We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“thankful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #36 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed 26 December 2012

a nice hotel. everything is mere perfect. the food, services, pool, gym, parking, etc.. only apart from the city though but that's ok. i can go by taxi. the staff is really friendly and helpful at the same time leaving us with a good experience and will definitly coming back for sure. the things that bother me is the fact that the lack of ammenities.

1  Thank jojop834
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

128 - 134 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2012

Room is huge, modern and most importantly, clean. Beds are comfortable and flat screen TV and wifi with good reception is a plus. The aircon is not working in one out of the three rooms that we stayed in.

Swimming pool is small and crowded with people for most of the time when we were there. It seems like the pool is also being utilised for swimming lesson as there were parents standing around the pool, waiting for the coaching to end. Buffet breakfast is deicious and the spread is good.

Service standard is definitely below par, corridor outside our rooms was not cleaned, leaving the plates and rubbish on the floor. Despite informing the front desk to remove it, it was still there when we checked out. The female staff at the front desk are always helpful but not the other gentleman (presumably senior staff/manager), who appeared to be very unfriendly and egoistic when we requested for information.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raymond K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012 via mobile

Had four nights here at the end of our trip. The hotel was very clean with a nice feel. Rooms were a good size, if not a bit sparse, could use some more decor. Service was good, however food could use some work. Got the buffet here on our final night, the food was quite cold and not an overly big range. Location was a bit far out but free shuttle bus provided by good service. Overall we enjoyed this hotel with friendly staff and good facilities.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamstew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights. Staff were very friendly but the service was awful. First day my room wasn't cleaned until 5pm. Next day it was cleaned but the tea/coffee etc weren't replaced and my friends' room didn't have the towels replaced. I had a standard room which is in the basement and has no windows which was not so good. Also the hotel wifi doesn't reach these lower rooms. However the room itself was OK, clean and comfortable and the toiletries were adequate, though no moisturiser. Slippers were provided. The shower water was really hot in the evening but only luke warm late at night and in the morning.
The service at breakfast was terrible. The used plates were not removed, we had to ask for them to be cleared. The food selection was good, but the bakery items were stale every day. And the dim sum were cold, as if they'd been stored overnight.
The swimming pool was murky, you couldn't see the bottom.
They were playing Christmas songs in mid Nov. That discouraged us from using the bar!
Having said all this it is a nice hotel. Only negative thing is the location, you really need a taxi to go anywhere and taxis in KK are expensive.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizinKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

This hotel was lovely, the room was very clean and had everything that you might need. The pool and gym were a good size and the restaurant very handy. The only negatives would be that the food in the restaurant is slightly overpriced for what you get and that it is a bit of a walk to town on motorway style roads. However,there is a free shuttle 3 times daily and a cab only costs 15 ringgit. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Ever first time to stayed a four stars that do not provide complete set of toiletries (no toothpaste, toothbrush, comb, cotton buds) and room slippers. Even upon request from the housekeeping, they said those will not be provided to standard room. Also, no mineral water was provided. Not satisfied with the foods provided at the Hotel. Anyway, service at the reception was good. Receptionist are polite and smile always.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeeLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

KK has some huge waterfront hotels which amount to three times the price of The Palace. Don't bother. Stay closer to the Uni at the new hotels there. For town hotels, most are either too posh or too shabby. This is middle of the road. The good side first - the meals area looks out over the pool to the rainforest behind. This is great. Go for a room facing the hill. Any with city views are noisy and I mean noisy! The hige exhausts from the shopping complex and the compressor noise from the individual air cons situated outside each room makes this hotel a noise phobic's nightmare. Breakfast was variable with "off" laksa sauce. But I had the runs from the afternoon tea at the Hyatt. I must say that was a magnificent affair with the best sweets ever - local coffee from Tenom and Sabah tea, mud cake made from local cacao are the best! Don't overdo it. Back to The Palace - looks great on the hill - inside is OK, functional, comfortable.

Room Tip: the rooms vary in price according to 1. no window 2. one window (small) 3. two windows (small). Prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NibbanAh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.3 mi away
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
#20 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
543 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sabah Oriental Hotel
Sabah Oriental Hotel
#47 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
309 reviews
5.7 mi away
Grand Borneo Hotel
Grand Borneo Hotel
#64 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#14 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
345 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#11 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
495 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oceania Hotel
Oceania Hotel
#22 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Address: No 1 Jalan Tangki, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia (Formerly Berjaya Palace Hotel)
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#12 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £31 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Stayforlong S.L., Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing