We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Luckily stayed here for two nights at the end of our 10 days in Sabah, because it was definitely the highlight, accommodation wise. I cannot speak highly enough of the place. Wonderful staff who could not be more accommodating with any request. Nothing was too much trouble. We did go to the expense of a club room and I'm pleased to say it was worth every cent. The free drinks and plentiful finger food was actually enough to substitute for dinner. Would not have liked to have breakfast at Tatu, the only other breakfast venue in site (other than room service) - although the range of food choices was amazing, it was very busy. I think they need another cafe on the grounds to spread out the volume of guests. The sunset bar was fabulous but a tad expensive e.g. 26myr++ for cocktails. Still you get what you pay for and we definitely loved our time in this idyllic location and felt thoroughly spoilt. Hard to beat.

Room Tip: Club Seaview if you can splurge. Club mountain view also view over car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,725 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,108
    1,074
    341
    120
    82
See reviews for
1,299
1,406
92
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (797)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Overall experience was acceptable.

1) Room was ready when we check in. Spare bed was uncomfortable to sleep in as you can feel the spring. Stay in Kinabalu sea view and managed to catch the beautiful sunset.

2) Meals
Morning breakfast was a busy one, I am prepared as I read other reviews. The variety are the same throughout our stay for 4 nights.
We ate at twice Shang Palace the food was delicious. The varieties at other restaurant was minimal so we didn't step in.
We order once room service ... food was alright.

2) Lobby lounge.
Had a cocktail at lobby lounge one of the night and it was bad, tasteless.
Most probably was unlucky that night to have a lousy bar tender.

2) Kids Facilities.
Resort is very family oriented. Tatu restaurant has special kids corner with plastic utensils and a kiddy play area.
Cool Zone has fixed timetable to follow which my boys don't like.
Water play's ground mat was damaged and not replaced.

3) Beach.
It was full of stones, rocks and dead corals which cut my son's feet.
Not many ppl use it as you can see why.

My conclusion is always read reviews that more or less you are mentally prepare for it.

Room Tip: Away from lifts if you wish to have quieter corridor but it also means you need to walk further. Kin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

I am writing this review to express my utmost gratitude to Mr Hakim, the duty manager at the tanjung aru resort, as his actions with my family portrayed extreme thoughtfulness and care. What happened to us is that my 2 boys came down with a bad cold / flu on the last day of our visit to the resort. I called the guest services to inquire about hospitals / doctors in kota Kinabalu. To my surprise , I found mr hakim calling us back in the room after 5 minutes letting us know that he has arranged for an appointment for our kids at the local clinic and that he will provide us with a private car to take us there , wait for us and bring us back. Not only so, he also went to extra lengths to make my kids comfortable by providing us with complimentary fruits , drinks , rice pudding and other foods to make them feel better. I really appreciate what he has personally done for us to comfort us during this difficult time. A big thank you !

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amira E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shangrila_TAH, General Manager at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Amira E, thank you so much for your wonderful comment on our Duty Manager, Hakim. The welfare of our staff and guests have always remained our highest priority and I will personally ensure Hakim receives your message. I am sure it will make his day! Thank you and please visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We had a Suite with Club access, Club gives you food and soft drinks most of the day and from 4.30-8.30 as much Alcohol as you want , staff are excellent , Rooms are very good, Could do with more pool Boys/Girls for drinks around the pool , food anywhere in the hotel was very good,
My next vist to the East, i Will only be looking up Shangri-la hotels, Stayed in 3 over this trip and all excellent ,

Room Tip: stayed in 9513 sea veiw suite, lovely view, Get a room with Club access if you like a few drinks an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank murphy94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My wife and I have relations in Kota Kinabalu, they booked us into the best hotel they new of, for a 7 night stay.
Our ocean view room was hot, we were moved to another, never got below 25 degrees.
Got a pedestal fan , life was bearable.
Staff were helpful, place was clean, except nearby beaches, I wouldn't go in the sea unless skin sores, you seek.
Over priced for an old hotel , foyer, bar and lounge area unbearably hot, food just OK.
Sorry to be negative but, it ain't as good as promoted.

Room Tip: Lower floor suite, facing golf course maybe best option, away from noise and good veiw. Downside ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shangrila_TAH, General Manager at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Neil J, I am truly sorry to hear of your poor stay experience with us. As a resort located beside the South China Sea, I'm afraid the tropical humidity in Borneo can be an unpleasant and uncomfortable experience for some travelers. I hope you still managed to enjoy your stay with us and we look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This hotel is probably one of the nicest property in KK. Good location, good facilities. Breakfast was food, CHI spa was excellent. But the service did not meet our expectation at all. At check-in, the process was so long. Worse still, there was no proper queue and we arrived second in line and they kept "inviting" people who arrived later than us to go to other counters to check-in and we ended up waiting till everyone was taken off then we got checked in. Not to say we were their only Golden Circle member in the entire queue. Check-out was faster but they said the bill will be emailed to me and up till now, I still did not receive the email. I sent email query to hotel and got no reply. Sorry, the service aspect is definitely not Shangri-la standard.

Room Tip: Ocean view room is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheepo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shangrila_TAH, General Manager at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Sheepo, thank you for your feedback. Please accept our sincerest apologies for your disappointing check in experience. As a member of our Golden Circle Club we value your patronage and I have personally ensured your comment is related to the department concerned for their investigation and improvement. Once again, thank you for writing to us and hope you will give us the opportunity to be your hosts in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014

excellent hotel for family and couple
clean and staff very oblige and helful

We stayed at this hotel 4 time and every one where beautiful. hotel not far from town and the food was excellent . children water park was so nice even we had no children we where amuse to see what the hotel did for family

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Leclercq M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
1.5 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
15.5 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
2.7 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#5 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,443 reviews
11.9 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#12 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,348 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
Address: 20 Jalan Aru, Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A paradise for the senses surrounded by natural beautyA gentle breeze caresses your face as you wake to the sound of waves lapping the beach. The balcony opens up to an inspiring vista of sparkling coral islands and swaying of palm trees. Tunku Abdul Rahman Park, bordered by crystal clear waters and lush vegetation Sophistication surrounds you in a lavishly decorated suite inspired by Borneo’s rich cultural heritage. Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu, is a perfect tropical getaway, a luxurious tranquil retreat just a short drive from the city.Yet, excitement beckons as you set out to discover all Kota Kinabalu’s delights. Making your way to Kinabalu National Park, you are thrust into a jungle paradise of natural wonders, rugged landscapes and scenic beauty. From the Rafflesia, the largest flower in the world, to the famous Orangutans in their natural habitat, it only gets more breathtaking every step of the way.The afternoon is spent exploring the picturesque town of Kota Belud. As Sabah’s largest and most popular open market, you find gems of all sorts, ranging from handmade handicrafts to mouth-watering local delights like natural honey.Back at the resort, you look forward to a sunset cruise, which departs from STAR Marina, to catch Borneo's famous sunset. Not long after, you wind down at Coco-Joe’s Bar & Grill. Lounging atop one of the beach-dining platforms, over cocktails and a delectable seafood tower, you continue to enjoy the sound of overlapping waves on the shores of Sunset Beach. A pampering session at CHI, The Spa rounds off the day. With treatments based on traditional Asian healing philosophies, you lose yourself in an enchanted and indulgent journey, all on the resort’s private spa island.For every experience here, you are surrounded by natural beauty. And it all begins at Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelbag, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Ebookers, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Resort And Spa
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Resort
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Hotel
Shangri La Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing