We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #43 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Ohio Usa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A very nice hotel”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Wife and I stayed at the Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu Sabah Malaysia for 4 nights June of 2013. Both of us are very seasoned travelers, so we know a nice hotel when we stay in one. We picked the Palace due to other reviews and are glad we did. The hotels service and staff was excellent. The restaurant manager ,"John," does an excellent job keeping the restaurant fully staffed and seeing to it that all the guest enjoy their meals there. The breakfast that comes with your room was a very wide variety of things, and all was very good. Since part of my background has covered home renovation in the USA, I noticed 3 minor issues with our room, to which I jotted down and left with the front desk clerk. To my surprise 2 maint. men appeared at our door, "412," within a few minutes and corrected these minor issues immediately. It is a 25 minute walk down to the water front, "which the wife and I did twice, down and back," but they do offer a shuttle bus 3 times daily if you would rather ride. The staff also are very good at arranging local sight seeing trips for their guest also. The room was very spacious and comfortable, with all that we would expect from a 4 star hotel. We would definitely stay there on our next trip to Kota Kinabalu. Mr. Eric A. H.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the hill, or back of hotel and on a upper floor, "3 - 4 - 5."
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EricOhioUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    89
    64
    20
    10
See reviews for
32
64
21
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Verona, Italia
Level Contributor
201 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

New and modern hotel,a little bit out of the city center (you need a taxi to move). Rooms are big enough and clean. Breakfast is very good,and "the tangerine" restaurant also. Service and receptionists are helpful. Price is adequate..
Only a notation: if you can choose please don't take the rooms at the first floor because the pianobar of the lounge area plays loud music until late

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank totuccio83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

I booked this hotel mainly because it has a pool. It is a little bit out of town but a 15 min walk will get you to nice restaurants and shopping. All shopping destinations are only a 10 min taxi drive away and costs only $5.00 approx. The hotel is really great. The staff are lovely and very helpful. I cannot fault it apart from the shortage of towels at the pool all the time but not a big drama. Overall loved our stay here.

Room Tip: We were happy with our room. Good size and clean. I don't know if all the rooms are the same b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phantomrose101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We had a very pleasant 7 night stay and would definitely come back. The rooms were comfortable and large with views of the greenery, and the staff friendly. The breakfast was adequate with a nice variety. When we complained that the used dishes were piling up and not taken away during our first 2 days, we noticed a great improvement the following days. We used the shuttle bus to the city centre which was a great addition to the service. The IT Manager was very helpful and always available when needed. And many thanks to The General Manager for extending our check out time. We were most grateful especially as we were not charged for this. We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
431 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 713 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I stayed here together with my friends in 2006 in a Deluxe room. The location is around 20mins away from the airport. Room is okay, have two double size bed, TV and shower bathroom. Their hotel have sauna, swimming pool and videoke bar in level 1.

Breakfast is okay, have quite numbers of varieties of food to choose from and we had our group tour arranged by them which is "water rafting".

All in all, I had a good stay but maybe I will try some other hotels, for next stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selangor
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

This is my second stay at Palace Hotel, the first time was last year March 2012. The lobby of the hotel is beautiful, the room is clean and as well as the bathroom. I like the breakfast because they have more choices (dim sum, local Sabah food, western food and many more). Excellent stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BeeLing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vinslöv
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

This was our third season at the Palace &we were unsure of what to expect, realising our expectations maybe too high. Sabah, Borneo was our third stop this Winter
Our first surprise was the lack of welcoming committe at the Airport, we were sure that there would be someone to meet us, but no - only the shuttle bus was there to pick up our luggage. The driver made a moment of some kind & there they were coming from behind some pillars. So we got our hugs afterall
On our arrival at the hotel, members of staff that were at the hotel our last season were,on the steps waiting for us. It was a lovely feeling of coming back home. A light meal was prepared for us - bananer fritters which they knew that we liked. During our meal our incheckning was taken care of. We sat together for a while talking about events of the last year - getting uo to date with what was going on at the hotel
Personal from our previous visit remembered our small peculiarities ; extra power card (
I have medication that has to be kept at a certain degree ), blankets, pillows, fruit baskets, extra teabags etc
We arrived a few days before New Year, we were going to go their New Years Party, knowing it was to be the same artist as the last time " Elvis from Sabah" ( very good ), but this year fell a bit flat, guests turning up in everyday attire ( shorts & T-shirts) & mobiles. It seems people cant do without those apparats for 2 minutes!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
As this was our third stay at around the same time of year, they knew that my husband would be having his birthday during our stay. We didnt say anything but we got a dinner invitation from the GM, also a surprise party at the hotel. They are very good at keeping "secrets" as we passed the party table a few times without being aware that it was us
It was Always pleasant to go to breakfast, with the "Good Mornings" & smiling faces of the staff. The downer on this was that they need to improve their English, too many misunderstandings occurred, especially what kind of egg you wanted
A trekking walk was made whilst we were there, plus a relaxing area med bbq
Another downer was that some guests couldnt / wouldnt read or understand the rules about the pool area. Some just Went bathing with what they had on, screaming or shouting, no regards to other people, small children in the adult pool, this was ractified whilst we were there by setting up a wall between the two pools. Housekeeping need to be on the alert for empty trays in the corridors, these colud be smelly after being there the whole day. Our complaints were soon taken care of
We warmly recommend The Palace for pairs, singles, & buisness funtions, they have lots of rooms for different kinds of functions. Very popular for wedding receptions

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oceania Hotel
Oceania Hotel
#23 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
5.7 mi away
Grand Borneo Hotel
Grand Borneo Hotel
#66 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Little Gaya Hotel
Little Gaya Hotel
#27 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#11 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
#19 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Property: The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Address: No 1 Jalan Tangki, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia (Formerly Berjaya Palace Hotel)
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing