We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #48 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Shah Alam
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice room”
Reviewed 28 December 2011

The room was quite spacious and they even provided a king size bed. The fridge was empty but clean. Service was excellent and breakfast had a quite a broad range of food. Gym was good and well equipped. Unfortunately due to the hectic schedule my children was unable to play at the pool.

Room Tip: Ask one the is facing the two instead of the hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khairos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    88
    63
    20
    10
See reviews for
30
64
21
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
346 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

My first impression of this hotel was totally wrong. When I stepped in for the first time recently, I was impressed by its furnishing and facilities. The location is good as it's close to a shopping complex. Ideal for those who drive a car as there are ample parking spaces available.

Room Tip: Any room can do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

This was a good, clean and stylish hotel for a bargain price. After returning to KK in the evening from a few days in the jungle, I was over the moon to use the good hot shower and the hairdryer which was in the room. There was also a TV with cable and we found a film in English to chill out to. I’d stay here again for one or two nights if on a budget but probably not for a long stay. I wasn’t impressed by the restaurant though. The food was ok but the service was poor; we were left on our own for ages and the food took a long time once it was ordered. The breakfast buffet the following morning was better and included dim sum.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smiller11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2010

Spent our last two nights in Sabah here, having booked two twin rooms. We booked here as we got a fairly decent rate and the hotel has a pool. We were arriving in the late afternnon so the pool would be handy for a quick swim.

Rooms were clean and comfortable with the usual hotel amenities. Nothing fantastic about them but about what I'd rate as a 3 to 3.5 star hotel room. And the rate we got was quite reasonable.

The hotel is a good 10-15 minute walk from the city centre, so location is not ideal.

Staff were friendly and helpful. Serviced was mixed. Had a maintainance problem in one of the rooms that was rctified quickly. However I ordered a beer at the poolside bar which took 15-20 minutes to arrive

I'd recommend this hotel and stay here again if only staying a night or two in KK. For a longer stay, I'd probably look elsewhere, unless got a really good rate

Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SKI_64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
293 reviews
206 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2010

We had a good experience staying at the Palace hotel (not to be confused with the Berjaya Palace) for one night. I would not recommend a long stay, but as a stopover hotel or if you are on a budget it is fine.

Taxi from the airport to the hotel was 30 MR.

I wasn't expecting too much since I paid only $60 for the three of us for one night. I was pleasantly surprised. The dinner was quite good and the included breakfast too. The room looks simple but still has all amenities, including flat screen TV, fridge, small but ok bathroom, decent beds and decent airco.

It is not in the centre of Kota Kinabalu (a stiff 20 minute walk along a big road) but then again there is not much to do/see in the centre except one decent shopping mall.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2010

we stayed for 3 nights - thankfully not nay longer as the hotel is closer to 2 star than the stated star ratings. the staff we're friendly but not very helpful, breakfast very basic and the pool was closed thoughout our stay (which we were unaware of when we booked).
the make matters worse, the hotel expereinced a water shortage and the staff didnt bother to inform the guests!!!
the room was large with good views and that's about it. if you're looking for a basic, cheap place to just sleep, then book here...if you're looking for more, then avoid!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ATH04KAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2010

Was frustrated with the hotels' decision to close the swimming pool starting from 3.00p.m. on 7 August 2010 for a private party. Later, found out that the private party was for the hotel manager's son/daughter birthday party. Instead of organizing the party elsewhere, the hotel put the personal interest of the employee above the needs and wants of their paying guests....top class attitude for a hotel that used to be marred with bad reputation on services and facilities... keep it up and history will repeat itself...

During the function, you can see several hotel guests, some with little kids, standing at the restaurant balcony overlooking the swimming pool where the event was held. Did the sellfish manager offered the guests to join in? NOPE...totally being ignored...yes...keep it up and sooner or later you'll notice customers ignoring your hotel, your business...

It is such a sad thing to see...a hotel that is uniquely designed in an equally unique location, and has gone through extensive renovation...being managed by a team/person that obviously doesn't know to separate personal and business matters. For crying out loud...this is a hotel...a hospitality operation...not some palm oil farm or barnyard!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ahmeedadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,158 reviews
5.7 mi away
Grand Borneo Hotel
Grand Borneo Hotel
#67 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
354 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oceania Hotel
Oceania Hotel
#23 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#10 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
413 reviews
1.0 mi away
Little Gaya Hotel
Little Gaya Hotel
#25 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
46 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
#20 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Property: The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Address: No 1 Jalan Tangki, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia (Formerly Berjaya Palace Hotel)
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing