We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #47 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth to Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

The room is big, clean, new and comfortable. The guests can get a complimentary of welcome drinks coupon once check in, so you can redeem the drinks during your stay in hotel. The staff is friendly. That is a universal adapter in the room. Hairdryer, safety box, fridge, kettle are provided,
The hotel is located in town but on a hill, the environment here is more quiet, so, it may not happening as you are staying at Jalan Tun Fuad Stephen, because lack of nightlife, but i have rent a vehicle for my stay in KK, so transport not an issue for me.
The only complain i would like to make is they always forgot to replace the new towel for our room after housekeeping, so i have to call and ask for the towel every night after i back to the hotel.
But, as overall, this hotel is still worth to stay and i will back again for my next trip to KK.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChongSY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    88
    63
    20
    10
See reviews for
30
64
21
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
BS
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We arrived early and was given welcome drink while waiting for check in. The hotel staff kindly made 2 extra drinks for my family. The hotel has a beautiful swimming pool amidst overlooking green forest and nature path. There is a shallower pool for children too. Good poace to relax and have fun with family.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelerBs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

I really liked it here, the staff were great, the mall next door has everything you would need. The only thing to be aware of is the lack of nightlife. You have to take a taxi to the city. Having said that if you use this hotel as a base, you can still get picked up for all your tours here. I would stay here again

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wadstorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. It is set in a quiet part of town on a hill and is a taxi ride away from the market area or you can take the complimentary shuttle to town.We chose to get room service for dinner as didn't feel like wasting 30RM on a taxi to find food.The food in the hotel was reasonably priced and yum.
The breakfast had a great selection of dim sum, Malaysia and western food.The waffles and laksa were yum.
I loved how eco-friendly and aware this hotel was.The pool was very nice too.If you felt like a massage there was a massage centre on the premises with competitive prices. The service of staff at the hotel was always very friendly and helpful and attended to our needs immediately.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank funnydude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed for three nights at the Palace Hotel in July. We had a great stay and found the staff especially ray the manage super helpful. He spoke English very well and help us find directions, fixed my moms computer and even printed out a map for us. The pool was great, there is a nature hike that you should try behind the hotel and that gym is the nicest gym I've seen in Asia. The price was very reasonable for the quality. There is a free shuttle to town too. I would stay again for sure!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank April O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stayed here after hiking Mt Kinabalu as we noticed that they had a pool and wanted to relax a bit. Unfortunately due to other plans we were never able to use it, but we did manage to swing by and it seemed reasonable. Overall though the hotel was comfortable, but we had a couple of issues. First it took us a couple of attempts to get the correct room. We had booked a king sized room and they'd set us up in a room with two twin beds. We eventually got this straightened out but the new room didn't have any towels. That was fairly easily remedied, but not what I'd expect in a 4 star hotel.

As for the location, it was a bit far away from the main downtown stretch but it was walkable if you're an active person. For those coming off the mountain, note that this hotel is on a hill and that's probably the last thing you'll want to see for a few days.

One additional note, the water in the restaurant is insanely overpriced. I believe it was something like MR18 for 500ml, where as you can simply walk a couple of blocks and pick the same thing up for MR1.5.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HelloFromSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

Checked in for one night stay in the hotel, was given two adjoining single beds, called the reception to ask to change room. Staff said will call back to the room after checking. Waited in the room for bout 10 mins but no call came, so we went down to the reception. No staff was seen making the effort to check for room availability so we decided to ask verbally. Was given a straight response of No :( Overall, room is just ok, Toilet can be cleaner as ants were found in there. Didn't like the flapping shade at night.

Pool was ok.. but water was murky.

However, we're very impressed with the breakfast selection and food was good too. Absolutely love the waffles and nasi lemak!

Overall, it's not too bad for the price paid. Wouldn't mind going back again.

Room Tip: If you book online, do book room with windows, else you will be assigned rooms in basement. (reviews...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willyyilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oceania Hotel
Oceania Hotel
#25 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
5.7 mi away
Grand Borneo Hotel
Grand Borneo Hotel
#68 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Little Gaya Hotel
Little Gaya Hotel
#26 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#10 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
#20 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Property: The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Address: No 1 Jalan Tangki, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia (Formerly Berjaya Palace Hotel)
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing