We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room and personal service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2010

Stayed for a total of 2 nights.
We had sea view room with Kinabalu club perks which includes a separate check in check out area, full breakfast, snacks and refreshments during the day, 2 hours of cocktails in the evening.
The room was clean, great a/c (which we were ready for), great service.
The view from the room was beautiful and we could see the koi pond from the balcony.
If I get back to that area, I will certainly stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scubabunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,810)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,555 - 2,561 of 3,810 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2010

Our family of 5 stayed at the Tanjung Aru in seaview duluxe rooms for 10 nights in May 2010. In total we spent 5 weeks in Borneo and KK was our last stop before returning home. Our opinion of the hotel is as follows:

Pros
The hotel staff were lovely; very polite, courteous, welcoming and the service in general was excellent.
The location is great; close to the shopping and offshore islands.
Breakfast which was included was good. There was a large selection of dishes; fresh and abundant.
The 9 hole chip and putt course amused my non-golfing husband but irritated my dad who is a keen player.
The staff turned up 3 times a day to clean the rooms, top up the water, change the fruit and towels and turn down the beds.
We witnessed a pool lifeguard save a woman's life by acting very quickly and efficiently when she was obviously out of her depth and would have drowned. The lifeguards were vigilant and I saw them regularly letting people know when they were entering deeper water. Very reassuring.
The hotel was very clean and maintained well by all the staff.
Check-in was reasonably quick.
There is an ice machine on every corner of every wing in the hotel which was a huge bonus given the bar fridges don't work well.
Most of the staff speak very good English.
Like most 4-5 star resorts the food and drinks are expensive when compared to prices outside the hotel, however the quality of the food at the pool bar and buffet is good
When our 7 yr old contracted the flu and had high temps the staff organised breakfast in our room rather than the buffet and gave us a good deal on the hire of an in-room DVD player (although for the price you would have thought players would be in all rooms).
Kids club staff are professional and our 7 yr old enjoyed it a lot.
The Yacht Club down the road is within walking distance and offers very good priced drinks and food if you join up.

Cons
Bar fridges need to be re-gassed or replaced.
Although we have it in writing that our travel agent requested adjoining rooms for our family, the hotel was unable to do so and blamed the travel agent for not requesting it. This meant we were separated by 2 floors as they were unable to get us closer for the entire stay.
There is no free internet and the price of 5 AUD per 15 minutes is ridiculous given the slow internet speed.
The duluxe rooms are ok but given the price probably slightly below par other hotels we have stayed in elsewhere
The hotel policy of putting an authority for payment through on our credit card without our notice or authority left us in short supply of funds for the last few days of our 35 day trip. To make matters worse the hotel authorized double the amount accrued and did not return the funds for 7 working days following our arrival home. Might have been nice for them to let us know this was going to occur.

So although the hotel is very nice with fantastic views of the offshore islands, they need to review their booking and credit card authorisation policies. Despite this we would probably return, if we could be assured that issues had been addressed as it really put a dampener on the end of our holiday. All in all I give them a 4/5 for service despite being irritated by the cons.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DeeElle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2010

I have to say, Shangri-la Tanjun Aru is one of top resorts we've ever stayed at even though I'm such a fan of Starwood hotels. My husband and I spent 3 nights staying at a Tanjun executive suite w/ sea view. Highly recommend joining the Kinabalu club lounge deal offered by Shangri-la! They serve good snacks and drinks at the lounge everyday ( including cocktails and okay wines) so we enjoyed wonderful evenings with stunning sunsets after a full day. The other good part of the resort is island hopping (sipi, mamutik, manukan), all within 15 minutes. The place you take boat is right next to the resort. We only went to Sapi for snorkeling, but the water is very clear and fishes are very friendly, they will come close to you because they think you're trying to feed them! We spent most of our time at the resort, not only because the purpose of this trip is for us to relax, and it gives us everything we need. The food at Tatu, Borneo bar is great, there's a nice practice golf course, and drinking at sunset bar is an amazing experience! However, the beach and the water at the resort is just okay, not as good as Caribbeans. (maybe we're too spoiled by the Caribbeans?) We were told that there are flies on the beach, but it's good that it wasn't as bad as we thought it might be.

Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank yaachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2010

We had a wonderful holiday and the staff made it that way. The resort is very clean yes it is old but has been constantly updated so you would never know. The pool area is due to be updated soon. But was still beautiful with music and pool service.
We upgraded to a suite in the Tanjung wing I wanted to check first as I knew it was the older wing, wow, fantastic large separate lounge with a roll away for our son huge double bathroom magnificent sea views. Because the staff knew it was our 20th wedding anniversary our bed was decorated with flowers and we were given a decorated cake with al etter from the manager, fantastic. Room was serviced twice daily with L'occtaine products, beautiful.Our package included use of the club lounge, well worth it, breakfast served here as well as evening drinks and canapés and afternoon tea, great, although we found the buffet breakfast better in the main buffet just more choice.

We enjoyed jet skiing from the near by marina, which you can walk too and boat trip to the near by islands, great fun. The best fun was the sea walking we did and I am scared of water but this was worth it the water is so warm and the tropical fish swim around you

All the restaurants are great the buffet dinner at Cafe Tatu well worth the money. Did not try the Italian restaurant but it looked lovely. Pool service food was also very good. We found the food prices fine yes dearer than in town but very good quality. The buffet breakfast was amazing and this is what I enjoy most on holidays and I was not disappointed at all.

Now what makes this resort special is defiantly the staff and I would like to mention a few. As I had informed the resort that my son has a serious nut allergy Harry the Catering Manager meet us on arrival to assure all staff had been informed and on our first morning for breakfast there were little signs indicating what food had nuts, the chef also walked us around to inform us what our son could eat, now that is service, thank you again Harry. Next James at concierge what a lovely guy he printed out some traditional musical instrument information for our son and had it sent to our room, he was always so friendly, thank you. Marianna at Cafe Tatu one of the warmest smiles around to greet you in the morning always remembered our tea and coffee choices, thank you. Roystern also at Cafe Tatu another genuine friendly guy who our son loved chatting too, thank you. Harry who served us at the pool what a happy lovely person, thank you also.

Thank you for a great time can't wait to go back.
Louis, Michelle and James Sandri

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ratbagx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2010

We stayed at the Tanjung Aru for 11 nights and absolutely loved our time there. The service was impeccable and the rooms lovely. The hotel's design was just magnificent - in fact had the edge over the Rasa Ria, as it had a real tribal feel. The pool area was great and even though the hotel was busy the sunbeds weren't crowded together, with lots of shade for those who wanted it. There was a great choice of food across all price ranges alhough you had to seek out the offers such as the two for one beers in the Borneo Lounge during happy hour to keep the costs down. The food was worth the prices in my view as it's not often you get to eat BBQ'd lobster for less than £20.
There were other nice touches too such as the complementary activities, especailly the free Tai Chi sessions in the spa surrounded by the sea that the hotel runs. At 11.30 the staff would come round the pool with cold flannels, fresh fruit and water too as a treat.
The beach was fab, and it was not far away from local bars where you could watch the sun go down over very cheap cocktails.
Overall this was by far the best beach hotel I've ever stayed in - pure luxury and relaxation.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank goldenLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2010

We arrived at Tanjung Aru from the Rasa Ria. We asked about upgrading to the Club section as we had heard it was special. We got it at a reduced rate since it was my birthday. I received a birthday card from the staff and a large piece of chocolate cake(how did they know it was my favorite.
The room was lovely, roomy with all the Shangri La's wonderful ammenities. The staff was so friendly and helpful and made sure we had everything we needed in our room. The swimming pools were great and we spent a lot of time relaxing and reading there. There is a very small beach and small part of the ocean to swim in. This is really the only thing we were disappointed in, but, since we were at the Rasa Ria for two weeks and enjoyed their beautiful beach and ocean, we were very happy to be there.
We took a taxi in to Kota Kinabalu several times (15 ringits there and back) and ate at some of the restaurants, especially enjoyed the Indian Restaurant. Can't remember the name of it but if you ask some of the hotel staff, they will gladly recommend places.
We also walked down to First Beach and ate at the seafood restaurant. Wonderful and cheap.
The thing that made our stay here so special was the Club area. We had our breakfast there and starting at 5pm they had canapes and drinks. The Club room was open all day until 11pm and they had juices, coffee(good espresso machine) sodas, water, tea, very nice jazz music in the airconditioned room. There are also tables on the balcony. Great views. At 2pm they served three kinds cake. The staff was the best. So beautiful and friendly, They remembered what we liked to drink and brought it to our table as we were making our way there. I must confess, a couple of nights, the canapes were our dinner. They were delicious and plentiful and varied.
I can't say enough about the outstanding staff in the Club section. Actually, all the staff was great, but we were especially impressed with the Club staff.
Planning to go back to Tanjung Aru as well as Rasa Ria...Loved these two places.

Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
2  Thank klaukat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2010

I stayed at this hotel in September 2009 as part of a tour around Borneo and found it very nice. It lives up to its five star rating with friendly and attentive staff, and well maintained amenities such as the swimming pool. We negotiated a club room when we arrived and I urge other to do the same as this is well worth it as buying alcohol anywhere else in the hotel will set you back a hefty price and the club room comes with a complimentary cocktail hour, plus it is the best way to make sure you get enough water without having to pay the high prices of a bottle in the shop as you can help yourselve here throughout the day and you will get a nice big room with a great view from the bathtub.
The biggest downside to the resort is the cost of everything is the cost, a simple lunchtime snack (spring rolls) and drink came to about £12 per person which is very steep even for a five star resort.
One of the best points about this hotel over it sister the Rasa Ria (we also stayed here) is its location. It is only a short walk to a busy food market for some traditional food such as chicken satay freshly cooked on a hot BBQ and it is only a ten minute taxi ride into town that contains a large choice of places to eat and a vibrant night market which is well worth a look just to see all the wonderful things on offer. Plus, it is handy for the airport which is a bonus if you are moving around to places like sepilok etc as you are not stuck with long airport transfer or having to check out at stupid times in the morning.
Overall it is an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CM77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
1.4 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
2.7 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,189 reviews
11.9 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#11 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,507 reviews
15.5 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
2.6 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa

Address: 20 Jalan Aru, Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £158 - £320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 492
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A paradise for the senses surrounded by natural beautyA gentle breeze caresses your face as you wake to the sound of waves lapping the beach. The balcony opens up to an inspiring vista of sparkling coral islands and swaying of palm trees. Tunku Abdul Rahman Park, bordered by crystal clear waters and lush vegetation Sophistication surrounds you in a lavishly decorated suite inspired by Borneo’s rich cultural heritage. Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu, is a perfect tropical getaway, a luxurious tranquil retreat just a short drive from the city.Yet, excitement beckons as you set out to discover all Kota Kinabalu’s delights. Making your way to Kinabalu National Park, you are thrust into a jungle paradise of natural wonders, rugged landscapes and scenic beauty. From the Rafflesia, the largest flower in the world, to the famous Orangutans in their natural habitat, it only gets more breathtaking every step of the way.The afternoon is spent exploring the picturesque town of Kota Belud. As Sabah’s largest and most popular open market, you find gems of all sorts, ranging from handmade handicrafts to mouth-watering local delights like natural honey.Back at the resort, you look forward to a sunset cruise, which departs from STAR Marina, to catch Borneo's famous sunset. Not long after, you wind down at Coco-Joe’s Bar & Grill. Lounging atop one of the beach-dining platforms, over cocktails and a delectable seafood tower, you continue to enjoy the sound of overlapping waves on the shores of Sunset Beach. A pampering session at CHI, The Spa rounds off the day. With treatments based on traditional Asian healing philosophies, you lose yourself in an enchanted and indulgent journey, all on the resort’s private spa island.For every experience here, you are surrounded by natural beauty. And it all begins at Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Resort And Spa
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Resort
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Hotel
Shangri La Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing