We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic location; great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Ranked #6 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 March 2011

We stayed for three nights at the Hyatt Regency. All the rooms have been recently renovated and are very comfortable. The Hotel is located within minutes walking of the harbour and markets and three excellent shopping centres. It is also within minutes from the jetty which can take you across to one of the many islands for swimming and snorkelling.

We upgraded to the Club Regency which was well worth the money. The Club includes an excellent breakfast, all day refreshments and an evening happy hour from 5pm - 7pm which includes an excellent and plentiful supper and good wines, beers and a reasonable range of spirits.

The staff were wonderful, helpful, friendly and accommodating. We used room service one morning for breakfast and it was served promptly at 4.30am before we had to catch a plane.

Whilst some acquaintances of ours stayed at one of the more popular resorts, this place is so close to everything I would hesitate to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ippigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,513)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,084 - 1,090 of 1,513 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2011

I stayed at the Hyatt Regency on a work trip with 15 of my colleagues. The location was fantastic, everything was within walking distance and the rooms were beautiful. I'd recommend upgrading to the Seaview Room as the views out to the islands are fantastic.
The staff were lovely and the buffet breakfast had everything you could ask for.
The only downside was that smoking was allowed in the restaurant, however this is the norm in Malaysia so we just had to deal with it!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cat-aaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2011

Flying from Kuala Lumpur to Kota Kinabalu, we arrived mid afternoon. We were excited because this was our first stay at a 5 star hotel (finally could afford it). There are only two 5 star hotels or many 2.5-3 star hotel options in KK. We stayed for 4 nights included buffet breakfast and organised the activities with the hotel tourist operator. Greeted quickly at front reception. Our room was very posh. Had an ensuite with slide away doors, so it had an open plan feel. If you wanted privacy from your partner, you could slide the doors shut. Loved the rainmaker shower. Bathroom was designed both practically and beautifully. We needed extra towels because we were given only one towel. However when brought to their attention, we received extra towel within 5 minutes from housekeeping. Toiletries were enough to use, but by no means generous. Small detail was that the razor provided was very blunt, fortunately I brought my own.
The pool was being upgraded however there was an option whereby reception could organise a visit to an alternate hotel pool
We had the buffet breakfast western and asian styled, plenty to choose from and restaurant had a relaxing tropical feel. On one morning we had a very early flight at 6am. So we requested room service breakfast instead at 430am, reception fixed it up for us. We felt like royalty. And the tour operator at reception was patient and accommodating. Helped us plan the 4 days that we were there.
Kota Kinabalu is going through some changes, there was still areas that are run down and needed upgrading. When you step out of your 5 star hotel and onto the streets, you see the vast differences in wealth. Hopefully tourism will help the local people as much as possible. However Malaysian people are very friendly and you feel safe as long as you take the normal precautions.
In summary I would return again, next time there may be more hotel choices when I return. If you love seafood (who doesn't), then visit the seafood food court located 4 blocks away south. You get the see the abundant live seafood, choose before its cooked. And enjoy the satay sticks while you wait for your food to be cooked.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AVCHDv2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2011

I stayed at the Hyatt for 5 nights on a business trip but accompanied by 2 children.I found it to be a great hotel and the refurbished rooms were just fantastic with a great lay-out and luxurious tropical feel.The staff were great and the location on the waterfront is perfect.It's a comfortable walking distance from all of the local restaurants and shopping. I really recommend this hotel to anyone staying in this region.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank metairi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2011

We just expected more from a Hyatt Regency hotel.
When we arrived neither of our two rooms had been cleaned properly, including dirty towels dumped on the floor in one of the wardrobes. We had 2 newly refurbished rooms, and they are large and fitted out very well, but dirty and dusty surfaces, partially hoovered floors, dirty towels and uncleaned washbasins don't exactly endear you to a room. On the plus side when we pointed this out, the response was quick, and after that the rooms were kept clean. Another cleanliness indicator though was the length of time things such as crockery and glasses from room service were left in the corridors. The record was a tray with a plate and glasses which sat there for almost 48 hours. Given the number of rats we saw at night in the streets of KK, probably not the best idea.
2 days before we arrived we received an email informing us that the swimming pool would be out of action until the end of January. Shame nobody had mentioned that before! They told us an arrangement had been made with Le Meridien to use theirs and that transport was available. So one day we decided to make use of this, and when wanting to come back, were left waiting like lemons for 40 mins before being told to "jump in a taxi". This was all apparently due to a miscommunication amongst the staff. More like rubbing salt into the wound. Service at breakfast was hit and miss, one time I asked for more butter and tea 3 times before giving it up as a lost cause, and that wasn't the only time or porblem.
The hotel's smoking policy is another issue, in that the main area where you have breakfast, and where the NYE buffet and band were, was all a smoking area (even though there's a very misleading "No Smoking" sign stuck up high on one wall). Us non-smokers have to go to a low-ceilinged, freezing back room. I'm sorry but in this day and age in a US hotel chain, that smokers who inflict their habit on others get superior treatment than non smokers who don't, is intolerable.
The whole set up just lacked a huge dose of common sense.
In addition when we pointed this out, we were treated rudely and very unprofessionally by the "Director of Food & Beverages"
During our stay we were given a free night, a bottle of wine, and we ended up not paying for the NYE buffet, which was all very good of them, but we weren't looking for discounts and refunds, just a nice relaxing stay. Unfortunately there were just too many issues stressing us out for me to be able to write a good report.
We stayed in 3 hotels on our trip and the only problems we had were here. Wouldn't stay again and wouldn't recommend it to anyone.
By the way, regarding the 5 islands of the Tunku Abdul Rahman National Park, two including the largest Gaya, are now considered off limits to day trip tourists, as they are too dangerous.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SuperJonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2011

The view was breathtaking. Waking up by a floor-to-ceiling window every morning overlooking the sea: amazing. A bed you don't want to get out of. The room is amazing. Especially love the bathroom. with such open concept. We got 2 adjoining rooms which had 2 different layouts. Service is great. [Except that the tour guide based in the hotel wasn't helpful at all. Researching on my own was so much better.] Its central location, along Jln Tun Fuad Stephen makes it so convenient to go anywhere around the city. I just wished they had free wifi. The hotel still uses cable to get on the internet, and it's chargeable! :/

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank myeisha21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2010

We stayed for a week over the Christmas period.
The hotel entrance was very tired looking. The lobby is dark and in need for a do-over. The restaurant facing the entrance looked spacious but again, rather tired looking and lethargic. Lighting could have been better. The staff were friendly though.
However when we arrived in the room - we had connecting rooms with our kids - I was very happy with the big picture window facing the water. We paid more for this ocean view room and am glad that we did so otherwise we would be looking at the buildings around us. We were also given the 10th floor that we thought was helpful for the ocean view. It was lovely to look out to the water especially when the sun was high.
The room was spacious, the bathroom was renovated. However the water pressure was weak and the hot water was not hot enough. It was a nice touch to have the "rain shower" option but it would last about 30 seconds before you need to push the button again.
The bed was very comfortable with plenty of pillows - they had both normal pillows as well as feather pillows - which I thought was really good. Also it was plenty of distance from the tv if you were watching it from the bed.
The carpets in the room should be changed too. It was thin and old. And my son's socks turned black after running around a few times.
Breakfast was ok - there wasn't enough cooks manning the omelette, noddles and roti prata station. I saw many guests waiting patiently but a few had to ask the waiters if there were other cooks around to serve them. The coffee arrived lukewarm and for the 7 days we were there, the dishes were all the same for the whole week. I recommend the beef rendang. The fruits were hit and miss, sometimes fresh, sometimes stale. The smoking section was near the entrance, while the non-smoking section was at the back, which is about 2 degrees colder at the back of the restaurant.
Location - it was ideal that Wisma Merdeka is just about 10 steps to the left of the hotel. There is also a laundromette 2 streets down perpendicular to the hotel - helpful when we are staying for a week. I had a nice foot massage for only RM30 on the street down to the right of the hotel. We also rented a car to drive to Mt Kinabalu. We found that more economical than taking a taxi. We drove to the park and walked up the mountain till we reached about 2.5 km in elevation. It was great fun!
We would come back to KK again as there are lots to do but I don't think we will come back to the Hyatt again. It was not worth the money we paid for the rooms. Also, I cannot believe that we still had to pay for internet service. Do be careful and check your invoice as they had over-charged us on that.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greenpapaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
2,203 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
9.3 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#10 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#4 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
297 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
728 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Kinabalu

Address: Hyatt Regency Kinabalu Jalan Datuk Salleh Sulong, Kota Kinabalu 88991, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £75 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Kinabalu 5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience five-star Sabahan hospitality at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, the premier choice for business and leisure travellers to Sabah, the Land Below the Wind. This luxury hotel in Sabah is a mere 15 minutes drive from Kota Kinabalu International Airport, offering a central location in the heart of the city close to tourist attractions and stunning views of the famed sunsets in Kota Kinabalu. Unwind in one of our 288 spacious rooms and suites all exquisitely designed with sophisticated comfort in mind plus some of the best views in Kota Kinabalu including those of the sparkling South China Sea or the Kinabalu city surroundings. Dining options at our three Kinabalu restaurants and bars are a food aficionado's delight with some of the best food the city has to offer. Be it a dip in the blue waters of the outdoor pool, a relaxing massage at the Avantang Spa and fitness centre or a party at our Shenanigan's Fun Pub, our Kota Kinabalu hotel in Sabah has it all for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hyatt Regency Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kota Kinabalu
Hyatt Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing