We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Awful, but Pretty Bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #35 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed 14 March 2008

I travel in Malaysia a fair amount, and I thought that the price for a room here was okay for the room, but the service and location leave a lot to be desired. I had an accident before my holiday and was on crutches for this trip. We were booked in a room that was the farthest from the lobby and asked to be moved. We stayed for five days and were never moved.

At every opportunity, they managed not to provide normal hotel services. They could not exchange Thai Baht (Our flight had come directly 2+ hours from Bangkok, so I don't think we were the only people from Thailand there.) Room service barely spoke English and screwed up our order so badly we had to get the front desk manager to take it off the bill and order delivery. We asked for an electrical adapter and they didn't have one.

Bangkok was bombed over the New Years while we were staying and we needed to email people to make sure they were okay and to let family and friends know we were okay. The wireless service was not working and the very unsympathetic business center begrudgingly let us use their services that we were charged for even though the wireless (that is supposed to be free) did not work.

There is only a mall within walking distance, for everything else a car is needed. It is worth some extra money to stay in a more central area. Taxi fares can really add up and aren't always easy to find.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank sabai_sabai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

185 - 191 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2007

after we landed, our tour guide took us to palace hotel. we checked in and i was astonished with the room. it has red theme and a plasma TV. though not many channels available, but we managed.
the room was spacious for two and the bathroom was clean.
The view from the window was lush greenery and the AC was good.
Overall, we were delighted with Oasis restaurant as that one particular cook on 5/11/07 did a good job. the vanilla milkshake, the mushroom soup and our dinner was tasty.
we enjoyed 2 nights stay and we recommend the good service and stay at the Palace.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Magjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2007

So, looking for a half decent place to have a decent stay in KK, our agent mentioned this for a pretty good price. After reading a few reviews it seemed we were going to be in for a small shock... but being a little short of money, we went ahead with it.

We got there and checked in pretty easily and quickly, it was standard, a little dark but very friendly staff. Our room had two single beds put together to make a double, which is completely unnacceptable, (who enjoys sleeping on the spine like that) anyways so told them we had requested a room with a double bed, which they hadnt given us... so they went on to tell us that they had no more rooms untill 3 hrs later where they may be able to help us. However after 5 mins somehow they had a spare room become available with the double bed we requested in the first place... and thank god too, cause even though it was still not an amazing room, it was a hell lot better than the first, which had grime in all nooks and crannies, toilet was old and not taken care of, funky smell, and very dusty carpet... to go along with the fridge that was stuck closed cause of the grime, and when was opened, wasnt even working.

The new room however was an improvement, bed was decent, but carpet was very dirty, i'm not sure if the vaccuum cleaner has made it to that part of borneo yet... there were beans and sorts growing on the carpets in the corners of the room, which i dont know how long have been living there. the fridge was good though, and the toilet was a slight improvement, but nonetheless i still walked around in my sandals.

there was a convenient renovation works going on during our stay which nicely woke us all up at 8am with welcome drilling soundsin the room above ours, which they didnt mention before the booking... and then even better one day.... after the drilling from upstairs, we came back after a good long day white water rafting, to find that they must have drilled something wrong upstairs and there was a crack in our ceiling where water was suddenly dripping onto my dam clothes ! which also when we told them about .. they did fix but not once was there an apology ! mmmm....

breakfast was another interesting time... not all bad, but seems more like a buffet for lunch than breakie... but thats just the style there... anyways, more to the point, the chef indeed needs more time behind the pan if you ask me... he doesnt seem to understand the meaning of hard boiled eggs, even after he repeated after me with an assuring nod of understanding.... i wish i had the picture for you, but they indeed were not boiled but rather raw still... we cracked them oper, and perhaps there was 2mm of cooked egg white, and therest just poured out like i had cracked open a raw egg... mmm didnt order anymore of those...

apart from this : ) the service was indeed friendly, and it is ok, more of an adventure stay if anything... hope this helps. : )

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank markwb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2007

We arrived at on the 12-Jul-07 at around 1030am and were asked to wait an hour whilst the room was prepared.

When the room was prepared we booked in. We had noticed some noise in the hotel whilst waiting and were informed that the hotel was going through renovation at present and there would be noise from 8am to 8pm every day. We were not informed by STA Travel about this at time of booking.

We then got the keys for room 313. The room just not nice.

Issues with it:-
1)Although generally clean the room has stains on the carpet and furniture
2)We’d asked for a double and had two twins pushed together
3)TV had only three channels (all fuzzy) with no remote control
4)The bathroom sink had a crack in it.
5)The bathroom grouting was all dark brown and black
6)Shower screen was stained.
7)The toilet had green mould growing under the cistern
8)The bath had had a hole it and someone had attempted to fix it by putting plaster/liquid plastic in it.

Compared to The Meridian is was rubbish and it was only one grouping lower.

I complained to the reception staff and was told they were fully booked. I said it was not a double room but a twin and mentioned the issues with the room. They said they would ask maintenance to look into it.

Maintenance looked into the room and said that yes they would have to consider re-rooming us. But as previously stated there were no other rooms.

Liked I said we had just finished our trip and I was tired and did not want to start arguing with raised voices with the staff. I had enough and told them that I did not want to stay in the room and that I was checking out . I did so and booked back into The Meridian.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank NikC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2007

I understand the hotel already bought over by new company called NPC Resources as inform by the receptionist since March 2007. The service quite bad as the staffs do not know their facilities and services provided (mostly new staffs). The room that i stayed quite rundown. Dirty tiles in the bathroom, smelly carpet with stain, aircond not functioning well due too old airconditioning. Shower problem on hot/ cold tab and difficult to flush. Swimming pool water quite dirty as no regular maintenance. The coffee house's floor looks dirty, breakfast every morning is same menu and services i can say poor. Taxi driver very good and they speak english well too.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank PlanetBorneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2007

We stayed in this hotel on two separate occasions during the space of a week. The first time, the room we got was really nice. Very clean, and nice decor - with all the usual amenities - mini bar etc. Fairly high standard. The second time we checked in, we had specified and paid for a room of the same standard. But we didn't get it. The room they gave us was very basic, and not as clean. No real amenities either. We complained to front desk and they gave us the standard of room that we had originally asked for. The front desk staff were very helpful, but it was annoying not to be given what we had paid for. Otherwise, the hotel was in a decent location and of a good standard. I would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emski78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2007

For 45AUD a night in KK I expect better. The main problem with this hotel is the awful smell which we surmised to be emanating from the air conditioning system. It permeated the entire hotel and makes the stay kind of unpleasant. I suspect that it is due to some kind of mould in the airconditioning system.

My wife couldn't sleep at all because of the smell. I found it tolerable but wouldn't choose to stay here again. For RM250 a night you could stay at much nicer hotels right in town like hotel new capital or kinabalu daya hotel. they are much closer to the waterfront and shops and about RM 100-140 each.

Don't stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yoonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
5.7 mi away
Grand Borneo Hotel
Grand Borneo Hotel
#63 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
369 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sabah Oriental Hotel
Sabah Oriental Hotel
#46 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
309 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
#20 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#11 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
488 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#14 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
342 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
#15 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Address: No 1 Jalan Tangki, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia (Formerly Berjaya Palace Hotel)
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#13 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £30 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing