We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“JUST WHAT YOU NEED”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2014

The resort is wonderful, but nothing compares to the smiling and ever helpful staff. They truly are the heart and soul of Tanjun Aru. The rooms are lovely, the food and view is brilliant. Just wonderful.

Room Tip: If you want peace and quiet do not get a room facing the kids water park, other than that..Brilliant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,805)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,480 - 1,486 of 3,805 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2014

I really had no idea what to expect, and I was pleasantly surprised at the resort and the amount of facilities there making it difficult to use and see everything on site during such a short visit.

The room was comfortable and quite relaxing, and it was nice to sit on the balcony and watch the sun set and the views of the incoming storms.

There was wifi throughout the hotel and it seemed to cover most area's I went to.

Food was very good but service was relatively slow and that appears to have been in all the restaurants but worst is coco bar and restaurant, but as I was not in a hurry I never really worried about it too much.

The facilities at the hotel were excellent, from a range of shops to tour organisation and then the swimming pools with the slides and water wars area, there was so many things to see and do. However it was very busy and you did feel like your were crushed in around the pools and on the beach it was very much the same with a lack of places to sit.

I also visited the Chi spa and had a nice relaxing massage, I enjoyed the remoteness of the massage rooms and the fact that they were all individual buildings in a very tranquil setting.

Checkout was very seamless with no issues and overall it was a decent stay at a nice hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agilchrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Sensational tanjun aru , pool & water slides are a must for the children , service up to that of the shangri la standard . Having stayed at golden sands & traders penang as well as mactan Island Cebu other Shangri la resorts , the Tanjin Aru resort rates as the highest for quality & service as well as friendliness of the staff great job guys topped off a fun filled 2 week stay in KK

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Gilly022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Just returned from a very disappointing stay at the Tanjung Aru. Hotel itself is very tired and in need of an upgrade. Food was very average- breakfast was especially awful; it felt messy, tables unclear, food on floor, and poor service. Most frustrating was the lack of sun beds and umbrellas on the beach. It was very busy when we visited however the hotel was very poorly equipped to deal with the high capacity of guests- everyday was a battle to find beds and umbrellas, and some staff were extremely unresponsive when we asked for help. On visiting the sister hotel, it reaffirmed our disappointment, the difference was significant. If your looking for luxury or relaxation this hotel is not worth the money.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shangrila_TAH, General Manager at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Ann L, I am sorry to hear of your disappointing stay experience with us which happens to coincide with one of our busiest seasons of the year. Please accept my sincere apologies for all our shortcomings during this period. Our colleagues are always doing their best to meet expectations and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you again during your next visit.

Best Regards,
Craig Powell, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We selected this resort based upon the responses on TripAdvisor. The location is first rate, close to the airport and far enough away from the main city that it very quiet. The rooms were great and the staff friendly and accommodating. Evening buffet was a feast and the Italian restaurant was also very good.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Col I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We spent 8 nights over the Christmas and New Year period at this resort and loved every minute of our stay. Our 3 daughters thoroughly enjoyed the Kids club and the water park and the service was great from beginning to end bar one incident with a foreign employee called Bastien. The local staff members were attentive, friendly and very helpful and it is definitely a resort we would return to.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FarzanaKahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shangrila_TAH, General Manager at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear FarzanaKahn,thank you for staying with us during one of our busiest seasons of the year. I am glad to hear you and your family had a wonderful stay and that we took good care of you. Thank you again for your favorable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable experience in near future!
Sincerely,
Craig Powell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

My husband, 21 yr old daughter and I stayed for 4 nights during the New Year's holiday. We booked Kinabalu Club sea view rooms, and were fairly satisfied. The rooms do show some wear and tear and could use some basic improvements (carpet, furniture, etc). The best experience at this Shangri-La was without a doubt the exemplary customer service that we had in the Kinabalu Club. The staff were constantly working to make sure all guests were satisfied; not an easy feat. I love that they have separate hours for the families with young children (4:30-6:30pm) and for adults (6:30-8:30pm). With this schedule, everyone was happy. Breakfast and Happy Hour choices were plentiful, and again, the entire staff worked hard to meet all the guests' needs. Especially helpful and friendly were Johnny and Sonia, who worked tirelessly assisting everyone.
We enjoyed Kota Kinabalu and have already booked a return trip, but will stay at the Shangri-La Rasa Ria to experience the beach and golf.

Room Tip: Booking a Kinabalu Club room is worth the extra expense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roylaunik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shangrila_TAH, General Manager at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear roylaunik, thank you for your generous compliments! I will be sure to share your positive comments with our dedicated colleagues, Johnny and Sonia. Whilst you may have found our rooms a little tired, do know that we have made every effort to ensure they are well maintained. Thank you once again for staying with us and I look forward to your return visit!
Sincerely,
Craig Powell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
1.5 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
2.7 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,183 reviews
11.9 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#11 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,503 reviews
15.5 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
2.6 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa

Address: 20 Jalan Aru, Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £155 - £313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 492
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A paradise for the senses surrounded by natural beautyA gentle breeze caresses your face as you wake to the sound of waves lapping the beach. The balcony opens up to an inspiring vista of sparkling coral islands and swaying of palm trees. Tunku Abdul Rahman Park, bordered by crystal clear waters and lush vegetation Sophistication surrounds you in a lavishly decorated suite inspired by Borneo’s rich cultural heritage. Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu, is a perfect tropical getaway, a luxurious tranquil retreat just a short drive from the city.Yet, excitement beckons as you set out to discover all Kota Kinabalu’s delights. Making your way to Kinabalu National Park, you are thrust into a jungle paradise of natural wonders, rugged landscapes and scenic beauty. From the Rafflesia, the largest flower in the world, to the famous Orangutans in their natural habitat, it only gets more breathtaking every step of the way.The afternoon is spent exploring the picturesque town of Kota Belud. As Sabah’s largest and most popular open market, you find gems of all sorts, ranging from handmade handicrafts to mouth-watering local delights like natural honey.Back at the resort, you look forward to a sunset cruise, which departs from STAR Marina, to catch Borneo's famous sunset. Not long after, you wind down at Coco-Joe’s Bar & Grill. Lounging atop one of the beach-dining platforms, over cocktails and a delectable seafood tower, you continue to enjoy the sound of overlapping waves on the shores of Sunset Beach. A pampering session at CHI, The Spa rounds off the day. With treatments based on traditional Asian healing philosophies, you lose yourself in an enchanted and indulgent journey, all on the resort’s private spa island.For every experience here, you are surrounded by natural beauty. And it all begins at Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Splitty, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Resort And Spa
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Resort
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Hotel
Shangri La Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing