall. Thank you again for choosing to celebrate your special day with us and we look forward to your next visit!
Sincerely,
Craig Powell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albury
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Enjoyed a 7 night stay with our 2 young boys (7/10 yo), we all loved the resort. We had 2 interconnecting rooms in the Tanjung Seaview wing. The rooms were very large with all modern facilities, beds huge and comfortable. We got a very significant discount for the second room. The seaview rooms both had a lovely view of the magnificent sunsets and the ocean and were very quiet. (Rms 411/412). Free wi/fi throughout the resort and rooms, worked excellently. Staff are fantastic. Our 7 yo left his backpack in the taxi when we arrived, the staff organised a car to take my wife back to the airport to track the driver down. Hotel reception staff met my wife at the terminal, and stayed with her for the next hour while they tracked down the taxi driver. We got the bag pack intact!

We ate at all the restaurants in the resort. Coco Joes was great for the kids, and they happily amended the menu for our fussy 7 yo. The ice cream bar was a huge hit with all ages. Shang's Palace served excellent chinese and asian meals, and was generally a quiet place for the evening. The buffet had nice food but was busy and pretty noisy most nights. Breakfast was great with heaps of choices and many cook to order items. Make sure you get there early as it can get VERY busy, don't get knocked over in the rush when fresh food is brought out!! Peppino's is very elegant and has a dress code. Italian cuisine, very nice, a bit expensive, but great for a night out without the children.

The pools and the beach are the star attractions. There are 3 pools to suit all ages, the water slides are terrific and kept all of us amused for long periods. The water bomb wars are great fun. The private beach is clean and despite some previous posts, I found the water quality not too bad. My kids spent probably 8 hours a day between the two. Happy hour(s) are 2 for one, with a good choice of cocktails and beers. The sunset bar is a must, get there early (before 6pm) to get a good seat for the sunsets, we were lucky and saw 3 very pink ones during our week.

Did the day trip to the Rasa Ria for the nature reserve visit. The Rasa Ria has an excellent beach, we all loved the smooth sand and the waves, but I wouldn't bother with the orangutan tour. It's not worth the money, and after looking at the animals for 10 mins you've seen it all. I felt we got a better view when we have seen these animals in a zoo!

Most rooms don't have DVD player, but you can hire one for 50 RM per day. You are better off buying a cheap one (90 RM) at any of the stores in town at the Central Plaza, and leaving it behind. They work fine on the LCD TV's.

The only minor criticism, is the pool side service. It doesn't really exist. I found it a lot quicker to just go straight to the pool bar and order drinks/food myself rather than wait to get the attention of the waiters.

Overall a great stay for my whole family, with lots to do at the resort, as well as the rest of KK. Resort staff are fantastic, and made us all feel very special. We will definitly be back again soon

Room Tip: The Tanjung Seaview rooms are large and offer excellent sunset views. Look for the 2nd room discount...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlburyAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shangrila_TAH, General Manager at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear AlburyAussie, thank you for sharing your stay experience with us and I am pleased to know that our colleagues managed to assist you in locating your missing backpack. It was a pleasure reading your personal take on our resort and we look forward to welcoming you to our resort again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Craig Powell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Soon as we arrived we were greeted with a very friendly smile and welcome at the front entrance

Front desk check in again staff very friendly and we were given cold towel and drink whilst we waited to check in

Our room was in the ideal spot as we could watch the sunset every night from our balcony and the view of the grounds ,palm trees and the ocean gave you that warm fuzzy feeling to say
Hey Wow you are in Paradise
Our room was very clean neat and tidy

The food again was fantastic with an incredible range to chose from catering for all
The only drawback was lining up to be served by this huge smorgasbord of food

The pool area was just idealic as the tropical surrounds and layout of this area was superb
They have an infinity pool which overlooks the ocean which is magic and they had water fountains around the pool area
Another great idea was they have a separate pool area and water playground for the children with an ice cream shop so they cater for both family's and couples very well

Dining one does not have to leave this hotel as everything is catered for with many fine resturaunt s to cater for most nationalities
We dined under the stars near the waters edge and had a seafood platter which was delicious
One night we had room service and our meal was brought on a foldout trolley with with white linen tablecloth and all the fine cutlery which was very nice

One has to catch a taxi if you want to go down town or to a resturaunt as its a long walk ten to twenty minutes away and very hot and maybe unwise to try in this tropical heat

There's lots to do as you can catch a boat and visit the small islands which are very close by
Play golf , have a massage,gymnasium,go shopping down town at the shopping centres or at the markets and of course you can see the orrangutans at the sister hotel which is a bus trip away
Or you can lay by the pool with a good book and just relax

This hotel is very hard to fault as we stayed a week and we had a fantastic time

Let them know its a special occasion for your trip and they will do there best to make your stay is a pleasant one
The staff are very happy and friendly and always greet you with a pleasant gesture and smile
Well done Shangri la you turned our stay into a very relaxing holiday

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Having lived in Asia for over 4 years, many business lunches and putting clients in traders and shangri la hotels, this is the final straw. My partner surprised me for my birthday weekend, from the moment we arrived the service and promises has been bery bad.

We always book club lounge, when we arrived they took for ever to check us in, then half way through the receptionist left us for 5 minutes and Angie finished this stage, no help regarding club or services. ...should have been on the 6th floor not with everyone else. Whats the point of booking club without the service!

After this we relaxed and tried to enjoy my birthday weekend, we had a 2.5 hours spa package, left at 5.30, 3 times we asked for a reservation for a great spot at the sunset bar as this was our final chance to see it and didnt trust the staff.....once again, no booking on my birthday and another mess up. Missed the last chance, what was the point of my partner booking a limo to the airport, business class flights and hotel pick up if you cant even provide any form of service.

The duty manager was very empathetic and arranged for us to have dinner and a bottle of wine complimentary at the italian restaurant. We accepted trying to enjoy the last night of my birthday only to be told we have now have a 250rm credit and an average bottle of wine from the club lounge!

Extremely poor service ruined after a lot of time and money spent on the build up.

Craig powers has rsponded to other comlaints, you have my details here, lets see if you match up to what shangri la is meant to be

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raj C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shangrila_TAH, General Manager at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Raj C,  thank you for your constructive feedback. I am sorry to learn of your disappointing stay experience and would like to sincerely apologise for any inconvenience endured during your stay. Your comments are well noted and I will personally see to addressing these issues with the team for our continuous improvement. To assist us in our further, please email me at craig.powell@shangri-la.com with your stay details and any further concerns regarding your stay so I can look into them immediately. Thank you and I look forward to hearing from you soon.
Sincerely,
Craig Powell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

This is my favourite hotel to date. Absolutely loved everything about this hotel. The entrance and lobby is beautiful and the service was impeccable. Thoroughly enjoyed the buffet breakfast. Rooms were definitely 5 star and the beds were super comfy! Beautiful pool and private beach and the day spa was just amazing!!!! Highly recommend this hotel - you won't regret it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the ocean and be sure to book a seaview room to avoid disappointment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZaylaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Elaine and I arrived at this resort, full of expectation and we were not disappointed. Everything about the place was superb, clean and every whim catered for, only one complaint which was a niggle. On arrival they take your credit card and they took £420 straight away from your card, so as you spend, it comes off what you have already given them.
We are quite used to the practice of you card being copied on arrival as a guarantee, but not actually taking the money first!
Anyway, back to the resort, the pool, amenities and classes were excellent and relaxation was the name of the game, for this it could not be faulted, wine and beer are very expensive but you have to get a long with that as it is a muslim country, hence they are non drinkers.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raygcoach1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
1.5 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
15.5 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
2.7 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#5 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,445 reviews
11.9 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#11 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,349 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
Address: 20 Jalan Aru, Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A paradise for the senses surrounded by natural beautyA gentle breeze caresses your face as you wake to the sound of waves lapping the beach. The balcony opens up to an inspiring vista of sparkling coral islands and swaying of palm trees. Tunku Abdul Rahman Park, bordered by crystal clear waters and lush vegetation Sophistication surrounds you in a lavishly decorated suite inspired by Borneo’s rich cultural heritage. Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu, is a perfect tropical getaway, a luxurious tranquil retreat just a short drive from the city.Yet, excitement beckons as you set out to discover all Kota Kinabalu’s delights. Making your way to Kinabalu National Park, you are thrust into a jungle paradise of natural wonders, rugged landscapes and scenic beauty. From the Rafflesia, the largest flower in the world, to the famous Orangutans in their natural habitat, it only gets more breathtaking every step of the way.The afternoon is spent exploring the picturesque town of Kota Belud. As Sabah’s largest and most popular open market, you find gems of all sorts, ranging from handmade handicrafts to mouth-watering local delights like natural honey.Back at the resort, you look forward to a sunset cruise, which departs from STAR Marina, to catch Borneo's famous sunset. Not long after, you wind down at Coco-Joe’s Bar & Grill. Lounging atop one of the beach-dining platforms, over cocktails and a delectable seafood tower, you continue to enjoy the sound of overlapping waves on the shores of Sunset Beach. A pampering session at CHI, The Spa rounds off the day. With treatments based on traditional Asian healing philosophies, you lose yourself in an enchanted and indulgent journey, all on the resort’s private spa island.For every experience here, you are surrounded by natural beauty. And it all begins at Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelbag, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Resort And Spa
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Resort
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Hotel
Shangri La Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing