We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best resort with the best pools and grass for relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 February 2014

This is entirely a good place to boost your mood when you see extensive fields of green grass (not a golf course) for you to step on, lie on, walk by and sunbathe. The kids areas must provide the kids family big fun while peaceful atmosphere for adults are well kept. The deep-enough pool is large to swim freely. The pool is also well managed to keep children away from adult-only zone. Every member of the family is allowed to enjoy their way in the resort. Most staff put on a smiling face while greeting. The Chief Chef (I guess) keep an good eye to see the food quality in the restaurant during breakfast and dinner time. However, the choice of food is not as good as those resort provided in Phuket. The quality of housekeeping can be more professional if they know the standard of those good resorts in Phuket.

Room Tip: Top of the balconies on the top floors are connected, thus, noise from the next room is clearly hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keungkeung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,865)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,488 - 1,494 of 3,865 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 7 nights in a Kinabalu Exc 1 bedroom suite, plenty of
for 2 adults & teenager, with access to club lounge which was fantastic! Had meals and drinks Coco Jo's and lobby lounge which were also good. Pools and gym were also great. Visited Rasa Risa to see orang-utans, ok but a bit pricey, I think it should be free for hotel guests. Our room was very clean and complimentary water & fruit was a nice touch and 2 room services a day was great. Would definitely stay here again if coming to the area. It is a shame that the local people don't have any awareness about looking after their own environment as the rubbish on the streets and waterways is appalling, and they are all such friendly people.

Stayed: January 2014
3  Thank LOR11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would definitely come back the only difference would be that next time it wouldn't be Chinese New Year. Nothing against the Chinese just that it was very busy and you had to be quick to get chairs around the pool etc. It is a great place for children with water playground, children's pool and games, crèche, special children's section for breakfast etc. Unfortunately we couldn't play golf at the Sutera Marina Course which we thought you could.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank JkayBusselton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights. It is a very nice family resort for the pool area is very large and is in a beautiful location. Staff were very friendly, rooms were clean, nice and complimentary Wi-Fi was offered. There were a lot of families with many children on holiday at this hotel....getting ready for the Chinese new year. Not much to do right outside of the hotel. Would highly recommend taking the shuttle to see the baby Orang Utan Rehabilitation center.

Room Tip: Request a room in the new wing of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nvlinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

My kids were enjoy three water slides there very much.
I love the STAR Lounge which gave me a good place to have showers after enjoyed the pools in the afternoon on checkout date even I were unable to get a late checkout.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank CHUN HOI C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

The food quality is not as good as other Shangrila hotels, the food served in Magellan is better.
The toilet in the Cafe Tatu was very dirty and smelly, disappointing experience.
Chinese food was ok if you're really hungry, but it's the worst one compared with the other Shangrila hotels.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
2  Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shangrila_TAH, General Manager at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Dear Joe, thank you for your review. We have taken note on your feedback regarding to the quality of food and cleanliness of the toilet at Café Tatu – these have been shared with the team for further improvement. We value your constructive comments for our continuous improvement and look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Craig Powell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

This hotel has excellent facilities (especially the swimming pool area) and the buffet breakfast is amazing! However, I got the feeling that they wanted to try to get every dollar they could out of me. Upon arrival, they charged my card RM900 ($300) to use in the hotel during my stay. I thought this was excessive since it was nearly the price that I paid for the hotel for 3 nights. I then had to fight at check out to have it refunded. They make you order your drinks before you are even allowed to sit down at the sunset bar and they wanted to charge us RM300 ($100) to check out 2 hours late. We also ate a their Italian restaurant (Peppinos) on our last night - it was very expensive by Malaysian standards ($100 for 2 course meal for 2 people) and the food was awful - definitely stay away and take a cab into town for your meals. Also, avoid the ice cream place - $10 (30RM) for a very lousy ice cream. Overall, the facilities were excellent, but the staff were rude and the impression that I had to keep paying them money left a bad taste in my mouth and for that, I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank Madbarn42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shangrila_TAH, General Manager at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Dear Madbarn42, thank you for your feedback. Whilst I am happy that you enjoyed our resort facilities during your stay, I am very concerned to learn of your comments on our staff service and prices at the resort. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience that you have endured during your recent stay - we will address the service issues that was brought to our attention. Pertaining to the price for food and beverages, we regularly review our prices to ensure we offer value for money. Feel free to email me directly at craig.powell@shangri-la.com if you would like to discuss in detail regarding your staying experience. Once again, thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.
Sincerely,
Craig Powell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
1.4 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
2.7 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,235 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#9 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,440 reviews
15.5 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
2.6 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa

Address: 20 Jalan Aru, Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £157 - £394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 492
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A paradise for the senses surrounded by natural beautyA gentle breeze caresses your face as you wake to the sound of waves lapping the beach. The balcony opens up to an inspiring vista of sparkling coral islands and swaying of palm trees. Tunku Abdul Rahman Park, bordered by crystal clear waters and lush vegetation Sophistication surrounds you in a lavishly decorated suite inspired by Borneo’s rich cultural heritage. Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu, is a perfect tropical getaway, a luxurious tranquil retreat just a short drive from the city.Yet, excitement beckons as you set out to discover all Kota Kinabalu’s delights. Making your way to Kinabalu National Park, you are thrust into a jungle paradise of natural wonders, rugged landscapes and scenic beauty. From the Rafflesia, the largest flower in the world, to the famous Orangutans in their natural habitat, it only gets more breathtaking every step of the way.The afternoon is spent exploring the picturesque town of Kota Belud. As Sabah’s largest and most popular open market, you find gems of all sorts, ranging from handmade handicrafts to mouth-watering local delights like natural honey.Back at the resort, you look forward to a sunset cruise, which departs from STAR Marina, to catch Borneo's famous sunset. Not long after, you wind down at Coco-Joe’s Bar & Grill. Lounging atop one of the beach-dining platforms, over cocktails and a delectable seafood tower, you continue to enjoy the sound of overlapping waves on the shores of Sunset Beach. A pampering session at CHI, The Spa rounds off the day. With treatments based on traditional Asian healing philosophies, you lose yourself in an enchanted and indulgent journey, all on the resort’s private spa island.For every experience here, you are surrounded by natural beauty. And it all begins at Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Resort And Spa
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Resort
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Hotel
Shangri La Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing