We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bed bugs!! No formal apology.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bed bugs!! No formal apology.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stays here for 5 nights because of a company conference held on the premises. First night- woke in the middle of the night with itchy red rashes on my face and neck, so I thought it was mosquito bites. Second night, noticed the bites were on my legs, so no longer thinking the cause was mosquitoes, I turned the sheets and found bed bugs!! Smashed one of them(took a picture and shown here), and complained to the staff.

The management got the pest controller in, confirmed the case, checked through my belongings to make sure the bugs didn't get into my stuff, moved me to another room, and sealed off the infested room.
While the staff who helped me to move my things was apologetic and got me some anti-itch cream, there was no formal or written apology from the hotel. No waiver of the charges for those 2 nights. Got the full billing invoice with the usual"Thank you and please provide a review for us on tripadvisor".

Room Tip: Just avoid this place! There is another 5-star resort just up the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dfl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shangrila_TAH, General Manager at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear dfl123, thank you so much for your honest feedback. Please accept my sincere apologies for your disappointing stay experience. The comfort of our guests have always been our priority and our guestrooms are periodically fumigated and monitored by our housekeeping team to ensure they remain in pristine condition. I will be personally attending to this matter to ensure it does not reoccur. Once again, thank you for your comments and I hope we will have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,013
    1,020
    327
    111
    76
See reviews for
1,218
1,341
87
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (764)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Wow what a great hotel, from the minute you enter the hotel you are made to feel so welcome. The staff are outstanding and and so attentive. The room we had in the Kinabalu wing was spacious clean and very comfortable with great views of both the sea and Mount Kota Kinabalu. We had use of the club suite were once again the staff were friendly helpful always greeting you with a smile. The pool area was lovely having both a family and adults only area. We went to see the orang utans at Rasa Ria this was organised by the hotel and was very enjoyable.I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to others only wish I could have stayed longer .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 48lynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed at the Shangri-la Tanjung Aru in Kota Kinabalu for a week as a short break. Direct flights from Perth made it our choice as well as good recommendations from friends. This is a great place to stay and the staff were excellent and very friendly. We would strongly recommend the 'Club' bookings and as the rooms are on the top floors and the club benefits are worth it. Shuttle bus to the sister hotel to see the Uragutans is a good trip.

Room Tip: Room 9626 has views of both the mountains and the sea, also at the end of the block so less chance o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald and Barb... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

The staff at this resort need to be commended on their outstanding service. We stayed with my family 2 adults and 2 children for 8 nights and could have easily stayed for another 8. We experienced a heart felt welcome from all the staff. The resort caters for families with children. We stayed in the Tanjung Wing and had a king size bed, a single bed and a cot in the one room. The rooms were fairly big and led out to a good size balcony. My 6 year old used the Cool Zone which offered great facilities and the staff were very attentive. The pool area with the various slides is great for the children. The resort also has an adults only pool for those wanting peace and quiet. Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
2 Thank erks40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
97 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Staying in Tanjung Aru gives you a mixed feeling of a natural and modern habitat. It was a very beautiful place and we will be sure to stay there again. Also it is a beautiful place for a couple getaway considering that you are able to watch a beautiful twilight as the sun sets. The staff were also very respectful and friendly.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JasminWeigelS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Not quite 5 star but what a beautiful hotel, we upgraded to the Kinabalu Club which gave us access to the Kinabalu Club...well worth the money. The hotel staff were just lovely, they couldn't do enough for us.
We loved the location and were fortunate to pick a quiet time for the hotel so we had the pool, gym etc virtually to ourselves. The adults area around the pool is an excellent idea and good to see it enforced by the pool attendants. The hotel is in a fantastic location, we took advantage of having the marina close by and took a trip out to the islands, again we were extremely well looked after as guests of the Shangri-La. I would definitely recommend a trip over to the islands.

We also went to the Rasa Ria to see the orang-utans, this was a very well organised trip using the hotel bus, we were able to use the hotels facilities for a couple of hours which was very comfortable though i would definitely stay at the Tanjung again as its close to the town which has a great night market, good simple restaurants and a few lively bars. Just good to experience the local culture.

Our room was on the 7th floor with a spectacular view over the South China Sea, It is not sparkling but very comfortable and we had no complaints with the amenities in the room. The television didn't go on once in five days!

All in all a great place to relax and take in some spectacular scenery with access to the local culture which is what going to Asia is all about. We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SimonCamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Highlights, of course the Perfect sunset, infinity pool, CHI spa & massage and delicious cuisine. Enjoyed each stay before and looking forward 3rd stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
1.5 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
15.6 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,978 reviews
11.8 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#12 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
Address: 20 Jalan Aru, Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A paradise for the senses surrounded by natural beautyA gentle breeze caresses your face as you wake to the sound of waves lapping the beach. The balcony opens up to an inspiring vista of sparkling coral islands and swaying of palm trees. Tunku Abdul Rahman Park, bordered by crystal clear waters and lush vegetation Sophistication surrounds you in a lavishly decorated suite inspired by Borneo’s rich cultural heritage. Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu, is a perfect tropical getaway, a luxurious tranquil retreat just a short drive from the city.Yet, excitement beckons as you set out to discover all Kota Kinabalu’s delights. Making your way to Kinabalu National Park, you are thrust into a jungle paradise of natural wonders, rugged landscapes and scenic beauty. From the Rafflesia, the largest flower in the world, to the famous Orangutans in their natural habitat, it only gets more breathtaking every step of the way.The afternoon is spent exploring the picturesque town of Kota Belud. As Sabah’s largest and most popular open market, you find gems of all sorts, ranging from handmade handicrafts to mouth-watering local delights like natural honey.Back at the resort, you look forward to a sunset cruise, which departs from STAR Marina, to catch Borneo's famous sunset. Not long after, you wind down at Coco-Joe’s Bar & Grill. Lounging atop one of the beach-dining platforms, over cocktails and a delectable seafood tower, you continue to enjoy the sound of overlapping waves on the shores of Sunset Beach. A pampering session at CHI, The Spa rounds off the day. With treatments based on traditional Asian healing philosophies, you lose yourself in an enchanted and indulgent journey, all on the resort’s private spa island.For every experience here, you are surrounded by natural beauty. And it all begins at Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Destinology, Southall Travel and Hotels.com so you can book your Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Resort And Spa
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Resort
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Hotel
Shangri La Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing