We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #35 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
“Decent value”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Not a bad place. Rooms are ok though nothing special. Wish they had a fan cos I hate air-con. Pool is a good length so it's fine for exercise swimming. There's also a nature garden and small walk.

BIggest drawback was internet - very slow. So slow that I missed my game of rugby! Wanted to watch it through live streaming - but the connection was so slow I couldn't even open the web page nevermind watch the stream. This was not a one-off - it was always very slow.

Secondly, on check out, the porter forget to order our pre-booked taxi, so we were late to the airport.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zambezikid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    93
    68
    20
    10
See reviews for
37
64
22
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

I travel often and have stayed in different hotels and countries.
Palace Hotel was an utter disappointment and regret.
Condition of the room was old. The toilet amenities were sparse - no cotton pad or bud, there were patches everywhere on the floor of the bathroom.

Our room was a connected room to a suite, and there was absolutely no sound proofing - with a very visible gap below the connecting door. We could see that our neighbour had their light on throughout the night, and we were awaken 4 times by the sound of their phone alarm at 4am in the morning! There were also creaking sound of the Aircon vent and the empty mini fridge. No bottled water was provided in the room too.

Lastly, Room Service food was poor. The staff came up with the food and bill for me to sign but without a pen! I will not recommend this hotel to anyone. There are far more better hotels around the city and cheaper (check out Oceania)!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 785valeriey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The rooms were a bit boring and noisy (at every room the dated air-con is just outside your window). The breakfast is nothing special as well, but there was just enough to grab a few things and order some eggs if you arrive at 9.30 am. The location is on a hill, a bit outside of the city centre, so you'll probably want to take a cab everytime you're going somewhere. Make sure you ask the doorman to negotiate your fare for the ride, otherwise they'll try to screw you over.
But, the biggest downside to this hotel is the staff: by far the worst hospitality I encountered in all of Malaysia or even Asia. On almost every occasion, they really didn't seem to care one bit about you.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T_Heavenly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

This place is OK. No better.

Things I didn't like: breakfast is very average - disappointing when you turn up with 30mins still to go and the buffet is decimated, and it's hard to find staff to request they bring extra food out (or even a fork to eat with!)

Also wasn't impressed that despite a 2pm check-in policy, we returned from climbing Kinabalu at 3pm, and were told that our room still wouldn't be ready for another hour, and would we mind waiting! Considering we'd been up since 2am, were cold and soaking wet after a cold descent of the mountain, this wasn't exactly acceptable. After a lot of persuasion they reluctantly found rooms... great... but didn't tell us one of them was a smoking room, and it smelt really strongly of smoke. Not impressed.

Plus points: it's OK value for money. The rooms are pretty new and quiet. Location is a bit further out of town, but they can normally get you a taxi fairly quickly.

Wouldn't choose to stay here next time I'm in KK.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mango212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

The Palace Hotel is reasonable in price, my wife and I stayed there for a week after we had done a 12 day tour. The staff went out of their way to make sure that we were comfortable, it's a friendly hotel and has good food, a gym and a pool. It was only a 15 minute walk to the city center and we would stay there again!
Highly recommended.......

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

The room is big, clean, new and comfortable. The guests can get a complimentary of welcome drinks coupon once check in, so you can redeem the drinks during your stay in hotel. The staff is friendly. That is a universal adapter in the room. Hairdryer, safety box, fridge, kettle are provided,
The hotel is located in town but on a hill, the environment here is more quiet, so, it may not happening as you are staying at Jalan Tun Fuad Stephen, because lack of nightlife, but i have rent a vehicle for my stay in KK, so transport not an issue for me.
The only complain i would like to make is they always forgot to replace the new towel for our room after housekeeping, so i have to call and ask for the towel every night after i back to the hotel.
But, as overall, this hotel is still worth to stay and i will back again for my next trip to KK.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChongSY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BS
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We arrived early and was given welcome drink while waiting for check in. The hotel staff kindly made 2 extra drinks for my family. The hotel has a beautiful swimming pool amidst overlooking green forest and nature path. There is a shallower pool for children too. Good poace to relax and have fun with family.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelerBs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Sabah Oriental Hotel
Sabah Oriental Hotel
#38 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
301 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oceania Hotel
Oceania Hotel
#22 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
184 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#10 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Klagan Regency
The Klagan Regency
#56 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
838 reviews
5.7 mi away
Grand Borneo Hotel
Grand Borneo Hotel
#64 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
362 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Property: The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Address: No 1 Jalan Tangki, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia (Formerly Berjaya Palace Hotel)
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#12 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing