We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good, can be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Very good, can be better”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Big fans and users of Shangri-La hotels...had our wedding reception there a few years back. Had booked suite in Kinabalu wing, club. Agreed upon arrival to upgrade (with cost) to a larger suite in Tanjung wing far from the recently added and super noisy kids pools/slides area. Hotel has clearly aged...it shows everywhere. Room was not the quietest but ok. We could hear lots of noise from the corridors backing the living room and the bedroom (people and trolleys). Great view from the terrace, ground floor. Loved it except for the lawnmower at 08:30 when you are sleeping. We loved our stay...and KK is home to us in many ways. But the majority of the current crowd using the hotel is unrefined, loud, unpleasant, rude...it is by far not a 5 star hotel crowd. Pools are overcrowded in the mornings, breakfast area is like the subway at 6PM and patrons are just unruly, pilling food on their plates that is half wasted for most. This is a big change from our last stay a few years back...and very different from the S-L Boracay (last August for 10 nights) or the S-L Makati for instance. Otherwise, food is ok overall. Not great, in any of e outlets. Staff is super! And soooo patient...great guest relations lady (Golden Circle desk)! The kids pools/slides area is nice but already wears down and does smell of pee. Conclusion : lovely but overcrowded with unrefined patrons.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Steph2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,040
    1,041
    333
    113
    77
See reviews for
1,242
1,361
89
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (779)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Penang
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Customer service was very good. Injured myself during the trip and hotel was extremely accomodating taking me to the doctor and then hospital. Many thanks to Nurul Service Manager at Rasa Ria and drivers including Geoffrey from Tanjung Aru. Despite injury, service and amentities offered by Tanjung Aru made for a pleasant and enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank V T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We have had the good fortune to stay in several five star hotels over the last few years. While this resort has some areas for improvement, overall we found this to be of a high standard and a pleasant experience.

Here are the good points of staying at this hotel:

1) the staff are extremely friendly and welcoming- the service we received was on a par with luxury hotels such as Sandy Lane and the Sandpiper in Barbados. Essentially, the staff made this resort special.
2) good recreational facilities- we played tennis and pitch and putt for free every day. Additional touches such as a basket with towels, rackets and cold water provided, complimentary, were appreciated.
3) for a five star hotel, the restaurant and room service/poolside bar prices were extremely reasonable. Less than £10 per person for lunch and around £20 for an evening meal (wine excluded.)
4) good location and access to the airport and to KK. (10 minutes/£6 for a taxi.)


Certain areas of the hotel can be busy, it being Western and Chinese school holidays, but it is really not a major problem, rather a minor irritation. We were always able to find space around the pool, regardless of the time of day. True, the layout and organisation at breakfast could be improved. It can get quite busy at certain times in the morning. However, with a rota structure or different layout, this could be easily improved, and is not a serious problem as it stands.


Overall, we would recommend this hotel as a base to visit Borneo. Due to its proximity to the city, you can maintain your independence from the hotel, in contrast to the secluded location of the Rasa Ria, where we also stayed during the trip. We found that this hotel lived up to our high expectations of the Shangri La group.

Room Tip: We stayed in an ocean view room which was quiet and spacious;worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom131986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Was supposed to stay on the Tanjung Aru Seaview King but was so happy we took the upsell and changed to a Kinabalu Wing Club Room. The rate difference is so worth it.

Very good service, awesome personalized greeting for our anniversary and great amenties.

The whole resort is a WOW! Hope to return soon!

Room Tip: Book a room on the Kinabalu Wing and high floor to have a good view of the resort and more quiet are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank MaeCanuday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Had quite a pleasant stay at the room of the horizon club floor early this year. The room was clean and confy. Love their beach and views from room. A good place to relax when ones wish to laze around and enjoy vacations with calm and peace.

Am a member of the hotel group and have been staying in the hotel several times.

But there was a bad experience this time that we were not allowed to use the horizon club lounge for afternoon tea one day. According to the staff who blocked our way that they would only serve families with kids during certain afternoon tea hours (4pm??) That was indeed rude and humiliating. It is clearly a zero guest-friendly approach and the big let down part of the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Win555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happy Valley, Hong Kong
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The quality of service, food and cleanliness at this hotel was not what we expected from the Shangri-La brand. We had to make numerous complaints and requests for even basic things such as room service menus.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank K W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shangrila_TAH, General Manager at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear K W, please accept my sincere apologies for your poor stay experience. Could you kindly write to me at craig.powell@shangri-la.com with more information on your stay for our investigation and further improvement. Thank you and I look forward to hearing from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We came here just after climbing mount Kinabalu looking for a bit of luxury. Like any Shangri-La property, it delivered.

We had an admittedly dreadful experience in the restaurant Peppino, beginning with the waiter asking us if we were sure we wanted the bottle of champagne we had ordered because it was "very expensive"; it wasn't expensive enough to pull that. The foie gras and steak pizza I ordered came with three tiny pieces of overcooked and tough foie gras. When I asked to see the manager, the head chef came to our table instead. A rude a brusque man, he mad no apology whatsoever, told me exactly how much in weight of each of the two billed ingredients were supposed to come on the pizza, and that they gave me new properly cooked pieces of foie gras, so what was my issue.

After several unsuccessful requests to see the manager, we left without signing the bill informing the staff we would do so as soon as the manager spoke with us and gave them our room number. Coincidentally, he arrived three seconds later as we were walking through the lobby.

I wish I remembered his name, because when the manager did arrive, he was great, and it is because of him I give the hotel as high a rating as I do. He listened to all of our issues and concerns, and he noted that the hotel is not just a place to sleep, but they pride themselves on the overall experience. He was sorry they had not been able to provide that experience and took care of our dinner.

Things will go wrong, but the most important thing is the recovery, and this hotel clearly values its guests.

I should also note, the food was delicious, so the chef has talent, but they should keep him in the kitchen.

The spa was excellent, and a massage was exactly what was needed.

The property is much more family focused than we'd originally anticipated, and there were many young children doing what young children do.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank bkeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
1.5 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
15.5 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
2.7 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
11.9 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#14 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
Address: 20 Jalan Aru, Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A paradise for the senses surrounded by natural beautyA gentle breeze caresses your face as you wake to the sound of waves lapping the beach. The balcony opens up to an inspiring vista of sparkling coral islands and swaying of palm trees. Tunku Abdul Rahman Park, bordered by crystal clear waters and lush vegetation Sophistication surrounds you in a lavishly decorated suite inspired by Borneo’s rich cultural heritage. Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu, is a perfect tropical getaway, a luxurious tranquil retreat just a short drive from the city.Yet, excitement beckons as you set out to discover all Kota Kinabalu’s delights. Making your way to Kinabalu National Park, you are thrust into a jungle paradise of natural wonders, rugged landscapes and scenic beauty. From the Rafflesia, the largest flower in the world, to the famous Orangutans in their natural habitat, it only gets more breathtaking every step of the way.The afternoon is spent exploring the picturesque town of Kota Belud. As Sabah’s largest and most popular open market, you find gems of all sorts, ranging from handmade handicrafts to mouth-watering local delights like natural honey.Back at the resort, you look forward to a sunset cruise, which departs from STAR Marina, to catch Borneo's famous sunset. Not long after, you wind down at Coco-Joe’s Bar & Grill. Lounging atop one of the beach-dining platforms, over cocktails and a delectable seafood tower, you continue to enjoy the sound of overlapping waves on the shores of Sunset Beach. A pampering session at CHI, The Spa rounds off the day. With treatments based on traditional Asian healing philosophies, you lose yourself in an enchanted and indulgent journey, all on the resort’s private spa island.For every experience here, you are surrounded by natural beauty. And it all begins at Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Travel Republic (UK), Travelbag, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Resort And Spa
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Resort
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Hotel
Shangri La Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing