We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

I've only given this hotel 4 stars (if there were decimals it would be 4.5!) because we also visited the sister hotel, the Shangri-La Rasa Ria which is definitely a 5! The Tanjung Aru is closer to town/airport though, the RR is about 45-60mins out of KK.

We had 2 meals at Coco-Joe's restaurant which we're both very good and reasonably priced.

My only gripe was that check in wasn't very satisfactory. The staff member seemed to think I should have had a voucher for our stay when it clearly said on my booking that no voucher was required which was correct. This is really something they need to sort out with the agent and not bother the guest about! The check in at the Rasa Ria is a whole different experience, maybe they can learn from this?! You take a seat on a comfortable sofa and the check in staff come to you! Along with chilled towels and a refreshing drink!

But apart from this we had a very nice stay.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank NewlandsMiddlesex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,776)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,196 - 1,202 of 3,776 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

We had two families (2 adults and 2 kids each) staying at this resort for 2 nights in July 2014. I requested 2 connecting rooms in advance. The rooms are excellent, and the kids had much fun running round in the rooms!

I would say this resort has met the expectations of a 5-star resort in KK. Maybe because of the peak season when I stayed in this resort, there were too many people, and I was not very much impressed by the services, activities, facilities, etc during my stay. I would also say that the Kids' Club is great for younger kids (3-7 years) but not for older kids.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank Belinda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I've been here three or four times now on family holidays.
The first time i was a young child and it was amazing, the playgrounds, the pools the staff and kids club!
Our most recent visit was around 10 years later, i'm now and adult and it was just as fun!
One staff member even recognised my family and i!
This resort has so much to offer. The food is incredible, the pools are beautiful, you can snorkel at the surrounding islands, play golf. It is such a fantastic holiday resort.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheFrequentHolidayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We are staying at the Shangri La Tanjung Aru and we are very much disappointed by the experience. We spent 8 nights the four of us (02 adults, 02 children: 02 years and 09 years). We had excellent previous experiences at other SLs both for family vacations and during business trips (Rasa Ria in Kota Kinabalu, Dubai, Singapore, Kuala Lumpur, Bangkok, Yangon, Jakarta, etc). The least we can say about the SL Tanjung Aru is that it is far below Shangri La standards, and also, below 5* standards:

- Room: The furniture is worn out with too much mould in the bathroom (see pictures). We had to remind the housekeeping to provide the bathrobes and small/medium towels daily. The throughput of the AC is not good enough. The hotel arranged a sofa bed for our eldest daughter, but the mattress was so worn out that we had to ask for an extra single bed instead (and still, the extra bed is merely better). The king size bed mattress is really too hard.
- Staff/Service: the staff is nice but overwhelmed especially at the swimming pool area & bar since the place is understaffed. The quality of the food of the buffet at Tatu and outdoor bar/grill is average. At the outdoor grill, the menu is really basic and limited, while waiting time is long.
- Leisure/Activities: the kids water playing area (water slides, etc) is really nice but the area is not well maintained. A lot of holes in the ground floor protection layer at the kids swimming/playing area (water slides, etc.) leaving the concrete layer apparent and posing risks of accidents are not taken care of.
Though a family oriented resort, nothing is organized evening times, such as show/performance outdoor diners.
- The beach: The seafront walkway is nice with a great sunset view. However, the beach is actually very small and the seawater is not clear (clean?), thus always empty (except for the sunset). For those looking for a nice beach and swimming spot, this is definitely not the place to go to, and the only option is to visit the (crowded) near-by islands (the boat transportation fees through the hotel are expensive though).
- Reception/Concierge: The welcome is very impersonal. While we arrived late at night and the reception was not crowded at all, we didn't even have the usual welcome drink.
The hotel policy with regards to taxi transportation to the city is also questionable. Either you take the hotel taxi service provider (paying a flat rate of about 10USD for a 10 minute ride to downtown!), or you hire a normal taxi by yourself (the hotel won't call one for you).

We're leaving the hotel with a big disappointment, unlike the experience we had at SL Rasa Ria last year. For about the same price, the latter is undoubtedly way much better in all respects.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank MoezM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We arrived at the hotel at around 1:30am. Even though it was late at night, I expected someone to welcome us (a bellboy or a guard or whoever) since it's a high-end hotel but no one did. The lobby was amazing. I can still remember the details of the roof, the furniture, etc. I was in awe with what I saw.

Even though it was late at night when we arrived, we were able to order drinks thru room service. I like that room service is open 24/7. I'm just not sure if they also serve food late at night.

During breakfast, we were surprised with the number of guests. The place was really quiet at night even though it was fully booked at the time of our visit. With a number of water activities for the kids, most of the guests were families with children. Also, I was supposed to swim in the pool but since I couldn't find an empty pool bed for my stuff, I just left and swam at the beach.

We tried drinking at the sunset bar. It wasn't convenient because the toilets are located near the pool, far from the bar, and it was raining at that time. No one offered to escort us to the toilet or lend us umbrellas. We then moved to another bar closer to the pool (I just forgot the exact name of the bar). There, the bartenders/servers were very friendly. We actually had fun that night.

Overall, I think that this hotel is best for families and couples. There are really a lot of activities for kids and it can also be a very romantic place for couples.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Celine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

It located close to the Airport, but it seems not close to an airport. It is comfort and clean area. I stayed this resort for 5 days with my family. It is great place when you stay here with a kid. Great see view and sunset! It is one of best vacation- :)

Room Tip: If you choose any club room, it would be better. You can use nice and useful lounge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Yongnyun K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Just returned from a wonderful holiday at the Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa.
Before traveling, we were deliberating between this and their Rasa Ria resort. I'm pretty confident we made the right choice.

We up-graded to the Kinabalu Club. Well worth doing as you get good quality complimentary food and snacks from late afternoon till early evening as well as decent beers, wine and spirits. Also,their breakfast is good (enough choices for me) means you miss out on the busier downstairs breakfast which apparently has more choices (according to my wife from Hong Kong), you can choose either option.

Room was great. My 4 year old daughter loved the swimming pool and Kid's Club. The beach is nice and clean and the sunsets are amazing. We found all the staff to be very helpful and polite, nothing seemed too much trouble.

Not a 5 circle review you may ask? There needs to be more western style a la carte options for lunch and dinner. We enjoyed Peppino, their fine dining Italian restaurant, but could not afford to eat there 5 nights consecutively. All other options were buffet style and though a la carte options were available, they could be more varied.

All in all. A great hotel for families and we would most certainly return.

Room Tip: Pay the reasonable up-grade to the Club Rooms. You avoid the crowds after a day by the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PaulHF6721FJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
1.5 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
2.7 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,152 reviews
15.5 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#11 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,393 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,484 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa

Address: 20 Jalan Aru, Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £152 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A paradise for the senses surrounded by natural beautyA gentle breeze caresses your face as you wake to the sound of waves lapping the beach. The balcony opens up to an inspiring vista of sparkling coral islands and swaying of palm trees. Tunku Abdul Rahman Park, bordered by crystal clear waters and lush vegetation Sophistication surrounds you in a lavishly decorated suite inspired by Borneo’s rich cultural heritage. Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu, is a perfect tropical getaway, a luxurious tranquil retreat just a short drive from the city.Yet, excitement beckons as you set out to discover all Kota Kinabalu’s delights. Making your way to Kinabalu National Park, you are thrust into a jungle paradise of natural wonders, rugged landscapes and scenic beauty. From the Rafflesia, the largest flower in the world, to the famous Orangutans in their natural habitat, it only gets more breathtaking every step of the way.The afternoon is spent exploring the picturesque town of Kota Belud. As Sabah’s largest and most popular open market, you find gems of all sorts, ranging from handmade handicrafts to mouth-watering local delights like natural honey.Back at the resort, you look forward to a sunset cruise, which departs from STAR Marina, to catch Borneo's famous sunset. Not long after, you wind down at Coco-Joe’s Bar & Grill. Lounging atop one of the beach-dining platforms, over cocktails and a delectable seafood tower, you continue to enjoy the sound of overlapping waves on the shores of Sunset Beach. A pampering session at CHI, The Spa rounds off the day. With treatments based on traditional Asian healing philosophies, you lose yourself in an enchanted and indulgent journey, all on the resort’s private spa island.For every experience here, you are surrounded by natural beauty. And it all begins at Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Resort And Spa
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Resort
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Hotel
Shangri La Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing