We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing first Impression”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Disappointing first Impression”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Having stayed at the Rasa Ria on a previous trip to Borneo and had a wonderful experience, we felt that the Tanjung Aru would be an equally good option just closer to the airport for our two night stay. However, it is simply not comparable to the Rasa Ria which we also stayed in again later on this trip to Borneo.

Unfortunately, our trip was spoilt by a poor first impression, arriving late on a Saturday evening we had to wait some time until we were checked in, which in itself was not a problem. When we arrived at our room we found it to be a Kinabalu sea view, but we had booked a Tanjung sea view. On phoning down to reception I was initially told this was the room type I had booked, when I then insisted it wasn't I was told we had been upgraded to this room type which sat on the Kinabalu club floors, so I enquired if this meant we could use the lounge - no unfortunately it didn't, so it was in essence a standard Kinabalu sea view room. You will see from the hotels website that the two room types are very different in terms of decor and in addition at the time of booking and also when my husband searched again on the day we arrived the Tanjung sea view was the more expensive room. I insisted that I wanted to see the Tanjung room so was asked to meet them at reception, before being shown to Tanjung room and eventually at my instance we were moved although the whole experience took about an hour, the last thing you want when you have been travelling for nearly 24 hours.

The hotel were insistent that the Kinabalu was the more expensive room, despite the fact it wasn't showing as such on their website we were told the view was better and therefore it was an upgrade and to this end they were not very apologetic - I appreciate being moved from a garden room to a sea view room is an upgrade but I have never known a hotel to say they were upgrading you simply because you were on a higher floor - I have also never known a hotel to upgrade you and not tell you at check in - it left us with a feeling that they had not been particularly honest with us because they had an issue with the number of rooms they had left. To context this I have travelled extensively for business and pleasure and never requested a room change before, but I do believe in getting what I have paid for.

In general even with this experience aside the Rasa Ria which is the other Shangri La hotel c45 minutes away is a far superior hotel in terms of service and restaurants (breakfast at the Tanjung was not in the same league). The sunset bar is lovely for a sundowner but you do need to get there early to get a seat.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dentonsdestinations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,725 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,108
    1,074
    341
    120
    82
See reviews for
1,299
1,406
92
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (797)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Townsville
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

It was our Honeymoon. We can't say one bad thing about our stay. The service and the quality of food was great. It was one of our best holidays we have ever had. The service from the staff was incredible and we loved just drinking and eating by the pool. Very good to have adult only pool. Thank you to all the staff

Room Tip: The cleaners did the most amazing job.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Kinabalu
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

All staff are extremely friendly & welcoming. The Sunset Bar & Coco Joe's both wonderfull, food very nice! Great personalise service from Service Manager Mr Halmi and the team, Ms Lina, Mr Addy, Mr Riched and not to forget Mr Harun. We skip breakfast but sure Mr Majid & Mr Adnan will make your day! Highly Recommended Resort at Kota Kinabalu!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Coconutshake77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This is an amazing 5 star resort that lives completely up to its name and achieves beyond.
Every singular staff member has a passion for the hotel and customer service, we are a family of 4 and I live half my life in hotels with my job, and would have to say,this is the finest stay we/I have had.
Was our 20th wedding anniversary and the staff filled our room with flowers. We are now planning our next visit.

We are coming back.

Room Tip: Pay extra and get a Tanjung executive suite. You then get club access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BEAL94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

This resort is amazing by all means. The staff are very friendly I mean everyone of them. The food, the cleanness, the rooms, the view. Everything is just perfect. I really recommend this place for any couple want to go to KK. And definitely we will come back again. Thank you so much Shangri-la team.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Muhammad E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Incheon, South Korea
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The most incredible hotel that I have ever been to. It is a piece of paradise on earth. Expensive for a student like me but it was totally worth it! From amazing views to the most polite and friendly staff to an array of restaurants and a heavenly poolside it was amazing!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank La W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesex
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

I've only given this hotel 4 stars (if there were decimals it would be 4.5!) because we also visited the sister hotel, the Shangri-La Rasa Ria which is definitely a 5! The Tanjung Aru is closer to town/airport though, the RR is about 45-60mins out of KK.

We had 2 meals at Coco-Joe's restaurant which we're both very good and reasonably priced.

My only gripe was that check in wasn't very satisfactory. The staff member seemed to think I should have had a voucher for our stay when it clearly said on my booking that no voucher was required which was correct. This is really something they need to sort out with the agent and not bother the guest about! The check in at the Rasa Ria is a whole different experience, maybe they can learn from this?! You take a seat on a comfortable sofa and the check in staff come to you! Along with chilled towels and a refreshing drink!

But apart from this we had a very nice stay.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank NewlandsMiddlesex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
1.5 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
15.5 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
2.7 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#5 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,445 reviews
11.9 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#11 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,349 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
Address: 20 Jalan Aru, Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A paradise for the senses surrounded by natural beautyA gentle breeze caresses your face as you wake to the sound of waves lapping the beach. The balcony opens up to an inspiring vista of sparkling coral islands and swaying of palm trees. Tunku Abdul Rahman Park, bordered by crystal clear waters and lush vegetation Sophistication surrounds you in a lavishly decorated suite inspired by Borneo’s rich cultural heritage. Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu, is a perfect tropical getaway, a luxurious tranquil retreat just a short drive from the city.Yet, excitement beckons as you set out to discover all Kota Kinabalu’s delights. Making your way to Kinabalu National Park, you are thrust into a jungle paradise of natural wonders, rugged landscapes and scenic beauty. From the Rafflesia, the largest flower in the world, to the famous Orangutans in their natural habitat, it only gets more breathtaking every step of the way.The afternoon is spent exploring the picturesque town of Kota Belud. As Sabah’s largest and most popular open market, you find gems of all sorts, ranging from handmade handicrafts to mouth-watering local delights like natural honey.Back at the resort, you look forward to a sunset cruise, which departs from STAR Marina, to catch Borneo's famous sunset. Not long after, you wind down at Coco-Joe’s Bar & Grill. Lounging atop one of the beach-dining platforms, over cocktails and a delectable seafood tower, you continue to enjoy the sound of overlapping waves on the shores of Sunset Beach. A pampering session at CHI, The Spa rounds off the day. With treatments based on traditional Asian healing philosophies, you lose yourself in an enchanted and indulgent journey, all on the resort’s private spa island.For every experience here, you are surrounded by natural beauty. And it all begins at Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Agoda, Travelbag, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Resort And Spa
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Resort
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Hotel
Shangri La Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing