We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We experienced a wonderful stay. The Staff are amazing and engaged with the kids everyday. Andrew at the towels and water slides was awesome. The water slides were great for big and small kids. We did the daily challenges and had a fantastic time, ice cream for the winners and all participants was a wonderful extra. I also recommend the cooking demonstration. Curried prawns were fantastic.
The food is amazing and very safe as none of us got sick. The buffet dinners, free for kids was great value. The breakfast was also delicious. Even with the crowds the staff were extremely calm and helpful. The sunset bar had great views. CoCo Joes was also fun with the live music.
The ladies who cleaned our room were the best I have ever encountered. Nothing was a problem and they also treated us by name.
It was my 40th Birthday and my husband and the staff organised a lovely cake and wrote happy birthday in beautiful flower petals. A lot of the staff wished me Happy Birthday all week which was lovely.
We stayed in the Ocean Room which was lovely.
Only minus is the saving of lounge chairs, some didn't have people on them all morning. However we always found at least two chairs. The fresh water around the pool was an added plus.
Thank you to all the wonderful staff you made our vacation a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: If you have kids the ground floor is great as they just go straight out and play.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mellee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shangrila_TAH, General Manager at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Mellee2014, thank you for choosing to celebrate your special day with us. Glad to learn that you and your partner had a wonderful experience at the resort and I will be sure to share your positive comment with our passionate colleague, Andrew. Your glowing feedback has been very encouraging and we look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable experience!
Sincerely,
Craig Powell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,606 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,041
    1,042
    333
    113
    77
See reviews for
1,242
1,363
89
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (779)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Stayed here for 7 nights with my wife for a holiday over Christmas 2013. We had club room access. the staff all over the hotel were extremely warm and friendly.

Breakfast in the club room had a good variety, with choice a la carte or buffet. We had two a couple of dinners in the hotel. Good service and range of offerings.

City centre is about $30 Malaysian Dollars by taxi. plenty of eating and massage options nd some shopping.

The pool in the hotel was large, clean and well managed. the staff made sure that children were kept out of the adults only area. the private beach is very small and not worth writing about.

you can book a snorkelling tour form the hotel. this tour is ver good value and you can rent all necessary equipment at an excellent price.

three tennis courts on offer. We brought or own raquets with us and the hotel provided balls, towels and iced bottle water.

i highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: go for club room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BKVIV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

This place (we are still here) is very good. I really wanted to give it a four star rating but compared to my other large hotel experiences its just a bit below 4. Anyway, its a very busy hotel, we were told100% capacity yet in the wing we are in you would hardly know it, over looking the mini golf course is very quite. The mostly Chinese clients are quickly taking over the Japanese in their quest for craziest photo takers, this makes it a bit hard to walk around the grounds without being told to stop so someone can take the 50th photo of his girlfriend.
The staff are fabulous, I watched a very rude Chinese guy yesterday ranting because the staff had said 1 to 2 persons in an accent that sounded like 1 to 2 percent. the guest was very rude and we were amazed how tolerant the barman was. In Australia he may have been thrown in the pool.
The sunset bar is pretty funny, I forget that as Australians we see many fantastic sunsets, but yesterday there was a 100 or so people taking photos, it was really nice to see.
food is great however someone should tell the Chinese guests that there is plenty of food to go around and we will not starve, pushing isn't the way to get your eggs any faster. Drinks compared to the Australian prices are cheaper and out on the street as usual cheaper again, but I dont feel I need to take a second mortgage if I want to have a few drinks by the pool.
We arrived very early on the first day, this isnt Shangri La's fault but they made us feel welcome and have a special arrival area for tourists to hang out and sleep or make some tea before their room is ready. As for rooms they are great. huge beds (2 king singles pushed together) which is awesome. the airconditioning works well, no in house movies just the normal Malay t.v, if you like movies or t.v bring a hard drive with your favourite shows loaded.
Outside the hotel Kota Kinabalu is great, the food is wonderful and the locals very friendly. I really hope this place doesnt turn into Bali or the busy parts of Thailand. Give me the occasional rude chinese guest over fighting abusive australians any day.
Thank you Shangri la Tajung Aru, we will be back

Room Tip: if you want quiet the rooms over the mini golf course are perfect. level 2 is on the same level as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank yachty78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westmidlands
Level Contributor
81 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

As I write this we are spending the last of 5 nights here I can't really fault the place all I would say is if you,are looking for a quiet break then not sure, whilst we were there, there were lots of families with young children and at time this meant some of the noise levels got a little high not a problem for our short stay but two weeks may have been a different matter. We had a club Kinabalu room and would do so again as drinks and snack were served throughout the day also on an evening no children so a little quiet time for the adults. The staff were amazing nothing seemed too much trouble to them, our room was immaculate clean, towels and linen changed frequently also toiletries topped up daily as used. We only ate in the club lounge and the Chinese restraunt food was good and we didn't feel over priced for a hotel of this level, we did venture out to the city not amazing but different worth a visit we ate at the night restraunt for 1 meal choose your fish (still alive) then take a seat and a few minutes later it's served. Again it would not be to every ones taste you need to be broad minded especially where toilet facilities are concerned. The other was at Sri malaska I think that the correct spelling again food Malay was delicious. The best part of our holiday though was seeng the orang utan a very special day for us we will never forget thanks to Dino their career, at the sister resort of rasa ria a shuttle bus leaves daily for which there is a charge but if you,like conservation and animals a must see them while you can their numbers are reducing and they need all the help they can get you can even foster. All in all a brilliant time thank you to every one at the hotel for all their hard work. I didn't use the spa but did visit staff were very helpful with treatment suggestion just ran out of time

Room Tip: Talk to the staff they appreciate being noticed and may give you tips on places to visit
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jylittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

A fabulous hotel for families with young children. Best Kids club and water playground is lots of fun. Plenty of pool areas for the young ones too. Recommend the Kinabalu Club Rooms with access to the club lounge.This is a great value choice as,Children allowed entry from 4.30 - 6.30 for dinner. Plenty of food with lots of choices. Kinabalu Club staff are excellent as are the Kids Club Staff. As good if not better than our stay a couple of years ago. Only downside was the weather with lots of rain in January. Choose another time of the year if you can..

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank stanesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

Let's start with the plus points which are many. The hotel is very close to the airport - not that you'd know it - and sports wonderful views of the islands of the South China Sea and a small beach. The resort it is a great base to explore Kinabalu from. It also boasts an excellent Spa.

Though I would say if you are looking for a more of a beach / honeymoon destination the sister Rasa Ria hotel is a much better choice.

As always with this chain the service is excellent which is just as well... Upon arrival the staff successfully communicated in an understated, coded way that it would be much more appropriate to stay in the Kinabalu wing at this time.. Wise advice indeed as it turned out...

The hotel was busy as it was close to Chinese New Year and the results were carnage..

As the hotels five star ambience was severely compromised by the hoards of Chinese tourists staying who, how shall I put this politely, seemed unaware of the behaviour expected.. Drunken antics at all hours, shouting, burping, spitting and hoards of uncontrolled children running riot as the harried, hard pressed staff tried heroically to maintain a sense of order and decorum. Leaving the international guests sheltering in the, excellent, Italian restaurant in the evenings. It felt at times less like luxury hotel and more like a package holiday from hell!

So all in all a good choice but.. Caveat Emptor if you stay over Chinese New Year!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Squaremeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

There are two (2) Shangri-La properties in KK. We stayed here. It is less than 5 minutes from the airport. With two small children and desired "getaway" from KL, this was an ideal spot. As soon as we landed… we were here.

We had a room on the Club Level. The pull out couch/chair served as the rollaway bed for our 7 year old. It was wider than a twin size bed, but a little smaller than a double (by American standards). The position of the rollaway bed/chair was not intrusive and allowed us to enjoy the room without being cramped.

The Club Level allowed and encouraged children to come from 4:30 - 6:30 pm. After 6:30, it was adults only. My husband and I loved this. We have been to places that ban the kids, and other places where they are allowed, but not welcome. This was a reasonable set-up, and I hope that other hotels might follow this model.

This property is great for young children/emerging swimmers. Very well designed. And the water slides can be enjoyed without having to swim as there is no "pool" at the bottom. So parents can park themselves in a chair and watch without having to wait at the bottom. Lifeguards were professional and well-trained.

Breakfast was great - both in the Club, as well as the main buffet. In the main buffet, I loved the what I'll call the "egg translation" ordering guide by the omelette bar. As you know, everyone has a different idea of what "scrambled" means, and various cultures like their eggs runnier/harder than others. This simple solution was brilliant, and should be used in every hotel that caters to a global crowd.

No complaints about this property.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bernadette623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
1.5 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
15.5 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
2.7 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
11.9 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#14 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
Address: 20 Jalan Aru, Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A paradise for the senses surrounded by natural beautyA gentle breeze caresses your face as you wake to the sound of waves lapping the beach. The balcony opens up to an inspiring vista of sparkling coral islands and swaying of palm trees. Tunku Abdul Rahman Park, bordered by crystal clear waters and lush vegetation Sophistication surrounds you in a lavishly decorated suite inspired by Borneo’s rich cultural heritage. Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu, is a perfect tropical getaway, a luxurious tranquil retreat just a short drive from the city.Yet, excitement beckons as you set out to discover all Kota Kinabalu’s delights. Making your way to Kinabalu National Park, you are thrust into a jungle paradise of natural wonders, rugged landscapes and scenic beauty. From the Rafflesia, the largest flower in the world, to the famous Orangutans in their natural habitat, it only gets more breathtaking every step of the way.The afternoon is spent exploring the picturesque town of Kota Belud. As Sabah’s largest and most popular open market, you find gems of all sorts, ranging from handmade handicrafts to mouth-watering local delights like natural honey.Back at the resort, you look forward to a sunset cruise, which departs from STAR Marina, to catch Borneo's famous sunset. Not long after, you wind down at Coco-Joe’s Bar & Grill. Lounging atop one of the beach-dining platforms, over cocktails and a delectable seafood tower, you continue to enjoy the sound of overlapping waves on the shores of Sunset Beach. A pampering session at CHI, The Spa rounds off the day. With treatments based on traditional Asian healing philosophies, you lose yourself in an enchanted and indulgent journey, all on the resort’s private spa island.For every experience here, you are surrounded by natural beauty. And it all begins at Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelbag, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Resort And Spa
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Resort
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Hotel
Shangri La Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing