We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, less than average food and service. Not what we expected of a Shang”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
outoftowner
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced, less than average food and service. Not what we expected of a Shang”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Three stars is generous. The hotel has such potential - a great waterside location, great facilities and hundreds of staff. However, the hotel seems to know that anyone ordering food or beverages here is a captive audience, hence service is at best slow and uniformed, and the food is disappointing. On average after ordering at Coco Jo's, our drinks took at least 20 mins to arrive, food much longer The staff just don't seem to get it. A real pity. We stayed in the Kinabalu wing. The room facilities were basic - no coffee machine or sound dock, very basic toiletries, mini bar was not stocked on arrival, bathroom was very small for a hotel charging these sorts of prices. The soundproofing was also poor. We were hoping for a decent night's sleep but could hear every time someone walked past the room. Unfortunately there is currently no real competition in Kota Kinabalu for either of the Shangs and they clearly rest on their laurels knowing this.

Room Tip: Unfortunately they have a strictly no free upgrade policy, so you will have to pay extra for it,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank outoftownwer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,069
    1,048
    335
    115
    79
See reviews for
1,256
1,381
90
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (785)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

this hotel is perfect, our family are world travellers, we arrived at the shangrila tanjung aru in kota kinabalu in borneo on the 4th of april 2014, we stayed in a suite room248, the room was huge with a sweeping balcony over looking the sea and islands. the hotel staff were wonderful they made our holiday, always greeting us with a smile, i must mention the cafe tatu manager Abdul Majid Mohd Gullam, who made our stay perfect. . his hard work and dedication must be applauded; thankyou, i would recommend this hotel,

Room Tip: we chose a quiet suite and it was lovely and quiet, 248
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susielyly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Some great things here, like the friendliness of the staff but the air conditioner in our room leaked badly creating puddles on the floor that we had to wade through. This happened three times in our one week stay, twice at 2:30 in the morning. The first time we waited two hours for someone to come, which they only did after a second visit to the desk. Not good enough and not acceptable in. 5 star resort. It is now 3:00am, they have drained it again and left. Luckily we leave in the morning. Room 201 is jinxed.

Room Tip: The water park is great for kids but be aware they squeal shrilly all the time (not always outside a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Durry49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We had the best experience at this hotel. The child friendliest hotel we've ever stayed at. My son enjoyed all the activities for kids and had the time of his life enjoying the swimming pool. Food was great, service at its finest and the view was breathtaking from sunrise to sunset. We enjoyed taking photos at every corner of the hotel to capture its beauty. We will definitely comeback!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Aivy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

1. Room 9220 has an cigarette odour upon entering
2. Carpet not very clean(some areas ok, some not)
3. Toitet show not properly clean as hairs still sticking on the walls from previous guests
4. Balcony dirty if not wearing shoes

Asked for a baby stroller, but reception informed that housekeeping did not answer the call at that point of time. No follow up calls were being made to us.

Other than that, rooms and bed clean and no complaints. Hotel facilities are fantastic and breakfast is marvellous, even though can be like a night market. Lastly, rooms and hotel lobby look a bit tired and little old.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank najieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I stayed there after climbing Kinabalu mountain. It's a very nice resort and the sunset bar is amazing. the may be off point for some people is that it's very child friendly and there are children everywhere. However we were four guys and this didn't bother us at all.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HKFrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean Grove
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

After a week exploring the jungle near Sandakan we arrived here anticipating a week of rest and luxury and we were not disappointed. From our arrival to departure we were delighted with the staff, facilities and location of this resort.
We enjoyed eating in Pepino twice and used the lounge as part of our package.
The pool is outstanding and having an area away from kids for adults is a great provision. The sunset from the Sunset Bar is a must!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank macOceanGrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
1.5 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,390 reviews
15.5 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
2,034 reviews
11.9 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#13 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,314 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
Address: 20 Jalan Aru, Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A paradise for the senses surrounded by natural beautyA gentle breeze caresses your face as you wake to the sound of waves lapping the beach. The balcony opens up to an inspiring vista of sparkling coral islands and swaying of palm trees. Tunku Abdul Rahman Park, bordered by crystal clear waters and lush vegetation Sophistication surrounds you in a lavishly decorated suite inspired by Borneo’s rich cultural heritage. Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu, is a perfect tropical getaway, a luxurious tranquil retreat just a short drive from the city.Yet, excitement beckons as you set out to discover all Kota Kinabalu’s delights. Making your way to Kinabalu National Park, you are thrust into a jungle paradise of natural wonders, rugged landscapes and scenic beauty. From the Rafflesia, the largest flower in the world, to the famous Orangutans in their natural habitat, it only gets more breathtaking every step of the way.The afternoon is spent exploring the picturesque town of Kota Belud. As Sabah’s largest and most popular open market, you find gems of all sorts, ranging from handmade handicrafts to mouth-watering local delights like natural honey.Back at the resort, you look forward to a sunset cruise, which departs from STAR Marina, to catch Borneo's famous sunset. Not long after, you wind down at Coco-Joe’s Bar & Grill. Lounging atop one of the beach-dining platforms, over cocktails and a delectable seafood tower, you continue to enjoy the sound of overlapping waves on the shores of Sunset Beach. A pampering session at CHI, The Spa rounds off the day. With treatments based on traditional Asian healing philosophies, you lose yourself in an enchanted and indulgent journey, all on the resort’s private spa island.For every experience here, you are surrounded by natural beauty. And it all begins at Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travel Republic (UK), Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Travelbag, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Resort And Spa
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Resort
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Hotel
Shangri La Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing