We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Holiday For Families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Great Holiday For Families”
Reviewed 28 August 2009

Didn't get off to the greatest start when pre-booked airport transfer didn't turn up and eventually on arrival at hotel to be told our booking had been cancelled. A few emails to agent in England and them talking to the hotel resolved the issue but did tarnish our 10th wedding anniversary slightly. With respect to the hotel management they did eventually send complimentary Moet & Chandon champagne, chocolates and a bottle of red wine - thankyou !
Ignoring the first 24hrs, I have to say that we were very impressed with the hotel and I agree with other reviewers that it is a LARGE 5 star hotel and therefore is not going to be very quiet or provide complete pampered luxury. What it did provide was excellent facilities that kept both ourselves and our 5yr old son busy. The pools were never overcrowded and in fact one of them was usually very quiet and maybe used by a few adults only. The pool with the shallow child area was more lively but I wouldn't say that noise was ever intrusive for anyone sunbathing nearby. We enjoyed the free use of bicycles, table-tennis, badminton, petanque, tennis and pitch&putt which can often be chargeable at other resorts we've stayed at.
We stayed in a Tanjung Wing executive suite which was great as it had a seperate living area where my wife and I could chill once our son was in bed. We highly recommend club lounge which served breakfast, afternoon tea and cocktail hour. This was never busy and the service was fantastic (as it was all over the hotel). Our son was able to use the complimentary internet access whilst we had a refreshing cup of tea and tasty cakes !
Food wise we split our time between the evening buffet (about £15/adult and son was free) and also had room service where our son would usually have a pizza, I'd have a malaysian dish and wife would have another main course. This worked out about £25 for all of us which I thought was fairly reasonable. The evening were usually started off with a happy hour at the sunset bar (about £8 for 2 gin & tonics, £3 for 15 pieces of satay chicken/beef) where we watched some fantastic sunsets and the daily ceremony of light the torches. Great fun for the family.
One final mention should go to the kids club. We normally don't make use of these as we our on holiday as a family and want to be together. In this case we struggled to get our son to come out of the club. We felt very happy with the quality of the staffing and the facilities they provided . He was happy to pop in and out of the club and check on us sunbathing nearby.

In summary, a good family hotel that offers a great location, great facilties, good food and drink options and excellent staff.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hometown47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philipdewar, Resident Manager at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 September 2009
Thank you for staying with us recently and providing your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and congratulations again on your wedding anniversary.

I do regret that the accounting issues with your agent created a bad start to your holiday. However, I am glad that we were able to rectify the situation and ensure you and your family had a memorable stay with us.

Once again many thanks for your feedback and warmest regards from all of us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,091
    1,059
    338
    117
    81
See reviews for
1,279
1,394
91
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (792)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2009

Lovely hotel, mostly up to the usual Shangri-la chain high standards - BUT ONLY HALF A SPA! What kind of major international 5 star "RESORT AND SPA" hotel has no basic spa/beauty treatments such as manicure, pedicure or hairdresser? There were some sophisitcated and expensive spa massage treatments available, but not being able to have the most basic treatmemts at this level of hotel is unacceptable. It seems that there had been these facilities at some stage in the past, but neither the reception/ concierge staff nor the spa staff knew when this service stopped, when it would start again, or where I might find a good local alternative. I was really looking forward to a bit of pampering whilst my husband went scuba diving, so this did very much spoil my stay there. If you're not hoping to use these facilities, then it is a super hotel with good restaruant food and wine.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JVTOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philipdewar, Resident Manager at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 September 2009
Thank you for staying with us recently and for sharing your feedback.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we trust that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

I apologize that our current spa offerings did not meet your expectations. During your stay one of our ground floor spaces was closed off which is in fact being made into a nail bar and will be open from mid September. We should have done a far better job of recommending alternatives and giving you information and rest assured I am addressing this with the team.

Once again, thank you very much for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2009

WOW is all I can say. One of the best hotels I have ever stayed at and I've been to a few around the world! Absolutely fabulous place. Felt totally at home. Waited on by friendly staff who are always smiling. Peppinos restaurant does the most divine salmon I have ever tasted and a superb wine selection.
Stunning views from our balcony of beautiful sunsets.
Highly recommend this hotel *****

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeachesShire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philipdewar, Resident Manager at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 September 2009
Thank you for staying with us recently and for taking the time to share your kind feedback.

We are all thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2009

Myself and my wife stayed hear and we were very pleased. Very friendly staff, nice beach , best sunsets I've ever ever seen. Pools were nice, scuba diving was good fun from the dive centre on site. Was really hot though so had to keep popping back to the room to enjoy the air con. Don't get hassle from locals like you do in some poor countires and there are plenty of shops and places to eat in the city which is a 5 minute taxi ride away. We went to the Rasa Ria hotel for the day as well which is its sister hotel. Was a lovely hotel with a huge beach but was a bit out of the way if you wanted to leave the hotel to explore. The Orangutan orphanage makes up some points though as the babies were amazing.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keithgray100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philipdewar, Resident Manager at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 August 2009
Thank you for staying with us recently and for taking the time to write such kind comments.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hong kong
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2009

I stayed 2 nights there. Both check-in and check-out service were extremely inefficient and it took us a long time to wait and complete the process. It seemed that the staff were easy to mess things up, such as kept your passport and asked you to wait in the lobby but forgot to serve you. So make sure next time you give some extra time when you need to check-out in hurry.

I booked the Tanjung wing twin room. The room was rather small in size compared to other resort hotel's. But the room was clean and the shower was good. The interior deco was rather simple as you see the side-table was old and without taste. It was a cheap piece of furniture.

The hotel provided a lot of free activities like Yoga class. It was really nice to have a session in the Chi Spa area overlooking the sea. However, the health centre needed renovation, e.g. the steam bath was like built in 20 years ago and it was ugly and so small that it could hardly accomodate 5 persons at one time. The jacuzzi was also a very tiny one.

It was a very busy hotel with a lot of Chinese tourists that made the place noisy. For the buffet breakfast, It required some effort to find a table inside the restaurant, for it was quite hot if you sat outside. The waiters were so busy and you needed to serve all things by yourself. Once I requested a glass of water when I sat down, a waitress asked me to go out to get it. It was my first shock in any 5-star hotel that I had ever stayed. Anyway, it provided quite a wide range of food to choose and the taste was okay.

I may not stay in this hotel again as it is too busy and I cannot feel relaxed there.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happylittlewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philipdewar, Resident Manager at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 August 2009
Thank you for your comments and our sincere apologies that your stay with us did not meet your expectations.

Your arrival and dining experiences were not conducted in line with our usual standards and the applicable retraining and briefings were done immediately upon hearing these from you.

I have taken note of your suggestions for improvement which are part of our ongoing upgrading and renovation planning process.

Once again, many thanks for your feedback and I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west australia perth
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2009

We stayed at this hotel and wished we could have stayed longer, yes it was expensive but with eating in town for a few meals and drinks we kept the costs down. Saying that we had most meals at the poolside bar and though the food was good it was the service staff that made our stay enjoyable. Every member of staff from the gardener to the resort manager greeted us with smiles and a chat.We are already planning for a return visit next year.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank staynaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philipdewar, Resident Manager at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 August 2009
Many thanks for staying with us recently and your kind comments. We are all thrilled that you enjoyed your stay.

Delighted to hear that you enjoyed your friendly Sabahan service and I will gladly pass the comments onto my colleagues.

Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2009

We used this resort to breakup our nights roughing it in the jungle, on sea turtle island, and Mt Kinabalu. It was a great place to come back to for a nice, hot, clean shower, and great beauty products in the bathroom. This resort is very clean, the staff is kind, and the rooms in the Tanjung wing are up to date and well kept. It is not exactly a resort of serenity, if that is what you are looking for. The hallways are quite noisy at night-we could hear children yelling and crying as they walked through the hallway. The pools are filled with children as well. The beach, though quite small, is much more peaceful. There are not many children there due to the quick drop into deepness. We loved the breakfast buffet. Once of the best breakfast buffets I have ever experienced. If you are in Sabah to experience the natural wonders and want a place to stay in KK this is a great place to do that.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clubu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philipdewar, Resident Manager at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 August 2009
Thank you for staying with us recently and for taking the time to post your feedback.

While I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our resort, I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused to you with the issue on noise from children along the hallway. Rest assured that we will be monitoring this problem.

I have passed on your kind comments about your stay experience to the team. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
1.5 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
15.5 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,068 reviews
11.9 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#12 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,331 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
Address: 20 Jalan Aru, Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A paradise for the senses surrounded by natural beautyA gentle breeze caresses your face as you wake to the sound of waves lapping the beach. The balcony opens up to an inspiring vista of sparkling coral islands and swaying of palm trees. Tunku Abdul Rahman Park, bordered by crystal clear waters and lush vegetation Sophistication surrounds you in a lavishly decorated suite inspired by Borneo’s rich cultural heritage. Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu, is a perfect tropical getaway, a luxurious tranquil retreat just a short drive from the city.Yet, excitement beckons as you set out to discover all Kota Kinabalu’s delights. Making your way to Kinabalu National Park, you are thrust into a jungle paradise of natural wonders, rugged landscapes and scenic beauty. From the Rafflesia, the largest flower in the world, to the famous Orangutans in their natural habitat, it only gets more breathtaking every step of the way.The afternoon is spent exploring the picturesque town of Kota Belud. As Sabah’s largest and most popular open market, you find gems of all sorts, ranging from handmade handicrafts to mouth-watering local delights like natural honey.Back at the resort, you look forward to a sunset cruise, which departs from STAR Marina, to catch Borneo's famous sunset. Not long after, you wind down at Coco-Joe’s Bar & Grill. Lounging atop one of the beach-dining platforms, over cocktails and a delectable seafood tower, you continue to enjoy the sound of overlapping waves on the shores of Sunset Beach. A pampering session at CHI, The Spa rounds off the day. With treatments based on traditional Asian healing philosophies, you lose yourself in an enchanted and indulgent journey, all on the resort’s private spa island.For every experience here, you are surrounded by natural beauty. And it all begins at Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Resort And Spa
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Resort
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Hotel
Shangri La Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing