We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The place that has it all” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Busselton
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The place that has it all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would definitely come back the only difference would be that next time it wouldn't be Chinese New Year. Nothing against the Chinese just that it was very busy and you had to be quick to get chairs around the pool etc. It is a great place for children with water playground, children's pool and games, crèche, special children's section for breakfast etc. Unfortunately we couldn't play golf at the Sutera Marina Course which we thought you could.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JkayBusselton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,011
    1,020
    327
    111
    75
See reviews for
1,217
1,339
87
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (764)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
601 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights. It is a very nice family resort for the pool area is very large and is in a beautiful location. Staff were very friendly, rooms were clean, nice and complimentary Wi-Fi was offered. There were a lot of families with many children on holiday at this hotel....getting ready for the Chinese new year. Not much to do right outside of the hotel. Would highly recommend taking the shuttle to see the baby Orang Utan Rehabilitation center.

Room Tip: Request a room in the new wing of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nvlinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

My kids were enjoy three water slides there very much.
I love the STAR Lounge which gave me a good place to have showers after enjoyed the pools in the afternoon on checkout date even I were unable to get a late checkout.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank CHUN HOI C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

The food quality is not as good as other Shangrila hotels, the food served in Magellan is better.
The toilet in the Cafe Tatu was very dirty and smelly, disappointing experience.
Chinese food was ok if you're really hungry, but it's the worst one compared with the other Shangrila hotels.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shangrila_TAH, General Manager at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Joe, thank you for your review. We have taken note on your feedback regarding to the quality of food and cleanliness of the toilet at Café Tatu – these have been shared with the team for further improvement. We value your constructive comments for our continuous improvement and look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Craig Powell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

This hotel has excellent facilities (especially the swimming pool area) and the buffet breakfast is amazing! However, I got the feeling that they wanted to try to get every dollar they could out of me. Upon arrival, they charged my card RM900 ($300) to use in the hotel during my stay. I thought this was excessive since it was nearly the price that I paid for the hotel for 3 nights. I then had to fight at check out to have it refunded. They make you order your drinks before you are even allowed to sit down at the sunset bar and they wanted to charge us RM300 ($100) to check out 2 hours late. We also ate a their Italian restaurant (Peppinos) on our last night - it was very expensive by Malaysian standards ($100 for 2 course meal for 2 people) and the food was awful - definitely stay away and take a cab into town for your meals. Also, avoid the ice cream place - $10 (30RM) for a very lousy ice cream. Overall, the facilities were excellent, but the staff were rude and the impression that I had to keep paying them money left a bad taste in my mouth and for that, I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Madbarn42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shangrila_TAH, General Manager at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Madbarn42, thank you for your feedback. Whilst I am happy that you enjoyed our resort facilities during your stay, I am very concerned to learn of your comments on our staff service and prices at the resort. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience that you have endured during your recent stay - we will address the service issues that was brought to our attention. Pertaining to the price for food and beverages, we regularly review our prices to ensure we offer value for money. Feel free to email me directly at craig.powell@shangri-la.com if you would like to discuss in detail regarding your staying experience. Once again, thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.
Sincerely,
Craig Powell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

If you are looking to be pampered and throw your cares away for a few days then stay here. A great 5* resort; lovely location, nicely designed, great pool, loads of facilities, not overpriced and a large spacious room.
We turned up without a reservation at 2am and managed to get a deal on a club suite. The club buffet is definitely enough food!
I would recommend Shangri-La as a good 5* hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

We spent 10 nights as part of a trip around Malaysia . The hotel is a good base to explore the area whilst offering a comfortable surrounding.

We upgraded to a club room which was worth it as the rooms are located away from the main area of the resort and have beautiful views of the islands at sea. The club room also came with the added benefit of a free bar and canapés in the evening . This is a good addition as alcohol is quite expensive. Johnny ensured your glass was never empty.

There was a good choice of food. We ate in all the restaurants but enjoyed the Chinese and the Italian the most.

There are plenty of activities at the hotel including daily Pilates and yoga sessions which my wife throughly enjoyed. The setting for these could not have been anymore perfect .

The pool was large and allowed for plenty of swimming but we were recommended not to swim in the sea. There were plenty of lifeguards who ensured all guests remained safe.

We would definitely stay at the hotel again and it would be perfect for all sorts of travellers from couples to young families as there are plenty of activities for all.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shangrila_TAH, General Manager at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Robert, thank you for your positive feedback. I am pleased that you and your partner had a comfortable stay and our dedicated colleague, Johnny, took good care of you during your stay. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in near future!
Sincerely,
Craig Powell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
1.5 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
15.6 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,976 reviews
11.8 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#12 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
Address: 20 Jalan Aru, Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A paradise for the senses surrounded by natural beautyA gentle breeze caresses your face as you wake to the sound of waves lapping the beach. The balcony opens up to an inspiring vista of sparkling coral islands and swaying of palm trees. Tunku Abdul Rahman Park, bordered by crystal clear waters and lush vegetation Sophistication surrounds you in a lavishly decorated suite inspired by Borneo’s rich cultural heritage. Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu, is a perfect tropical getaway, a luxurious tranquil retreat just a short drive from the city.Yet, excitement beckons as you set out to discover all Kota Kinabalu’s delights. Making your way to Kinabalu National Park, you are thrust into a jungle paradise of natural wonders, rugged landscapes and scenic beauty. From the Rafflesia, the largest flower in the world, to the famous Orangutans in their natural habitat, it only gets more breathtaking every step of the way.The afternoon is spent exploring the picturesque town of Kota Belud. As Sabah’s largest and most popular open market, you find gems of all sorts, ranging from handmade handicrafts to mouth-watering local delights like natural honey.Back at the resort, you look forward to a sunset cruise, which departs from STAR Marina, to catch Borneo's famous sunset. Not long after, you wind down at Coco-Joe’s Bar & Grill. Lounging atop one of the beach-dining platforms, over cocktails and a delectable seafood tower, you continue to enjoy the sound of overlapping waves on the shores of Sunset Beach. A pampering session at CHI, The Spa rounds off the day. With treatments based on traditional Asian healing philosophies, you lose yourself in an enchanted and indulgent journey, all on the resort’s private spa island.For every experience here, you are surrounded by natural beauty. And it all begins at Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Destinology and Agoda so you can book your Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Resort And Spa
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Resort
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Hotel
Shangri La Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing