We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Family trip”
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Traveling with a family of 6 is always a challenge. We spent 5 nights at this resort which was amazing. There was enough to entertain 4 kids daily for 5 days. After 4 days at the rasa ria before our stay here, we were a bit disappointed by the food. There was more variety, but the cuisine was mostly Asian

Room Tip: The beds were not as comfortable as we had hoped and having a pillow menu would be useful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Ausbne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,090
    1,056
    337
    117
    81
See reviews for
1,274
1,394
91
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (789)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We had the Gaia suite on the top floor and it was such an amazing, huge, spacious suite and the view from our balcony was truly unbelievable, I loved it. Too bad is not much of a beach, but they have a lot of swimming pools for everybody.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

We visited this resort for 4 days mid December. It is conveniently located, ~10min car ride to airport or city center. The hotel itself has everything, instead of giving you a mini-bar it has a little shop so you can buy the snacks yourself.

We stayed in a standard room in the tanjung wing room 329 which overlooked the ocean, very quiet and great view.

There are a variety of free activities available like putt putt, volleyball, yoga, Pilates. I did a class of Pilates and the room is gorgeous, overlooking the ocean with 3 walls of full length windows. The pool was great for Sun tanning and there were slides and water bombs in the kids section.

The hotel stay included breakfast buffet and the food was delicious, especially the egg station where they cook it fresh for you. It was quite crowded ard 9am on our 2 day there, but having said the tables were spacious and if you sit outdoors it's less noisy.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
Reviewed 18 December 2013

good for holiday becos of the nice swimming pool and environment. the staff are very nice. the weakness was the dinner buffet (no refilled food) and the pillow had down smell which i dont like. will stay there again

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shangrila_TAH, General Manager at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Angela, thank you, we have noted your comments with regards to our buffet dinner and scent of our pillows. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Sincerely,
Craig Powell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

At the beginning of December we flew back to Borneo from the UK for a two week stay at the Tanjung Aru having stayed there last year for one week.
We were secretly dreading it as last years holiday was stunning so this would be aweful as perfection cannot be repeated?
WOW!
We were collected from the airport and driven too the hotel and immediately met by a dozen friendly faces welcoming us back it was overwhelming in a good sense.
We were looked after by Grace and several other staff our cases disappeared and arrived magically in our room some time later.
Bypassing the queue at check in and off for cool drinks in the club lounge and a very warm welcome from the staff there.
We were hot and bothered after a long flight and they kept us waiting saying our room wasn't ready.
After a short wait were we taken too our room.
No wonder there was a wait, they had specially decorated it with petals spelling out our 25th anniversary no mean feat even on a king size bed it was amazing and Grace then made us pose and took photographs which we now have forever a pleasant and thoughtful moment.
That is a good start.
We had the same seaview room as last year and super shower / bathroom big enough for ten.
The house keeping staff were super and kept our room spotless and folded the quilt down every evening and left thoughtful card messages which we especially liked.
We left a pile of dirty clothes on the counter awaiting the laundry for the next day. When we returned to our room this pile was neatly folded and stack this is beyond the duties of house keeping but it was never the less done. hey cheerfully waved and said hello each time we left our room.
This year we decided to upgrade too the club lounge instead of fighting past the very rude Chinese guests at the morning breakfast buffet.
The lounge was calm and pleasant and the staff were tremendous at all times catering for my demands for Earl grey tea with a smile and often witty banter.
The food was not to European/English tastes for the whole 12 days we were there it was distinctly catered for the Chinese who were absent from the lounge as it was mainly Australian, English and some Muslim families there during our stay.
As you would expect the lounge is there only to provide snacks and not a full meal, but, if you find something you like then the snack can easily provide a meal.
Unfortunately, we realised too late, that you can order from the menu any meal you wish if the snacks are not to your liking.
On offer was a small Continental style breakfast, cereals{only two to choose from}Chinese steamed vegetable parcels/ mostly these Chinese and accompanying dishes had fish in them.
We do not like fish so our choices were limited.
This was backed up by a lot of small cakes and sweet pastries, fresh fruit and cold and hot drinks.
A English fried breakfast is available from the menu, obviously bacon is not on the menu and is replaced with beef sausages. I really missed rice dishes and pasta, there was a small rice serving but that had fish in it.
It would have been nice if there was a beef meal e.g.beef chow mein or noodles on offer.
I mainly had omelette and it was cook very well to order.
The menu in the lounge is repeated each week, as a result the second week we ate out in the town or at Pertama Pantai (first beach) then when returning to the lounge we only needed a snack.
There are other places to eat within the hotel and you can order from the menu and eat in the Borneo lounge or Coco Joe's on the beach.
The hotel is well kept and clean the staff are amazing and it was difficult to get past reception as everyone wanted to ask how my day was and what I was doing. I did not mind as I was practising my Malay and they their English but say the same thing ten - fifteen times and not getting out of the foyer was a little tiring. I upped my Malay and shortened the conversations as you would in English and it only took five minutes to greet everyone on the way to breakfast.
It wasn't very crowded but the guests were mainly Chinese who are smokers, loud and disrespectful towards the staff. Maybe this is why we were treated in a calm pleasant manner as we were respectful ,did things for ourselves and spoke Malay.
Overall the Tanjung Aru is a clean well run hotel with superb staff and they provided us with a unforgettable experience how they are going to out do themselves for our next visit waits too be seen.

Room Tip: Tanjung Aru sea view rooms have the sunset views. Kinabalu mountain views have a cloudy view unless...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shangrila_TAH, General Manager at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
DearDavid, thank you for choosing to stay with us again and appreciating the efforts made by our colleagues during your stay. We have taken note of your comments on the variety of our breakfast menu at the Club Lounge and will work toward improving the selection to appeal to all nationalities. Thank you again for taking time to share your stay experience with us and we look forward to your return!
Sincerely,
Craig Powell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Spent 4 days, the service was excellent, the ambience was fantastic and there were great variety of food. My kids thoroughly enjoyed the swimming pool and the beach. Will definitely come back here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank MacShake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Hubby and I stayed here during our honeymoon in 2011. We quite enjoyed our stay. Our room was lovely. They have an amazing pool. We used to often swim at night. Weather was great. Had a treatment at th spa and it was amazing. Definately recommend ..

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
1.5 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
15.5 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,064 reviews
11.9 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#12 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,331 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
Address: 20 Jalan Aru, Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A paradise for the senses surrounded by natural beautyA gentle breeze caresses your face as you wake to the sound of waves lapping the beach. The balcony opens up to an inspiring vista of sparkling coral islands and swaying of palm trees. Tunku Abdul Rahman Park, bordered by crystal clear waters and lush vegetation Sophistication surrounds you in a lavishly decorated suite inspired by Borneo’s rich cultural heritage. Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu, is a perfect tropical getaway, a luxurious tranquil retreat just a short drive from the city.Yet, excitement beckons as you set out to discover all Kota Kinabalu’s delights. Making your way to Kinabalu National Park, you are thrust into a jungle paradise of natural wonders, rugged landscapes and scenic beauty. From the Rafflesia, the largest flower in the world, to the famous Orangutans in their natural habitat, it only gets more breathtaking every step of the way.The afternoon is spent exploring the picturesque town of Kota Belud. As Sabah’s largest and most popular open market, you find gems of all sorts, ranging from handmade handicrafts to mouth-watering local delights like natural honey.Back at the resort, you look forward to a sunset cruise, which departs from STAR Marina, to catch Borneo's famous sunset. Not long after, you wind down at Coco-Joe’s Bar & Grill. Lounging atop one of the beach-dining platforms, over cocktails and a delectable seafood tower, you continue to enjoy the sound of overlapping waves on the shores of Sunset Beach. A pampering session at CHI, The Spa rounds off the day. With treatments based on traditional Asian healing philosophies, you lose yourself in an enchanted and indulgent journey, all on the resort’s private spa island.For every experience here, you are surrounded by natural beauty. And it all begins at Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Southall Travel, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Travelbag, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Resort And Spa
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Resort
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Hotel
Shangri La Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing