We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something for everyone. ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

First time staying here with my family of 5 (three kids below ages of 10) for 5D4N. Words fail to describe how much we have enjoyed the Resort. We have used almost all facilities available to hotel guests. Kids (of course) loved the pool and 3 slides (there were helpful staff manning the slides to prevent overcrowding or injuries). The Kids Club was fantastic with friendly staff while my wife and I were able to enjoy some quiet time. The restaurants were great (typical hotel prices), rooms spacious (we had an extra bed) & clean with Wifi hotel-wide. Perhaps the best seller was the Sunset Bar. Imagine this; having a beer, kids playing by the pool and you and your partner watching the sun set. Beautiful. All in all, we look forward to our next return here. Arguably one of the best resorts in this region.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Dexter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,861)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,268 - 1,274 of 3,861 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Went here as a site trip from Hong Kong. Terrific. Clean rooms, great staff, kids had a wonderful time. Don't miss the orangutans and make time to enjoy the sunset. The food was above average and the rooms were spacious.

Watch out for the humidity and make sure you take time to enjoy the pool

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Eddy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Good place for leisure and retreated, nice staff in Star Marina especially Nelda for scheduling and recommendations for visiting two islands and Osman for caring and touring in both islands, made us feeling comfortable and enjoyable.

Room Tip: Must choose sea-view room, it is awesome and excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank K L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Good experience overall
Club floor in Kinabalu wing well worth the money esp. the club lounge
Food quality is average
Service staff are generally good but training doesn't seem consistent. One lady in club lounge suggested I get my non fat latte by adding skimmed milk to black coffee! Thanks to Sonia for saving the day and getting me a decent cuppa!

Big disappointment with the morning yoga class. While a great idea the Shang must get a proper teacher and at least replace the current one. The one we had:
Talked too much..so much that the class didn't feel peaceful
Said nothing about the postures she was teaching instead kept muttering about unrelated ancient Chinese sayings
Sun salutation steps were in the wrong order
Choice of postures for a beginners class all wrong too.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank hopeandfury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Big fans and users of Shangri-La hotels...had our wedding reception there a few years back. Had booked suite in Kinabalu wing, club. Agreed upon arrival to upgrade (with cost) to a larger suite in Tanjung wing far from the recently added and super noisy kids pools/slides area. Hotel has clearly aged...it shows everywhere. Room was not the quietest but ok. We could hear lots of noise from the corridors backing the living room and the bedroom (people and trolleys). Great view from the terrace, ground floor. Loved it except for the lawnmower at 08:30 when you are sleeping. We loved our stay...and KK is home to us in many ways. But the majority of the current crowd using the hotel is unrefined, loud, unpleasant, rude...it is by far not a 5 star hotel crowd. Pools are overcrowded in the mornings, breakfast area is like the subway at 6PM and patrons are just unruly, pilling food on their plates that is half wasted for most. This is a big change from our last stay a few years back...and very different from the S-L Boracay (last August for 10 nights) or the S-L Makati for instance. Otherwise, food is ok overall. Not great, in any of e outlets. Staff is super! And soooo patient...great guest relations lady (Golden Circle desk)! The kids pools/slides area is nice but already wears down and does smell of pee. Conclusion : lovely but overcrowded with unrefined patrons.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Steph2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Customer service was very good. Injured myself during the trip and hotel was extremely accomodating taking me to the doctor and then hospital. Many thanks to Nurul Service Manager at Rasa Ria and drivers including Geoffrey from Tanjung Aru. Despite injury, service and amentities offered by Tanjung Aru made for a pleasant and enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank V T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We have had the good fortune to stay in several five star hotels over the last few years. While this resort has some areas for improvement, overall we found this to be of a high standard and a pleasant experience.

Here are the good points of staying at this hotel:

1) the staff are extremely friendly and welcoming- the service we received was on a par with luxury hotels such as Sandy Lane and the Sandpiper in Barbados. Essentially, the staff made this resort special.
2) good recreational facilities- we played tennis and pitch and putt for free every day. Additional touches such as a basket with towels, rackets and cold water provided, complimentary, were appreciated.
3) for a five star hotel, the restaurant and room service/poolside bar prices were extremely reasonable. Less than £10 per person for lunch and around £20 for an evening meal (wine excluded.)
4) good location and access to the airport and to KK. (10 minutes/£6 for a taxi.)


Certain areas of the hotel can be busy, it being Western and Chinese school holidays, but it is really not a major problem, rather a minor irritation. We were always able to find space around the pool, regardless of the time of day. True, the layout and organisation at breakfast could be improved. It can get quite busy at certain times in the morning. However, with a rota structure or different layout, this could be easily improved, and is not a serious problem as it stands.


Overall, we would recommend this hotel as a base to visit Borneo. Due to its proximity to the city, you can maintain your independence from the hotel, in contrast to the secluded location of the Rasa Ria, where we also stayed during the trip. We found that this hotel lived up to our high expectations of the Shangri La group.

Room Tip: We stayed in an ocean view room which was quiet and spacious;worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom131986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
1.4 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
2.7 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,229 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#10 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,440 reviews
15.5 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
2.6 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa

Address: 20 Jalan Aru, Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £158 - £380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 492
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A paradise for the senses surrounded by natural beautyA gentle breeze caresses your face as you wake to the sound of waves lapping the beach. The balcony opens up to an inspiring vista of sparkling coral islands and swaying of palm trees. Tunku Abdul Rahman Park, bordered by crystal clear waters and lush vegetation Sophistication surrounds you in a lavishly decorated suite inspired by Borneo’s rich cultural heritage. Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu, is a perfect tropical getaway, a luxurious tranquil retreat just a short drive from the city.Yet, excitement beckons as you set out to discover all Kota Kinabalu’s delights. Making your way to Kinabalu National Park, you are thrust into a jungle paradise of natural wonders, rugged landscapes and scenic beauty. From the Rafflesia, the largest flower in the world, to the famous Orangutans in their natural habitat, it only gets more breathtaking every step of the way.The afternoon is spent exploring the picturesque town of Kota Belud. As Sabah’s largest and most popular open market, you find gems of all sorts, ranging from handmade handicrafts to mouth-watering local delights like natural honey.Back at the resort, you look forward to a sunset cruise, which departs from STAR Marina, to catch Borneo's famous sunset. Not long after, you wind down at Coco-Joe’s Bar & Grill. Lounging atop one of the beach-dining platforms, over cocktails and a delectable seafood tower, you continue to enjoy the sound of overlapping waves on the shores of Sunset Beach. A pampering session at CHI, The Spa rounds off the day. With treatments based on traditional Asian healing philosophies, you lose yourself in an enchanted and indulgent journey, all on the resort’s private spa island.For every experience here, you are surrounded by natural beauty. And it all begins at Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Resort And Spa
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Resort
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Hotel
Shangri La Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing