We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Apart from some food aspects, everything was perfect. Those issues weren't unreasonable .. being a Shangri La, i expected higher quality standards that what i could expect at a Novotel. Great kids facilities and the staff looking after kids superb

Room Tip: We got the best suite … great view, great comfort & standards
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Stewart K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,069
    1,048
    335
    115
    79
See reviews for
1,256
1,381
90
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (785)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Stayed 1 week, family of 4 in 2 rooms. Extremely slow check in, booked rooms not available, and had to wait for rooms. Smallish pool, limited poolside space, dirty beach. Rooms are clean. Very poor value. Cannot recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
4 Thank Michael Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shangrila_TAH, General Manager at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Michael Y, thank you for sharing your experience with us. I have shared your comments with the team for their further improvement and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Craig Powell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed here from the 18th to 31st December and had a great holiday. We chose Tanjung Aru resort over Rasa Ria because we wanted to be closer to the city with more options of eating out. If you are considering these two Shangri-la hotels consider carefully what you want from your holiday and the time of year you plan to stay both have the plusses and minuses.

Tanjung Aru resort & spa is a great hotel but has been extended to almost twice its original size. No problem except for two areas, the main dining room and the pool. When we arrived the hotel was not full and we had no issues with either but as we approached Xmas and the hotel filled, there were. Firstly the dining room, where there is a splendid breakfast buffet served to suit practically any taste. The problem was being able to put together a hot breakfast within a reasonable time so that it was still hot when you sat down to eat. On several occasions it took more than half an hour! In their defence they did open up the Chinese restaurant where they offered the same extensive choice (sometimes) but this just didn’t give the same experience. The staff worked like bees trying to keep the dishes stocked but inevitably there were always one or two items that you stood around waiting for. In a nutshell the hotel needs a second dining room, it just cannot cope.

The swimming pool area was our second major issue. The pool itself is a beautifully large swimming pool which is attended by lifeguards who you could not fault for their attentiveness. A little over zealous I felt at times, but sensed they were just following instructions. It is sometime good to remember we go on holiday and have FUN. You can only play with any pool toys or balls in the children’s area which is NOT fun. The main issue was not the pool itself but the pool surrounds. Again, when we first arrived there was no problem getting a sun bed in the shade but as the hotel filled the only way to secure a bed in the shade was to have claimed it by 7 – 7.30 in the morning. There really are not enough shaded areas to fit the numbers at the hotel. If you are expecting to swim in the sea at the hotel, they have a miniscule sheltered beach which is not worth the bother. Besides the very attentive pool staff bringing your drinks and snacks, there was always ice cold water available at a couple of points around the pool. A nice touch.

Despite these two issues we had a great time and visited the sister hotel Rasa-Ria a good hour (when there is no traffic and there nearly always is) to an 1 ½ hours drive from the airport and a good hour from the city using the hotel shuttle bus. Initially we went to visit the orang-utan sanctuary which I have to say was disappointing (only 4 babies which you see feeding for 20 mins), then being told at the end that you needed to have booked the canopy walk, at an additional cost prior to your visit. At no time were we told this, so keep this in mind if you plan on going. However, disappointment over, we planned to use the facilities at the hotel. The beach is amazing and goes on forever with rolling waves you can have real fun in. This too is attended by vigilant life guards. Plus, there are sun beds galore, with shade and mattresses (luxury indeed) on the beach with buttons to press for drinks etc. There are plenty of sun beds around and near the pool too, doubles with canopies, on wheels, we were spoilt for choice. The actual pool is considerably smaller than Tanjung Aru but they have their magnificent beach instead. There is also a much greater choice of food outlets but as you would have to travel into the city to eat, this was a necessity. So the choice is yours, if you just want beach and a touch of pampering in luxurious surroundings, opt for Rasa Ria – you won’t be disappointed. If however, you want to experience a bit more of Borneo and get out and about and eat local food (really tasty and really cheap) you would be better opting to Tanjung Aru.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BUGZYLONDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We spent 2 nights here during our stay in Kota Kinabalu.
It was a pity we missed the amazing sunset because we were in another one day tour, however the facility and service was perfect.

I would like to spend half day sitting in veranda and another half on the private beach of the resort.

Taxi service is available from the receptionist, it cost around 30RM to the city center.
I believe we will come again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allenzhang628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

The resort is wonderful, but nothing compares to the smiling and ever helpful staff. They truly are the heart and soul of Tanjun Aru. The rooms are lovely, the food and view is brilliant. Just wonderful.

Room Tip: If you want peace and quiet do not get a room facing the kids water park, other than that..Brilliant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
82 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I really had no idea what to expect, and I was pleasantly surprised at the resort and the amount of facilities there making it difficult to use and see everything on site during such a short visit.

The room was comfortable and quite relaxing, and it was nice to sit on the balcony and watch the sun set and the views of the incoming storms.

There was wifi throughout the hotel and it seemed to cover most area's I went to.

Food was very good but service was relatively slow and that appears to have been in all the restaurants but worst is coco bar and restaurant, but as I was not in a hurry I never really worried about it too much.

The facilities at the hotel were excellent, from a range of shops to tour organisation and then the swimming pools with the slides and water wars area, there was so many things to see and do. However it was very busy and you did feel like your were crushed in around the pools and on the beach it was very much the same with a lack of places to sit.

I also visited the Chi spa and had a nice relaxing massage, I enjoyed the remoteness of the massage rooms and the fact that they were all individual buildings in a very tranquil setting.

Checkout was very seamless with no issues and overall it was a decent stay at a nice hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agilchrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Sensational tanjun aru , pool & water slides are a must for the children , service up to that of the shangri la standard . Having stayed at golden sands & traders penang as well as mactan Island Cebu other Shangri la resorts , the Tanjin Aru resort rates as the highest for quality & service as well as friendliness of the staff great job guys topped off a fun filled 2 week stay in KK

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Gilly022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
1.5 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,390 reviews
15.5 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,034 reviews
11.9 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#12 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,315 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
Address: 20 Jalan Aru, Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A paradise for the senses surrounded by natural beautyA gentle breeze caresses your face as you wake to the sound of waves lapping the beach. The balcony opens up to an inspiring vista of sparkling coral islands and swaying of palm trees. Tunku Abdul Rahman Park, bordered by crystal clear waters and lush vegetation Sophistication surrounds you in a lavishly decorated suite inspired by Borneo’s rich cultural heritage. Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu, is a perfect tropical getaway, a luxurious tranquil retreat just a short drive from the city.Yet, excitement beckons as you set out to discover all Kota Kinabalu’s delights. Making your way to Kinabalu National Park, you are thrust into a jungle paradise of natural wonders, rugged landscapes and scenic beauty. From the Rafflesia, the largest flower in the world, to the famous Orangutans in their natural habitat, it only gets more breathtaking every step of the way.The afternoon is spent exploring the picturesque town of Kota Belud. As Sabah’s largest and most popular open market, you find gems of all sorts, ranging from handmade handicrafts to mouth-watering local delights like natural honey.Back at the resort, you look forward to a sunset cruise, which departs from STAR Marina, to catch Borneo's famous sunset. Not long after, you wind down at Coco-Joe’s Bar & Grill. Lounging atop one of the beach-dining platforms, over cocktails and a delectable seafood tower, you continue to enjoy the sound of overlapping waves on the shores of Sunset Beach. A pampering session at CHI, The Spa rounds off the day. With treatments based on traditional Asian healing philosophies, you lose yourself in an enchanted and indulgent journey, all on the resort’s private spa island.For every experience here, you are surrounded by natural beauty. And it all begins at Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Travelbag, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Resort And Spa
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Resort
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Hotel
Shangri La Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing