We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly staff and good breakfast.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #38 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed 16 February 2013 via mobile

Really nice Hotel, Clean and the staff are very helpful. The breakfast is really good and fresch. They have a nice gym and pool. I enjoyed staying at this Hotel. It's located 15-20min walking distance from the centre(nice way to explore the area), but they have a free shuttlebus service.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyJosefin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
There are newer reviews for The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

115 - 121 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2013 via mobile

Such a comfortable, relaxing place!

Despite some of the reviews we read on Tripadvisor prior to our stay, the Palace Hotel is located only a short two minute walk from the city centre. It's a great place to stay with friendly staff, lovely food at the restaurant, a nice pool, clean modern decoration, and excellent modern rooms with a great shower!

We would definitely stay here if we were in Kota Kinabalu again, had all the hallmarks of a modern 4 star hotel from the UK!

Enjoy!...

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike_Lydia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

The Palace Hotel check all our boxes: great pool, clean rooms, breakfast included... It became an oasis in KK - a place we enjoyed coming back to. The rooms were very comfortable and fully-equipped: A/C, TV, great showers, firm mattresses. The pool is great - workout facilities available, plus a garden area and sauna!

It's not a 'local' experience, but for affordable comfort in KK, the Palace Hotel can't be beat!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravFamFour-TF4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013 via mobile

Booked a room through agoda. The hotel is situated just outside the city center. They offer great service and a nice pool and fitness center.
Good place to relax after some jungle adventures. Great breakfast menu! Everything from dumplings to chocopops.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karloos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

I 've been to Kota Kinabalu for 5days,
from 27/12-31/12
rm are gd( but it offer me a pool level rm, no view), clean and tidy,
independent toliet, also clean
the rm is big and the a/c is gd.
the staff there are nice and helpful
and the breakfast is quite gd, numerous kind of food
5mins to the nearest big shopping arcade

the bad is no wifi at pool level(but it covered the hotel EXCEPT pool level)
and the transport offered by the hotel is pretty poor
only 3 shuttle bus per day(i am not kiding, only 3: 11:00, 15:00 and 18:00)
so u got to catch a cab all the time (RM 15 per ride)

i rank it a 4, bcoz of the pool level offer and bad transport, or not, it should get a 5~
:)

Room Tip: dun choose the pool level~
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

a nice hotel. everything is mere perfect. the food, services, pool, gym, parking, etc.. only apart from the city though but that's ok. i can go by taxi. the staff is really friendly and helpful at the same time leaving us with a good experience and will definitly coming back for sure. the things that bother me is the fact that the lack of ammenities.

1  Thank jojop834
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 December 2012

Room is huge, modern and most importantly, clean. Beds are comfortable and flat screen TV and wifi with good reception is a plus. The aircon is not working in one out of the three rooms that we stayed in.

Swimming pool is small and crowded with people for most of the time when we were there. It seems like the pool is also being utilised for swimming lesson as there were parents standing around the pool, waiting for the coaching to end. Buffet breakfast is deicious and the spread is good.

Service standard is definitely below par, corridor outside our rooms was not cleaned, leaving the plates and rubbish on the floor. Despite informing the front desk to remove it, it was still there when we checked out. The female staff at the front desk are always helpful but not the other gentleman (presumably senior staff/manager), who appeared to be very unfriendly and egoistic when we requested for information.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raymond K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.6 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#10 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
466 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sabah Oriental Hotel
Sabah Oriental Hotel
#41 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
304 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
#19 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Oceania Hotel
Oceania Hotel
#22 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
188 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Klagan Regency
The Klagan Regency
#62 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
839 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#14 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Address: No 1 Jalan Tangki, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia (Formerly Berjaya Palace Hotel)
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#13 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £30 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing