We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An elelent resort hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Blenheim New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“An elelent resort hotel”
Reviewed 6 August 2009

We enjoyed the hotel very much. The service was outstanding especialy in the Club Lounge. I would recommend that you should pay the extra for the Club Lounge.
Two Restauraunt's were outstanding. expensive but well above any Resort we have stayed in before. The Italian was one of the best restaurants I have eaten in, whist the Chinese was exelent. I would eat in both them again at any time.
The whole package was a delighful rest on our way home to NZ after a hectic time in the UK.

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank exwinemaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philipdewar, Resident Manager at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 August 2009
Many thanks for staying with us recently and your kind comments. We are all thrilled that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,091
    1,059
    338
    117
    81
See reviews for
1,279
1,394
91
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (792)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bordon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2009

After ten days spent travelling around peninsula Malaysia and Borneo enjoying super weather, the rain lashed down as our plane landed at Kota Kinabalu. The hotel's welcome however was warm and efficient, the reception area impressive and our rooms in the Tanjung Wing spacious, beautifully decorated and with a stunning view across manicured lawns out to the South China Sea. Bathrooms were large and luxurious and balconies well furnished with a sofa, chair and table. Thankfully after a couple of hours the weather reverted to its hot and sunny norm so we were able to make full use of this! It was particularly pleasant sitting out there in the evening, G and T in hand, watching the sun set. (The hotel has a handy little shop selling beers, nibbles and the all important tonic water to go with the duty free gin we'd brought with us! - Just as an aside, be warned, tonic water is extremely hard to find in Malaysia. Hardly any supermarkets stock it!) The hotel shop is however very well stocked and you can pay for anything - even the odd can of beer or soda by charging it to your room.
The hotel was pretty busy while we were there but never felt overcrowded - always plenty of loungers and the beach, whilst relatively small was hardly used and was kept pristine by staff raking the sand.
Ironically we'd chosen this hotel over the Rasa Ria due to its proximity to the town but one trip there was more than enough! Maybe we were unlucky on the afternoon we went (there had been some exceptionally high tides) but the stench along the seafront was totally nauseating (not the usual harbour aroma of fish and diesel but much worse - drains and sewage) KK is also rather reminiscent of a somewhat down at heel Blackpool - high rise condos, outlet malls and metal shuttered bars, giving the whole place a bit of a seedy atmosphere.
Back at STAR we ate at Coco Joes on two occasions - lovely setting and okay, the drinks (particularly wine) is expensive but the food is delicious. The seafood platter was particularly memorable, featuring prawns, lobster, mussels, crab and smoked salmon on a bed of ice) For a simpler meal the fish and chips is delicious and reasonably priced. We also tried and can thoroughly recommend the Chinese Restaurant . Super food and very helpful and knowledgable staff happy to help with suggestions re. the menu. It was also very good value. One good alternative to eating in the hotel is the Mediterranean restaurant on tanjung Aru beach - about a half mile walk away or a 10 MR taxi ride).
Went on the 5 Island tour organised by Beach Bums from the hotel jetty. Glad we went as it did give us an impression of the islands but weren't overly impressed by the trip. The beaches get very crowded, particularly at lunchtime, Most tours (ours included) lay on a sort of communal buffet with pretty mediocre lukewarm food. However the snorkelling is good - the quantity and colours of the fish are amazing - and it was good to see the monitor lizards on Sepi.
The boys also played golf at STAR's sister resort, the Rasa Ria (hiring clubs etc.. isn't cheap but saved the hassle of lugging them all round Malaysia). Also visited the orangutangs at RR's nature reserve but felt that it seemed a bit like a zoo, albeit a very good one - far preferred the sanctuary at Semmengogh on Sarawak. on balance we were glad we'd chosen STAR over the Rasa Ria. While the latter's on a lovely beach its a bit isolated and in our opinion STAR has a slightly more exclusive yet still friendly air.
To sum up we loved The Tanjung Aru as a hotel but probably would not return to Kota Kinabalu or recommend the city over other destinations in Malaysia.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alison52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philipdewar, Resident Manager at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 August 2009
Thank you for staying with us recently and for taking the time to post your feedback.

While I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our resort, I will be passing on your comments regarding KK city to the appropriate local authority departments.

I have passed on your kind comments about your restaurant experiences to the team.

Thanks again for your valuable comments. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2009

The hotel is wonderful and the food is great! Should stay for at least 3 nites...too bad the weather was very rainy when i was there so i didnt get much sun. but the room and the comfort makes up for it...

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJLau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philipdewar, Resident Manager at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 August 2009
Thank you for staying with us recently and for taking the time to share your kind feedback.

We are all thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2009

Stayed in the Kinabalu Wing (Club) which was worth it with all the benefits.
Room was great with good view of the sunset however, last 2 days was kinda cloudy. Room service/housekeeping was good but did not replenish fresh fruits daily as indicated. The little tiny bananas was kinda rotten looking the next day but it doesn't bother much to me. Loved the Chi Spa though a bit more costly. Will go back again sometime or maybe to check out rasa ria as this resort is crowded with family and kids.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirin88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philipdewar, Resident Manager at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 August 2009
Thank you for staying with us recently and for taking the time to post your feedback.

While I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay on our Club floor, the fruit replenishment issue concerns me. Without knowing details of your stay I cannot investigate fully but rest assured we are addressing this at a general level.

Thanks again, and I trust we will be able to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2009

Very comfortable and relaxing place provided. I love the CHI SPA inside the hotel, also beach and pier which is very convenient to travel to islands, love the swimming pool too. Nice Italian restaurants and hotel enviornment.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fishpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philipdewar, Resident Manager at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 July 2009
Thank you for staying with us recently and for taking the time to share your kind feedback.

We are all thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2009

We have stayed at numerous resorts throughout asia including several other resorts run by the Shangri-La group and I have to say that the Shangri-La Tanjung Aru was the most disappointing.

The rooms however, are immaculate and we loved them. The beds, the bathrooms, the free internet access, plenty of storage space and the general ambience....excellent.

The pool area is however rather small considering the number of rooms the hotel has. The biggest surprise was the 'beach'......it is only a fraction of the size that I thought it would be. Clearly the photos on the internet of the beach have been done to make the beach look better. Even the resort's own hotel plan/map makes out that the beach is about the three of four times the size it really is. Very disappointing.

The Cafe Tatu, the main buffet restaurant has some good food and also some that was woeful. Likewise the staff, some are excellent and go out to please, others interrupt you when eating to make sure that they see you sign the bill, and are grumpy. No pork, no bacon and no ham.....but there's alcohol if you want it.

The Italian restaurant upstairs we had hoped would be similar to the one at the Shangri-La Mactan Island...sadly it wasn't. Not a single pizza on the menu. When you have kids, that's something important ! Instead it appeared pretentious and overly expensive.

Most resorts we have been to had areas where guests could leave books when they left. Not this one. Even the resort shop didn't have a single book/novel for sale. Why not??

The resort has a pitch and putt golf course, or so it claims. Rather, it is a long putting course! It is tiny compared to the pitch and putt course at their sister resort in Cebu, Philippines/

Overall, we thought the resort was immaculately clean and the rooms beautiful, however it simply wasn't value for money. We certainly wouldn't bother going back as there are far betterplaces elsewhere. Even their sister resort in Sabah, the Shangri-La Rasa Ria is far better value.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HKPiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philipdewar, Resident Manager at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 July 2009
Thank you for staying with us recently and for taking the time to give your valuable feedback.

I sincerely apologize that we did not meet your expectations at Cafe Tatu and Peppino. Rest assured I am working with the team to address the issues you raised. We do position Peppino's as more of an adult dining outlet which is less casual than our other outlets, where Pizza is available.

Our pool and beach area are under review and your points are well taken in this area.

We do have books available in our hotel shop, so I am looking into making them more prominent and increasing the selection based on your experience.

Thanks again for your valuable feedback and best wishes from us all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2009

Stayed for 9 nights, loved the spa and club lounge, found the restaurants disappointing, but there are many alternatives in KK. Great service especially in club lounge and around the pool, would have liked a table tennis table in pool area.

Only slight hiccup was at check out when we were charged for a room change we had never had.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hthols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philipdewar, Resident Manager at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 July 2009
Thank you for staying with us recently and for sharing your feedback.

While I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, I note and apologize for the billing issue and am concerned that we did not meet your expectations at our restaurants. Rest assured we are constantly striving for improvement.

I note also your comment to have a table tennis table in pool area which I will be reviewing with the team.

I trust we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
1.5 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
15.5 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,068 reviews
11.9 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#12 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,331 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
Address: 20 Jalan Aru, Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A paradise for the senses surrounded by natural beautyA gentle breeze caresses your face as you wake to the sound of waves lapping the beach. The balcony opens up to an inspiring vista of sparkling coral islands and swaying of palm trees. Tunku Abdul Rahman Park, bordered by crystal clear waters and lush vegetation Sophistication surrounds you in a lavishly decorated suite inspired by Borneo’s rich cultural heritage. Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu, is a perfect tropical getaway, a luxurious tranquil retreat just a short drive from the city.Yet, excitement beckons as you set out to discover all Kota Kinabalu’s delights. Making your way to Kinabalu National Park, you are thrust into a jungle paradise of natural wonders, rugged landscapes and scenic beauty. From the Rafflesia, the largest flower in the world, to the famous Orangutans in their natural habitat, it only gets more breathtaking every step of the way.The afternoon is spent exploring the picturesque town of Kota Belud. As Sabah’s largest and most popular open market, you find gems of all sorts, ranging from handmade handicrafts to mouth-watering local delights like natural honey.Back at the resort, you look forward to a sunset cruise, which departs from STAR Marina, to catch Borneo's famous sunset. Not long after, you wind down at Coco-Joe’s Bar & Grill. Lounging atop one of the beach-dining platforms, over cocktails and a delectable seafood tower, you continue to enjoy the sound of overlapping waves on the shores of Sunset Beach. A pampering session at CHI, The Spa rounds off the day. With treatments based on traditional Asian healing philosophies, you lose yourself in an enchanted and indulgent journey, all on the resort’s private spa island.For every experience here, you are surrounded by natural beauty. And it all begins at Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Travelbag, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Resort And Spa
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Resort
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Hotel
Shangri La Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing