We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“By the waterfront, in the heart of the city.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Ranked #6 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2011

The Hyatt Kinabalu is immediately welcoming and familiar, an oasis of calm comfort in the middle of humid Kota KInabalu. The building itself is old, but refurbished and I like that, the building blends nicely into the city skyline with its quaint curved window frames and Minangkabau-curved roofline.

The lobby has a low-ceiling, understated decor, dark wood accents and provides a visual
link to the city's colonial past - it speaks of elegance and almost evokes a sense of bygone grandeur. There are also slight hints of the richly forested interior of Sabah and its many indigenous peoples - as in the carved lobby door handles, and the tiling highlights in the bathrooms.

The use of rattan furniture and the dark wooden benches in the lobby further carry this
theme. Just beyong the lobby, natural light streams into the coffee house from the overhead perspex ceiling - what was once an open atrium now converted into this airy space where lazy afternoons can be spent basking in muted sunlight, in airconditioned comfort.

My room was large, airy and modern, with flatscreen TV and rain shower, yet the wood panelling, even the colour of the carpet, reminded me of the rainforest. And I loved the local touch - a pair of sarongs in the wardrobe for the use of guests!

One of the best things about the hotel is its location - an unobstructed view of the waterfront one street away. Sunsets in KK are absolutely spectacular as the sun sinks over Gaya island and turns the sky salmon-pink. Shops, restaurants, the fish market and Filipino crafts market are all a short walk away, and there's a shopping complex next door to the hotel.

Standards of cleanliness and hygeine are what you'd expect of a top-notch hotel. "Cosy" usually doesn't apply to big hotels, yet that's what the Hyatt is - comforting, homely and warm.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leeyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,482)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,046 - 1,052 of 1,482 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2011

I stayed in an executive suite at the Hyatt Regency recently, and was thoroughly impressed with the refurbishment that has been done in the past year. One of the oldest grand old ladies of hotels in Kota Kinabalu, it is now truly worthy of its rating. Well placed in the “happening” part of the city, and directly in front of the jetty which takes you out to the islands offshore, and 5mins walking distance from the city’s spanking new mega-mall, the Suria Sabah.

The suite is the largest I have stayed in, and stands out against the unbeatable suites of Thailand. The bathrooms are gorgeous, and its walk-through wardrobe has to be the best I’ve seen. The espresso machine has to be special… made my mornings!

The staff are friendly, helpful and this rates highly for me in any hotel. Stay in rooms facing the city and you get much more value, and upgrades as well, since everyone wants to face the sea. Wonderful views aside, the downside of facing the sea is the evening sun, which streams into the rooms and heat them up.

Internet was good, and free for the exec floor, but I’m not sure about other rooms… it should be a basic amenity provided for all.

Shananigans pub is part of the hotel, and is still one of the places to be in on weekends. great atmosphere, with live music. don't miss it

The Regency Club (executive lounge) was honestly a bit of a disappointment. Choice of drinks is limited, and the wine only just drinkable. Canapes were ordinary, and most disappointing was breakfast. Its just not worth it… I headed downstairs to the atrium restaurant for breakfast.. the choices were so much more.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorldCitizenMalaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Rooms were alright but didnt feel like a 5 star, still everything you would expect was there except for a bathtub. A soak at the end of a tropical day is a must.
Staff were excellent.
Breakfast spread was limited but of good quality. Only problem with breakfast was that it was the same menu everyday.
The location is awsome, you could walk everywhere in town.
Only problem we had was that although we were in a non-smoking room, the room reeked of cigarettes everytime we got back. We think its from below floors or from the airvents but that went away once the ac was on.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rasemhusani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

We stayed here after climbing Mount Kinabalu. Staff were lovely, room was beautiful, food was excellent.

The pool and spa were nice for sore muscles. Beds were extremely comfortable with nice linens.

The staff were amused by my hobbling and showed me the easiest, stair free ways to get around the hotel. Concierge managed to arrange a lovely dinner for us at a nearby Italian restaurant. In general, people were thoughtful, helpful and informative.

Location was good for exploring the city some. Close to the jetty for access to snorkeling and diving tours.

Room Tip: All the rooms we had were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dianathecookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Staff are well trained and the room was clean, modern and well equipped. Location is central, next to a shopping center as well.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisj28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2011

Stayed at this hotel with two adults and two children (ages 7 & 9). Room was great, staff gave us two foldaway beds for the kids with no hesitation. Staff were the friendliest we have come across and would go out of their way to help you. Location was fantastic with small shopping mall next door and within walking distance of all markets and food outlets within the city. Food within the hotel was very nice, a different theme for the buffet every night and a good variety (The naan breads are worth going there for alone). Fantastic cake shop in the foyer where you only pay RM4.50 per slice after 7pm. We will be returning.

Room Tip: Seaview room is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

We moved to this hotel after 6 nights at Shangri-La Rasa Ria Resort.
Location in the city was good and the sea views from room on 10th floor amazing.
Walking distance to most areas in the city.
Room was recently renovated with floorboards and very modern bathroom.
However there was nowhere to dry clothes or swimwear and no hooks in bathroom which was annoying.
The hotel did not appear to us to be tourist friendly, rather it was business traveller friendly.
There was hardly any seating in the lobby, only 2 hard benches and four seats around a small table, which was mostly occupied. The lobby was rather large but where was the seating???
To get to the pool from the lifts you had to walk through a restaurant, and after swimming, you had to walk back thru the restaurant with wet clothing. It made you not want to use the pool.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JellyBWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,146 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.7 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#10 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,390 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
699 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Kinabalu

Address: Hyatt Regency Kinabalu Jalan Datuk Salleh Sulong, Kota Kinabalu 88991, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £70 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Kinabalu 5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience five-star Sabahan hospitality at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, the premier choice for business and leisure travellers to Sabah, the Land Below the Wind. This luxury hotel in Sabah is a mere 15 minutes drive from Kota Kinabalu International Airport, offering a central location in the heart of the city close to tourist attractions and stunning views of the famed sunsets in Kota Kinabalu. Unwind in one of our 288 spacious rooms and suites all exquisitely designed with sophisticated comfort in mind plus some of the best views in Kota Kinabalu including those of the sparkling South China Sea or the Kinabalu city surroundings. Dining options at our three Kinabalu restaurants and bars are a food aficionado's delight with some of the best food the city has to offer. Be it a dip in the blue waters of the outdoor pool, a relaxing massage at the Avantang Spa and fitness centre or a party at our Shenanigan's Fun Pub, our Kota Kinabalu hotel in Sabah has it all for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hyatt Regency Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kota Kinabalu
Hyatt Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing