We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good functional hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We spent one night there in February leaving for the airport at 0500 the next morning. We ordered breakfast and a packed meal was ready for us at that early hour. The room was clean and functional and the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimPamRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,885)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,480 - 1,486 of 3,885 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

The staff at this resort are so incredibly accommodating, friendly & genuine. The facilities were certainly five star! Great food!! Angie at Guest Services helped make our stay super exceptional! In check in, our room was a bit cosy for the three of us for ten days, so Angie helped to upgrade us to a suite! Highly recommend the upgrade!!! The rooms over the ocean are spectacular! Duncan at the executive club was just the best!! So friendly & always helpful!! Ending the day on the 6th floor with a drink & smiley staff was so relaxing!!! The complimentary snorkel trip each morning is a must!!! It takes you around Mamutik island! I have lived in the Great Barrier Reef & this is the best snorkeling I have ever done. The team at the STAR marina were also way beyond expectations! Angie continued to make our stay brilliant by organising rose petals for our wedding anniversary & even waited for us with a card from the team at check out! Angie, you are such a star! Thanks so much!! Fantastic food, the best water slide fun I've had in years! I've worked in resorts & hotels for more than ten years, and this resort was the best ever!!! Thanks Shangri La Tanjung Aru!

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank Mandamoody1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This is our third visit to the Shangri- la Tanjung Aru
A very well run resort with great staff and facilities, the staff always take great pride in their work and always try to excel at what they do
This hotel is a very warm and inviting place that is professionally run...
It is setup for both family groups and couples looking for a romantic getaway


  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a week with the family. The rooms in the Tanjung wing are nice. Ask for one facing the sunset, preferably above the first floor (more mosquito activity on the lower floors). Rooms we stayed in were spacious and clean.

The water slides are great for entertaining the kids.

The food was fairly average. The buffet meal had good range but were lacking in quality.

Staff were friendly and helpful.

Snorkeling was good without being exceptional. Visibility wasn't the best while we were there, so we cancelled our diving. Apparently diving at Sandakan is much better (according to the locals).

The local zoo/animal park was good. If you visit at around 1pm you'll get to see the feeding if the animals which happens sequentially, followed by an animal show.

Don't waste your time flying to sandakan for the day to visit the orangutan rehab centre. It is way too much effort and time for very little reward.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank Tai_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed at the Tanjung Aru for 2 nights on arrival to Borneo. We arrived on a morning flight so we had to wait a little while for our room to become available. However once we were shown it we were not disappointed, a large mountain view room on he ground floor. The room was a little tried but very clean. The food in the hotel was good with a large choice at the buffet breakfast and evening meal.

Good place to stay as it is near the airport when you first arrive in Kota Kinabalu.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahanddarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Nothing I can say would adequately explain how wonderful our experience of staying at STAR is. Everything is top class.
We love this resort. That is why we keep returning.
We are greeted with "welcome home" and we are made to feel like it is our second home.
Congratulations and thank you to management and all staff for being the best.
We'll be back.
The only thing we find concerning is the people who can't swim but insist on going into the deep pool. The provision of life jackets is aesthetically unpleasant and they don't prevent mishaps. We saw two people almost drown during our stay.
Please!! If you can't swim -stay out of the deep pool.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesnmuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We spent to weeks around Borneo, and flew home from Kota Kinabalu, so we decided to stay at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort and relax for a few days before our trip back home. We did not have a reservation, since originally we were unsure of where to end our trip, and before staying here we had been in the jungle without internet and telephones. However, we decided to see if there would be any rooms available, and took a taxi from the airport to the resort. Unfortunately they were full for the first night, but they did have rooms available for the next day, so we made a booking.

We came back after noon on the next day, and were greeted by very friendly staff members. Upon check-in we were informed that we had been upgraded to the executive suite. Totally unexpected, but of course we were very, very delighted about this! The suite was huge, with a living room and dining area, bedroom and two bathrooms. There were fresh flowers in every room, a huge basket of fruits, different varieties of loose leaf tea, coffee table books etc. The bed was also huge, and super comfortable. We also had a big balcony with sun beds and a nice sea view.

The service was perfect at all times during our stay. Everybody greeted us with nice smiles, our room was very well looked after, and we had everything we needed at all times. I was also delighted to read about the green policies of the hotel (reusable water bottles, not changing sheets every day if so requested by placing a small card on the bed, biodegradable materials etc.) My only "complaint" would be that even though we hung up our towels the were replaced with new ones, which wouldn't have been necessary.

The hotel swimming pool area is also great, with an adults only section and an infinity pool. The spa is wonderful, situated on a small island, with private villas for the treatments, very professional staff and a relaxing environment. We had breakfast at Cafe TATU, where the variety is huge an of good quality. The only downside is that it gets a bit noisy with so many customers, but this wasn't a major concern.

All in all, a perfect ending to our holiday, and truly a five star experience!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kahki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
2.7 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,267 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#9 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,456 reviews
15.5 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
2.6 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa

Address: 20 Jalan Aru, Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £155 - £364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 492
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A paradise for the senses surrounded by natural beautyA gentle breeze caresses your face as you wake to the sound of waves lapping the beach. The balcony opens up to an inspiring vista of sparkling coral islands and swaying of palm trees. Tunku Abdul Rahman Park, bordered by crystal clear waters and lush vegetation Sophistication surrounds you in a lavishly decorated suite inspired by Borneo’s rich cultural heritage. Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu, is a perfect tropical getaway, a luxurious tranquil retreat just a short drive from the city.Yet, excitement beckons as you set out to discover all Kota Kinabalu’s delights. Making your way to Kinabalu National Park, you are thrust into a jungle paradise of natural wonders, rugged landscapes and scenic beauty. From the Rafflesia, the largest flower in the world, to the famous Orangutans in their natural habitat, it only gets more breathtaking every step of the way.The afternoon is spent exploring the picturesque town of Kota Belud. As Sabah’s largest and most popular open market, you find gems of all sorts, ranging from handmade handicrafts to mouth-watering local delights like natural honey.Back at the resort, you look forward to a sunset cruise, which departs from STAR Marina, to catch Borneo's famous sunset. Not long after, you wind down at Coco-Joe’s Bar & Grill. Lounging atop one of the beach-dining platforms, over cocktails and a delectable seafood tower, you continue to enjoy the sound of overlapping waves on the shores of Sunset Beach. A pampering session at CHI, The Spa rounds off the day. With treatments based on traditional Asian healing philosophies, you lose yourself in an enchanted and indulgent journey, all on the resort’s private spa island.For every experience here, you are surrounded by natural beauty. And it all begins at Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Resort And Spa
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Resort
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Hotel
Shangri La Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing