We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice room, but bad transport” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #36 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“nice room, but bad transport”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

I 've been to Kota Kinabalu for 5days,
from 27/12-31/12
rm are gd( but it offer me a pool level rm, no view), clean and tidy,
independent toliet, also clean
the rm is big and the a/c is gd.
the staff there are nice and helpful
and the breakfast is quite gd, numerous kind of food
5mins to the nearest big shopping arcade

the bad is no wifi at pool level(but it covered the hotel EXCEPT pool level)
and the transport offered by the hotel is pretty poor
only 3 shuttle bus per day(i am not kiding, only 3: 11:00, 15:00 and 18:00)
so u got to catch a cab all the time (RM 15 per ride)

i rank it a 4, bcoz of the pool level offer and bad transport, or not, it should get a 5~
:)

Room Tip: dun choose the pool level~
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    88
    63
    19
    10
See reviews for
30
64
21
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012

a nice hotel. everything is mere perfect. the food, services, pool, gym, parking, etc.. only apart from the city though but that's ok. i can go by taxi. the staff is really friendly and helpful at the same time leaving us with a good experience and will definitly coming back for sure. the things that bother me is the fact that the lack of ammenities.

Helpful?
1 Thank jojop834
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012

Room is huge, modern and most importantly, clean. Beds are comfortable and flat screen TV and wifi with good reception is a plus. The aircon is not working in one out of the three rooms that we stayed in.

Swimming pool is small and crowded with people for most of the time when we were there. It seems like the pool is also being utilised for swimming lesson as there were parents standing around the pool, waiting for the coaching to end. Buffet breakfast is deicious and the spread is good.

Service standard is definitely below par, corridor outside our rooms was not cleaned, leaving the plates and rubbish on the floor. Despite informing the front desk to remove it, it was still there when we checked out. The female staff at the front desk are always helpful but not the other gentleman (presumably senior staff/manager), who appeared to be very unfriendly and egoistic when we requested for information.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012 via mobile

Had four nights here at the end of our trip. The hotel was very clean with a nice feel. Rooms were a good size, if not a bit sparse, could use some more decor. Service was good, however food could use some work. Got the buffet here on our final night, the food was quite cold and not an overly big range. Location was a bit far out but free shuttle bus provided by good service. Overall we enjoyed this hotel with friendly staff and good facilities.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamstew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
233 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights. Staff were very friendly but the service was awful. First day my room wasn't cleaned until 5pm. Next day it was cleaned but the tea/coffee etc weren't replaced and my friends' room didn't have the towels replaced. I had a standard room which is in the basement and has no windows which was not so good. Also the hotel wifi doesn't reach these lower rooms. However the room itself was OK, clean and comfortable and the toiletries were adequate, though no moisturiser. Slippers were provided. The shower water was really hot in the evening but only luke warm late at night and in the morning.
The service at breakfast was terrible. The used plates were not removed, we had to ask for them to be cleared. The food selection was good, but the bakery items were stale every day. And the dim sum were cold, as if they'd been stored overnight.
The swimming pool was murky, you couldn't see the bottom.
They were playing Christmas songs in mid Nov. That discouraged us from using the bar!
Having said all this it is a nice hotel. Only negative thing is the location, you really need a taxi to go anywhere and taxis in KK are expensive.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LizinKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

This hotel was lovely, the room was very clean and had everything that you might need. The pool and gym were a good size and the restaurant very handy. The only negatives would be that the food in the restaurant is slightly overpriced for what you get and that it is a bit of a walk to town on motorway style roads. However,there is a free shuttle 3 times daily and a cab only costs 15 ringgit. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahad Datu, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

Ever first time to stayed a four stars that do not provide complete set of toiletries (no toothpaste, toothbrush, comb, cotton buds) and room slippers. Even upon request from the housekeeping, they said those will not be provided to standard room. Also, no mineral water was provided. Not satisfied with the foods provided at the Hotel. Anyway, service at the reception was good. Receptionist are polite and smile always.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeeLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
2.6 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
3.1 mi away
Oceania Hotel
Oceania Hotel
#23 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
2.9 mi away
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
#19 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Grand Borneo Hotel
Grand Borneo Hotel
#62 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
2.7 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#10 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
#13 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Property: The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Address: No 1 Jalan Tangki, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia (Formerly Berjaya Palace Hotel)
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing