We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but very poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #39 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights. Staff were very friendly but the service was awful. First day my room wasn't cleaned until 5pm. Next day it was cleaned but the tea/coffee etc weren't replaced and my friends' room didn't have the towels replaced. I had a standard room which is in the basement and has no windows which was not so good. Also the hotel wifi doesn't reach these lower rooms. However the room itself was OK, clean and comfortable and the toiletries were adequate, though no moisturiser. Slippers were provided. The shower water was really hot in the evening but only luke warm late at night and in the morning.
The service at breakfast was terrible. The used plates were not removed, we had to ask for them to be cleared. The food selection was good, but the bakery items were stale every day. And the dim sum were cold, as if they'd been stored overnight.
The swimming pool was murky, you couldn't see the bottom.
They were playing Christmas songs in mid Nov. That discouraged us from using the bar!
Having said all this it is a nice hotel. Only negative thing is the location, you really need a taxi to go anywhere and taxis in KK are expensive.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizinKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

126 - 132 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2012

This hotel was lovely, the room was very clean and had everything that you might need. The pool and gym were a good size and the restaurant very handy. The only negatives would be that the food in the restaurant is slightly overpriced for what you get and that it is a bit of a walk to town on motorway style roads. However,there is a free shuttle 3 times daily and a cab only costs 15 ringgit. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Ever first time to stayed a four stars that do not provide complete set of toiletries (no toothpaste, toothbrush, comb, cotton buds) and room slippers. Even upon request from the housekeeping, they said those will not be provided to standard room. Also, no mineral water was provided. Not satisfied with the foods provided at the Hotel. Anyway, service at the reception was good. Receptionist are polite and smile always.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeeLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

KK has some huge waterfront hotels which amount to three times the price of The Palace. Don't bother. Stay closer to the Uni at the new hotels there. For town hotels, most are either too posh or too shabby. This is middle of the road. The good side first - the meals area looks out over the pool to the rainforest behind. This is great. Go for a room facing the hill. Any with city views are noisy and I mean noisy! The hige exhausts from the shopping complex and the compressor noise from the individual air cons situated outside each room makes this hotel a noise phobic's nightmare. Breakfast was variable with "off" laksa sauce. But I had the runs from the afternoon tea at the Hyatt. I must say that was a magnificent affair with the best sweets ever - local coffee from Tenom and Sabah tea, mud cake made from local cacao are the best! Don't overdo it. Back to The Palace - looks great on the hill - inside is OK, functional, comfortable.

Room Tip: the rooms vary in price according to 1. no window 2. one window (small) 3. two windows (small). Prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NibbanAh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We stayed there for two weeks at the start of September, lovely hotel with lovely staff too. Very helpful and friendly. The gym was great , including the steam room, and pool the perfect size. Breakfast was lovely, with wide range of foods. We all loved the freshly made waffles and omelette in the morning. The fruit selection was great too. After breakfast we lounged by the pool, very relaxing and comfortable. Staff member named Ray was extremely helpful and friendly. Gave us all the right information and advised us to do many activities including jungle treks which was great fun. A girl at the desk also asked us out on Friday night and took us to the 'bed' club In town, great fun!!! Overall I would totally recommend this hotel!! You will love it!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loga S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

The staff were really really amazing!! The room was lovely and I think it was good value if a bit expensive. The food and pool area were great. The hotel is not in the city and its quite a walk so we had to get a few taxis! When we came back to KK on our way home at the end of our trip we stayed here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AudreyMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012 via mobile

This hotel is awesome and it is more on protecting the earth ! I have a stay here for 3 days 2 nights .... Moreover , it have shuttle bas service and good view of Kota Kinabalu .... During the stay , the staff was very friendly and nice and lastly , good connection of WIFi

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thony0912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.6 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#11 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
469 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sabah Oriental Hotel
Sabah Oriental Hotel
#40 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
305 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
#19 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#14 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
332 reviews
5.7 mi away
Grand Borneo Hotel
Grand Borneo Hotel
#64 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
365 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oceania Hotel
Oceania Hotel
#22 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Address: No 1 Jalan Tangki, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia (Formerly Berjaya Palace Hotel)
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#13 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £31 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing