We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Palace Hotel, Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, Malaysia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #41 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    89
    65
    20
    10
See reviews for
32
64
21
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2009

The hotel was booked by our agency and I read the reviews here and didn't expect much. We stayed there for 4 nights in 3 different rooms due to our excursions and overall quite happy to recommend to hotel.

Good
The hotel was recently refurbished and there's still renovation going on (the restaurant re-opened while we were there) and the first impression was quite sleek.
the staff are very friendly and the room is decent, equipped with flat screen TV.

Bad
the location is a bit tricky, 20 min walk from the city centre and it usually costs RM 10-15 if you take taxi.
There is a bit of noise due to current renovation during day.
we stayed in 3 different rooms and some of them didn't have power shower.

overall, I'd recommend it but beware of the location!

  • Liked — friendly staff
  • Disliked — location, noise
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank suyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2008

We needed one night's stay in KK, awaiting a flight to Sandakan early the next morning.

The taxi ride was only about 12 minutes from the airport and the driver knew where to go when we said "Palace Hotel". Take note that this hotel, despite its name, is NOT part of the Bejaya hotel group. Located on a small hilltop, is had the markings of grandeur in a time gone by (from outside)

Having read the reviews, we knew what to expect, but we just needed a clean place to sleep and hoped for the best......

We arrived at 9pm and enjoyed a mediocre meal in the restaurant, nothing to complain, neither to write home about. The check in was smooth and staff service adquate (very little conversation due to language but no problem)

Our double room was surprisingly spacious, clean and had all the standard hotel furnishings, all a bit tired but quite acceptable.

The bathroom had a big bath tub , old but in working order, and the tiles needed re-grouting but for R365 (South African rand) for the room for the night we concluded it was excellent value for money (hotel.com booking) and for our purpose ideal. We saved some money to splash on a good restaurant later in the holiday.

We only realised on departure that the room had a fridge in the cupboard.

As requested, a taxi was waitng for us at 6 am to take us to the airport.

Recommended for non-fussy people who need one overnight stay close to the airport. We felt we got more than our money's worth, after all we paid just about nothing.....

  • Liked — Location to the airport and price
  • Disliked — outdated and tired furnishings and maintainance
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HoutBayDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
127 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2008

I travel in Malaysia a fair amount, and I thought that the price for a room here was okay for the room, but the service and location leave a lot to be desired. I had an accident before my holiday and was on crutches for this trip. We were booked in a room that was the farthest from the lobby and asked to be moved. We stayed for five days and were never moved.

At every opportunity, they managed not to provide normal hotel services. They could not exchange Thai Baht (Our flight had come directly 2+ hours from Bangkok, so I don't think we were the only people from Thailand there.) Room service barely spoke English and screwed up our order so badly we had to get the front desk manager to take it off the bill and order delivery. We asked for an electrical adapter and they didn't have one.

Bangkok was bombed over the New Years while we were staying and we needed to email people to make sure they were okay and to let family and friends know we were okay. The wireless service was not working and the very unsympathetic business center begrudgingly let us use their services that we were charged for even though the wireless (that is supposed to be free) did not work.

There is only a mall within walking distance, for everything else a car is needed. It is worth some extra money to stay in a more central area. Taxi fares can really add up and aren't always easy to find.

  • Liked — The other guests were very friendly
  • Disliked — service, location
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank sabai_sabai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

Kuala Lumpur
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 November 2007

after we landed, our tour guide took us to palace hotel. we checked in and i was astonished with the room. it has red theme and a plasma TV. though not many channels available, but we managed.
the room was spacious for two and the bathroom was clean.
The view from the window was lush greenery and the AC was good.
Overall, we were delighted with Oasis restaurant as that one particular cook on 5/11/07 did a good job. the vanilla milkshake, the mushroom soup and our dinner was tasty.
we enjoyed 2 nights stay and we recommend the good service and stay at the Palace.

  • Liked — the room
  • Disliked — noisy air cond
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2007

So, looking for a half decent place to have a decent stay in KK, our agent mentioned this for a pretty good price. After reading a few reviews it seemed we were going to be in for a small shock... but being a little short of money, we went ahead with it.

We got there and checked in pretty easily and quickly, it was standard, a little dark but very friendly staff. Our room had two single beds put together to make a double, which is completely unnacceptable, (who enjoys sleeping on the spine like that) anyways so told them we had requested a room with a double bed, which they hadnt given us... so they went on to tell us that they had no more rooms untill 3 hrs later where they may be able to help us. However after 5 mins somehow they had a spare room become available with the double bed we requested in the first place... and thank god too, cause even though it was still not an amazing room, it was a hell lot better than the first, which had grime in all nooks and crannies, toilet was old and not taken care of, funky smell, and very dusty carpet... to go along with the fridge that was stuck closed cause of the grime, and when was opened, wasnt even working.

The new room however was an improvement, bed was decent, but carpet was very dirty, i'm not sure if the vaccuum cleaner has made it to that part of borneo yet... there were beans and sorts growing on the carpets in the corners of the room, which i dont know how long have been living there. the fridge was good though, and the toilet was a slight improvement, but nonetheless i still walked around in my sandals.

there was a convenient renovation works going on during our stay which nicely woke us all up at 8am with welcome drilling soundsin the room above ours, which they didnt mention before the booking... and then even better one day.... after the drilling from upstairs, we came back after a good long day white water rafting, to find that they must have drilled something wrong upstairs and there was a crack in our ceiling where water was suddenly dripping onto my dam clothes ! which also when we told them about .. they did fix but not once was there an apology ! mmmm....

breakfast was another interesting time... not all bad, but seems more like a buffet for lunch than breakie... but thats just the style there... anyways, more to the point, the chef indeed needs more time behind the pan if you ask me... he doesnt seem to understand the meaning of hard boiled eggs, even after he repeated after me with an assuring nod of understanding.... i wish i had the picture for you, but they indeed were not boiled but rather raw still... we cracked them oper, and perhaps there was 2mm of cooked egg white, and therest just poured out like i had cracked open a raw egg... mmm didnt order anymore of those...

apart from this : ) the service was indeed friendly, and it is ok, more of an adventure stay if anything... hope this helps. : )

  • Liked — friendly smiles
  • Disliked — dirtiness
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank markwb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2007

We arrived at on the 12-Jul-07 at around 1030am and were asked to wait an hour whilst the room was prepared.

When the room was prepared we booked in. We had noticed some noise in the hotel whilst waiting and were informed that the hotel was going through renovation at present and there would be noise from 8am to 8pm every day. We were not informed by STA Travel about this at time of booking.

We then got the keys for room 313. The room just not nice.

Issues with it:-
1)Although generally clean the room has stains on the carpet and furniture
2)We’d asked for a double and had two twins pushed together
3)TV had only three channels (all fuzzy) with no remote control
4)The bathroom sink had a crack in it.
5)The bathroom grouting was all dark brown and black
6)Shower screen was stained.
7)The toilet had green mould growing under the cistern
8)The bath had had a hole it and someone had attempted to fix it by putting plaster/liquid plastic in it.

Compared to The Meridian is was rubbish and it was only one grouping lower.

I complained to the reception staff and was told they were fully booked. I said it was not a double room but a twin and mentioned the issues with the room. They said they would ask maintenance to look into it.

Maintenance looked into the room and said that yes they would have to consider re-rooming us. But as previously stated there were no other rooms.

Liked I said we had just finished our trip and I was tired and did not want to start arguing with raised voices with the staff. I had enough and told them that I did not want to stay in the room and that I was checking out . I did so and booked back into The Meridian.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NikC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
5.7 mi away
Grand Borneo Hotel
Grand Borneo Hotel
#65 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
360 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oceania Hotel
Oceania Hotel
#23 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
182 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#11 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,173 reviews
1.0 mi away
Little Gaya Hotel
Little Gaya Hotel
#27 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
46 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
#19 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Property: The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Address: No 1 Jalan Tangki, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia (Formerly Berjaya Palace Hotel)
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing