We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Grandis(Kota Kinabalu)
US$161
US$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Horizon Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
US$99
US$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu(Kota Kinabalu)
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$275
US$159
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Borneo Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
US$53
US$43
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$48
US$44
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown Borneo Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
US$28
US$24
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sixty3(Kota Kinabalu)
US$100
US$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Eden54(Kota Kinabalu)(Great Value!)
US$43
US$40
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$63
US$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,929)
Filter reviews
3,929 results
Traveller rating
2,215
1,124
370
126
94
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,215
1,124
370
126
94
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskinabalu wingsunset barkinabalu clubcafe tatucoco joeschi spastar marinawater slidesborneo loungehorizon clubsister hotelpitch and puttkids clubinfinity poola mountain view roomclub roomlife guards
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,338 - 1,343 of 3,929 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We were last here 30 years ago, and, OK, the hotel has doubled in size, but it is on a peninsular so we knew it wasn't going to be overlooked, or be part of an ongoing development as seen around some of the other hotels along the coast. From start to finish all of the staff, without exception, could not have been more helpful, welcoming and polite - always with a beaming smile. The rooms were great, the pools and beach clean and well supervised (the beach was raked in the morning), and the staff at the marina knowledgeable when venturing on to paddle boards or going over to the coral island to snorkel. Hotel staff were on hand on the island to assist, with Osman in charge - safe hands.
Overall the restaurants were excellent (particularly the Shang Palace), and breakfast was a bustling multicultural affair with food from Europe and Asia - you don't know if you like it unless you try it!
The only thing we can think of that marred to week was a packet of crisps were left out of my daughter's picnic lunch box when we went over to the coral island.
Check out was a breeze, we were concerned that we would be turfed out at noon, when our flight didn't leave until 8pm, but we were given complimentary membership of the Star Lounge, with lockers, changing rooms with showers and tea and coffee, so we could continue to use the facilities until we left for the airport.
Would we go back again? In a heart beat!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The Shangri-La Tanjung Aru resort deserves its high ratings. It is a very well-run hotel and the management’s eye for detail is obvious. This hotel is fine for a romantic break and it also caters very well to families with young children with lots of activities around the pool (including 2 water slides) and at the watersports centre. There is not much of a beach to speak of but it is ok and there are regular trips out to the beautiful islands off shore where the beaches are lovely. The hotel grounds are immaculate and verdant and the rooms are large (we were upgraded to a huge suite) and sound-proof. The hotel is very close to town if you fancy a change of scene and there are plenty of shops and good places to eat there. Dining at the hotel was good. Breakfast is excellent and Peppino produced some surprisingly good food.
The negatives – Difficult to think of any major ones. Having carpet in the room is a bit unhygienic. It would be nicer if they just had tiled floors, particularly in that heat. Also, the Shang Palace Chinese restaurant was disappointing. Both the food and service were poor. Those two things aside this is a really great hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mattylad1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This was a weeks stay which was recommended by my daughter and son in law. Our expectations were high and were more than met. The accommodation and facilities were superb, but the highlight was the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff which made our break very enjoyable. Definitely a five star experience.

PS. We didn't use the spa which is the reason I haven't rated it below.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here before and after our climb of Mount Kinabalu. Beyond doubt the outstanding part of our stay was the friendly and caring staff who went above and beyond to help us. We were offered a ride to/from Kinabalu Park for our climb by a friendly and helpful waiter who we got chatting to at breakfast. Our luggage was stored at the hotel while climbing and on our return we were welcomed with open arms and a huge congratulations. When our son fell ill, the staff at the hotel went above and beyond to help us - arranging medical attention, transport to/from hospital, extending our stay without disruptions, making phone calls on our behalf to rearrange our itinerary and kind words and gestures from all.
Although it was the staff who
made our stay so wonderful, the hotel itself was also fantastic. It's a 15 minute taxi trip to downtown Kinabalu, a 5 minute walk to First Beach hawker market and 15 minutes to the airport. The Sunset Bar and Below the Wind Massage were highlights - especially on our return from the climb!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deborah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

My husband and I have always wanted to visit Borneo. We were looking forward to spending an exotic week close to nature, hearing the noises of the rain forest. The main noise we heard all holiday was screaming kids! What we actually got is a hotel that could be anywhere in the world. It's perfect for families with small children if you just want to hang out by the pool (assuming you can find a space to sit down). If you want to see Borneo, it's not great. It feels more like a compound than a luxury hotel. The whole place is designed to keep you in and spending all your money at the hotel rather than adventuring out. Kota Kinabalu and the surrounding areas are really built up and not at all pretty or charming. If your coming to Borneo for the wildlife, don't come here........you just as well go to centre parks!

Room Tip: If you're coming to Borneo to be close to nature, don't choose this hotel!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jared l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews