We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another luxury hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
298 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Another luxury hotel”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We had a conference in the same hotel for 3 days .we really enjoyed the location of the hotel which is unique it is in its own far from KK. actually you can stay in the hotel for a week and be happy .it has several nice restaurants, nice cafe ,nice beautiful places to sit and see the sun set .it has it all .i highly recommend this particular hotel for couples

Room Tip: The hotel has tower .i really recommend the ground floor rooms because it has spacious balcony and e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khalid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,069
    1,048
    335
    115
    79
See reviews for
1,256
1,381
90
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (785)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, Cumbria
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

My wife and I went to the Tanjung Aru as part of our ruby wedding "holiday-of-a-lifetime". What a fabulous place! From the moment we walked through the main doors ( to the sound of a big gong!) we were treated like royalty. The staff are superb, nothing is a bother to them. We were offered an upgrade to a room on the luxury floor, at very little extra cost. This included breakfast, snacks and free alcoholic drinks for 2 hours every evening, which were accompanied by the most accomplished buffet.
The place is spotlessly clean, including the large pool area.
Only one downside. The price of drinks is frightening!! This is not a criticism of the hotel though. It seems the policy of the Malaysian government is that you can drink if you want to, but you'll have to pay dear for the privilege. Accept that and budget accordingly would be my advice.
All in all, though, a truly wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Go for the luxury up-rate, good views all round.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I read various reviews at Trip Advisor about Shangri-La Tanjung Aru. There were some fabulous reviews and there were also some very bad ones too. That got me worried but I after communicating with the hotel about my concerns and some specific needs we had during our stay, we decided to chance it. And it was the best decision made!

We received a warm welcome at the hotel and check in was done in the comfort of our room. I had informed the hotel prior to our arrival that we would be there with the family to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We had adjoining rooms just as I requested. And there were rose petals on the bed for our wedding anniversary and a cake too! For my 3 year old, there was a welcome bag of colouring paper and crayons. And there was even a little potty! For my baby, there was a cot, a mini Johnson's Baby bath, shampoo, lotion & powder. And also a bottle warmer and sterilizer and baby bath. The hotel staff went above and beyond in making our room absolutely perfect.

This is an excellent hotel for kids. The kids' pool has slides and fountains and all sorts of water activities. My kid especially enjoyed the Angry Birds water war where you catapult water balloons at least other. There's also Cool Zone which is the kids' club, where there are activities throughout the day to keep the kids busy. There's also a baby's area which is padded and has all sorts of toys to entertain a baby.

There is fruit flavoured ice cold water available around the pool whenever you need a drink. There are even mascots who walk around the pool to delight the kids (god bless the mascot wearers who must be sweltering in those suits in the hot sun)!

There's also a deeper infinity pool where adults can chill, away from the excited children.

The beach is clean but small. The start attraction here is the pool. For a long white sandy beach, Shangri-La Rasa Ria would be better.

You may have read that breakfast at Cafe Tatu can be a bit crazy and that part is true. But to give them credit, the staff really do their best to seat everyone and ensure the guests' needs are met whenever possible. When there are too many people, the overflow of guests are channeled to the Chinese restaurants. It's much quieter there so this may be an option for you. But Cafe Tatu will be better if you have kids as there's a small buffet line for kids and there's always a mascot to greet and play with the kids.

Many guests at this hotel also go to the orang utan sanctuary at Shangri-La Rasa Ria. That is about 1 hour drive away, one way. For those who have seen monkeys and orang utans before, this is not too exciting as the baby orang utans are quite far away from where you will be standing. But for those who haven't seen orang utans before, it may be quite interesting.

Out of the blue one night, there was a knock on the door. Room service sent us a cake as it was our domestic helper's birthday. That made her day and we were very appreciative of the gesture.

One of the most memorable scenes from our trip is the sunset. It was absolutely breathtaking every single evening and we went to watch it every single day. This is a MUST see. And ensure you have your cameras with you.

Overall, it was a great stay. A big thank you to the GM, Craig Powell and his wonderful team. We will certainly be back.

Room Tip: Choose the sea view room as you won't see Mount Kinabalu with the mountain view as it's too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BubblesAmanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shangrila_TAH, General Manager at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear BubblesAmanda, thank you so much for taking time to share your stay experience with us. I am pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay at the resort. Our resort team is dedicated to making all our guest experience a truly memorable and enjoyable stay. Thank you again for choosing to celebrate your special day with us and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon!
Sincerely,
Craig Powell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 28 December 2013

disappointed by the room, looks old and carpet smell, partial sea view only.
worst was breakfast, far away from what you expect in a shangri-la and for paying that much per night, food was awful, canteen type experience.
on the positive side, the pool was nice, great for kids, garden is nice, great location for sunset watching, good location in KK. One advise, don't go during holiday period.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank HLL84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shangrila_TAH, General Manager at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear HLL84, thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our guestroom and breakfast during your stay. Please accept our sincere apologies for failing to provide you with a complete Shangri-La experience during your stay. We value your constructive comments for our continuous improvement and look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Craig Powell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shah Alam
1 review
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Overall good stay glitched by bad and disconnected Hotel billing system. Also bad experience with loud crazy schizophrenic guest. However, situation was very well handled Hotel Staff. Overall good value for money despite paying the X'mas season premium for stay.


Room Tip: Ask for full list of complimentary items for your room when checking in so that you don't get sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Nik Aziz Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We were very, very fortunate to stay at this outstanding hotel in November 2013. Unfortunately our father in law needed to be ambulanced to hospital on our fourth day (the "Code Five" - not a practice run!). The staff were absolutely amazing and we have written a detailed letter to Shangrila hotel management praising so many staff for their support and assistance over the remaining days of our holiday. Duty managers, concierge and hotel bus drivers, chefs, restaurants, cleaners, wait staff - so many people to thank for their assistance during this anxious time. We truely loved this hotel, its facilities and its restaurants, but most of all, its exceptional, outstanding and friendly staff. Thank you. We will be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAS59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shangrila_TAH, General Manager at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
DearLAS59, thank you for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor and recognizing the efforts made by our colleagues. We hope all is well at home and look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Craig Powell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
1 review
Reviewed 27 December 2013

High quality resort in a great location for relaxation and ocean sports. Staff was really friendly and efficient. Rooms were well maintained and in great shape. Every room had its own balcony that you could relax on. Depending on room, some had great views of the sunset or sunrise.

Hotel restaurants are decent, particularly Cafe Tatu (buffet style) or Coco's Bar and Grill.

Gym is fairly large and well maintained with new equipment. Pool is also fairly large, but due to number of users and shape, may not be ideal for exercise. Great for relaxing/playing in though.

Ten minutes boat ride from national marine preserve. Great for diving, snorkelling or just a day trip. Went diving there 6 times and really enjoyed the abundant sea life. Best time for diving is April-Oct though. Avoid the Nov-Mar rainy season as visibility drops.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
1.5 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,390 reviews
15.5 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
2,034 reviews
11.9 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#13 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,314 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
Address: 20 Jalan Aru, Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A paradise for the senses surrounded by natural beautyA gentle breeze caresses your face as you wake to the sound of waves lapping the beach. The balcony opens up to an inspiring vista of sparkling coral islands and swaying of palm trees. Tunku Abdul Rahman Park, bordered by crystal clear waters and lush vegetation Sophistication surrounds you in a lavishly decorated suite inspired by Borneo’s rich cultural heritage. Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu, is a perfect tropical getaway, a luxurious tranquil retreat just a short drive from the city.Yet, excitement beckons as you set out to discover all Kota Kinabalu’s delights. Making your way to Kinabalu National Park, you are thrust into a jungle paradise of natural wonders, rugged landscapes and scenic beauty. From the Rafflesia, the largest flower in the world, to the famous Orangutans in their natural habitat, it only gets more breathtaking every step of the way.The afternoon is spent exploring the picturesque town of Kota Belud. As Sabah’s largest and most popular open market, you find gems of all sorts, ranging from handmade handicrafts to mouth-watering local delights like natural honey.Back at the resort, you look forward to a sunset cruise, which departs from STAR Marina, to catch Borneo's famous sunset. Not long after, you wind down at Coco-Joe’s Bar & Grill. Lounging atop one of the beach-dining platforms, over cocktails and a delectable seafood tower, you continue to enjoy the sound of overlapping waves on the shores of Sunset Beach. A pampering session at CHI, The Spa rounds off the day. With treatments based on traditional Asian healing philosophies, you lose yourself in an enchanted and indulgent journey, all on the resort’s private spa island.For every experience here, you are surrounded by natural beauty. And it all begins at Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Expedia, Southall Travel, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Priceline, Travelbag, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Resort And Spa
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Resort
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Hotel
Shangri La Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing