We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible experience at Peppino...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Terrible experience at Peppino...”
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

This was a trip for my brother's birthday but the dinner was disappointing. Food came too slow, but the worst part was that food quality was not as 'fine' as Peppino supposed to be. I really don't know what happened, but hope Shangri-la will upkeep the standard of the so called flagship restaurant of Peppino. Everything was good about the resort except for the disastrous dinner. By the way, I've never seen a wagyu steak as thin as my index finger, but cost RM160++. Cheap...

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank bondrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shangrila_TAH, General Manager at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear bondrabbit, thank you for your review. I am sorry to learn of your disappointing dining experience at Peppino and your comments have been shared with our Food and Beverage team for further improvement. Thank you again and and we sincerely hope that you will allow us the opportunity to serve you better in the future.
Sincerely,
Craig Powell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,042
    1,042
    334
    113
    77
See reviews for
1,242
1,365
89
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (781)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, Nsw
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2014

A great resort for a family holiday if kids are young enough to be entertained by swimming alone. The choice of restaurants is limited and the price of alcohol is prohibitive. The hotel is RM25 taxi fare from the centre of KK and therefore it is quite isolated from a real Malaysian experience. Otherwise, the service is brilliant, the facilities are great, and consequently the place is over-crowded.

Room Tip: Request non-smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Nedra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

For our purposes, a family resort holiday, this hotel fit the bill. If you are looking for a couples romantic break, stay away and go to Rasa Ria instead.

The hotel has new and old wings. the old wing is a bit crummy. We had a suite, which was enormous. The quality of the room, cleanliness and service were all impeccable. The place can get a bit noisy, but that's part of all the fun and atmosphere of being in a childrens' haven.

The entertainment for children of all ages is wonderfully plentiful, and is the main reason for coming to this resort. Slides, water cannons, a small beach and a large toddler play-area to keep the kids occupied. The food is pretty good as well, as is the clubhouse, which is a quiet haven for adults and serves light buffet snacks.

Food choices are not bad, though the buffet restaurant can get very busy and chaotic with screaming children and messy buffet containers picked through by families. The chinese restaurant was very good.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stinkaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We have just returned from, a fantastic 10 day stay in the Shangri La's Tangjung Aru Resort. The staff at the hotel made a our trip, we can not thank them enough. We will return.The sunset at the Sunset Bar is something not to be missed. A very beautiful place to relax and unwind.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Great see view, nice beach, food is OK. Might be very crowded at public holidays. try to get a quiet room/suite. Check out the local market 15 minutes down the road. great cheap food there. Call a metered taxi (pick up at "welcome sign"). Kids Club is really great. Cocktails are ok, sunsets are great.

Room Tip: Try to get an good see view. The ones that go to the gulf club are more quite but have half see view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank ArboreaTreefrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed here after our climb up Mt Kinabalu for some luxury. It was wonderful. The bed was the biggest I have ever seen so was the spread for breakfast. This was our first stay at a shangri-la and was very impressed. We arrived a little early for checking and we're taken to a lounge to wait which was very comfortable. My partner also said that the burger he had for room service was the best he had ever eaten.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1flora888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

This is the first time we stayed at a Shangri La hotel, and while I'm not generally a big fan of large hotels, I have to say that I am very pleased that we did stay here as it surpassed expectations. The whole ambience of the place, from the music to the decor made you feel you were somewhere exotic and special. As you would expect, the whole hotel was clean and litter free, check in was fast and smooth, as was check out. We had two interconnecting rooms for our family of 5, which were very spacious, no need for any children to share beds. We had booked club rooms, which turned out to be well worth it as the complimentary evening drinks and canapés in the club lounge actually provided an ideal evening meal as there was plenty of choice for every picky eater in the family, including vegetarians. Each evening a different selection of canapés was provided. We ate here for four evenings which was fine. There was a good range of both savoury and sweet food. The unlimited soft and alcoholic drinks were also great...my husband and I enjoyed our evenings in the lounge after the children went to bed. (After 6.30pm it is adults only, which was a much quieter, peaceful time!)
We ate lunch at the Cool Joe outdoor bar and grill once, which we enjoyed. The children loved the ice cream bar too. There is plenty of other places at the resort that you can eat.
The pools were clean, albeit very busy, especially earlier in the week when there were a lot of Chinese tourists there as it was the Chinese New Year holiday. We did not have to reserve chairs early though, we always found somewhere go sit. Waiters bring cold water, cool flannels and fruit to you occasionally.
All the staff we encountered were extremely helpful and friendly. This includes the club room, the maids, the concierge, the travel desk.
The only criticisms are very small ones: the club room was at full capacity during peak breakfast time and the staff found it difficult to cope, eg they would forget to bring your coffee. This was no problem as we knew where everything was and made it ourselves. I had poached eggs every morning which were usually skillfully cooked to perfection, but during peak time they were totally over cooked. The butter was kept in ice therefore unspreadable. Some of the individual mini jars of preserve had been opened and replaced on the tables, I had to search to find a new unopened portion of marmalade. These are very minor niggles though and did not detract from the overall attentiveness of the staff.
I had planned a full itinery for my family for our 4 day stay here, but in fact they enjoyed the hotel facilities so much that we ended up staying at the resort with a day trip to the Rasa Ria sister hotel ( which actually looked even better and more spacious, and fewer Chinese), we spent 2 afternoons island hopping, and a morning doing various water sports, all booked through the Star Marina, who were again extremely helpful.
There were lots of other activities available, yoga, children's activities, the gym and spa, which we didn't use.
The resort shop was reasonably priced, with a selection of souvenirs and snack food.
The beach was small, and the water ok but not brilliant, we only swam there once, preferring the pool.
In summary, a little busy whilst we were there, very helpful and well trained staff, excellent facilities. A very relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jacqueline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shangrila_TAH, General Manager at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Jacqueline E, thank you for staying with us during one of our busiest seasons of the year. Glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay and that we managed to exceed your expectations. Your comments with regards to our breakfast service are well noted. Please accept our sincere apologies for breakfast as it is the busiest hour of the day and we will certainly strive for further improvement. Thank you again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable experience in near future!
Sincerely,
Craig Powell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
1.5 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
15.5 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
2.7 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
11.9 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#14 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
Address: 20 Jalan Aru, Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A paradise for the senses surrounded by natural beautyA gentle breeze caresses your face as you wake to the sound of waves lapping the beach. The balcony opens up to an inspiring vista of sparkling coral islands and swaying of palm trees. Tunku Abdul Rahman Park, bordered by crystal clear waters and lush vegetation Sophistication surrounds you in a lavishly decorated suite inspired by Borneo’s rich cultural heritage. Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu, is a perfect tropical getaway, a luxurious tranquil retreat just a short drive from the city.Yet, excitement beckons as you set out to discover all Kota Kinabalu’s delights. Making your way to Kinabalu National Park, you are thrust into a jungle paradise of natural wonders, rugged landscapes and scenic beauty. From the Rafflesia, the largest flower in the world, to the famous Orangutans in their natural habitat, it only gets more breathtaking every step of the way.The afternoon is spent exploring the picturesque town of Kota Belud. As Sabah’s largest and most popular open market, you find gems of all sorts, ranging from handmade handicrafts to mouth-watering local delights like natural honey.Back at the resort, you look forward to a sunset cruise, which departs from STAR Marina, to catch Borneo's famous sunset. Not long after, you wind down at Coco-Joe’s Bar & Grill. Lounging atop one of the beach-dining platforms, over cocktails and a delectable seafood tower, you continue to enjoy the sound of overlapping waves on the shores of Sunset Beach. A pampering session at CHI, The Spa rounds off the day. With treatments based on traditional Asian healing philosophies, you lose yourself in an enchanted and indulgent journey, all on the resort’s private spa island.For every experience here, you are surrounded by natural beauty. And it all begins at Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Travelbag, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Resort And Spa
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Resort
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Hotel
Shangri La Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing