We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Ranked #6 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A fantastic hotel”
Reviewed 19 July 2011

A great hotel to stay in that is really modern and wonderful. Bathroom/bedroom split is fantastic with moving wood dividers. Bed really comfortable. Staff very friendly and helpful. Good location.

Room Tip: The rooms are very clean and new looking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ismail77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    610
    571
    163
    51
    20
See reviews for
304
458
112
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo - Brazil
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

The hotel is well located. There are a 7Up, comercial centers, restaurants and a new mall in a walk distance and near to the jetty. We also have dinner at the japanese and chinese restaurants and they were very good. As we don´t like buffet, we didn´t try the third restaurant but it seems very popular. The room is very big but there is no balcony - which was bad for us to dry our scuba equipment and the drawers were not enough for our clothes, and we don´t have much as we always carry our scuba equipment and have limited weight.in flights. The other thing that annoyed us was that in their advertisement they promoted a free internet (even in a magazine inside the room), but we were charged and they argued that just some rooms have it free.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scubana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We actually checked in 3 times over a 2 week period commencing 26 June 2011 and after the first 4 night stay where we were fortunate enough to get upgraded to a sea view room it was like coming home. The rooms are fabulous and the staff very friendly and attentive. A very nice place to stay in KK

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarryJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

The Hyatt Regency Kinabalu is an excellent hotel with a great view of the water. It is conveniently located to all of the things that you would want to do in Kota Kinabalu and is within walking distance of shopping and restaurants. The hotel is clean and comfortable and has all of the amenities that you would expect from a Hyatt. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone staying in Kota Kinabalu for either work or pleasure.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_Quick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyogle, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2011

We recently stayed in the Hyatt in KK with our 10year old son. We used it as a base to visit the outlying islands, which are a must see and then to go out to Sandakan. We stayed 4 nights then went out west and then 1 night on the way back. In that short amount of time the staff knew us by name and what our travel plans were and appeared genuinely interested in our needs at all times. On the 2 occassions of checking in our rooms were not ready and we received complimentary drinks (our choice of any on menu) and lunch!! We also received free upgrades to the seaview room which is so worth asking for as the view is heaven. The pillows and beds and bathrooms were so so luxurious. We stayed in budget accom everywhere else this was very welcome. KK itself hasnt much to offer yet outlying areas are great.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LandersFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Overall we were pretty happy with our stay here. We were put on the 10th floor (the only floor with baths we were told) in a huge room with sexy glass bathroom wall. Massive bed, cable etc.

However - asking the concierge and reception staff to do anything above the basics was like banging your head against a brick wall. We witnessed one very 'funny' exchange where the receptionist telephoned the concierge who was sitting at a desk not 2metres away and still failed to come up with a response to a very simple request. A third member of staff became involved and still no luck. Not unlike an episode of Faulty Towers.

Every time we left the room it was serviced within an inch of its life. Make sure you use the Don't Disturb signs when you're in or it is very likely you will be disturbed by someone trying to come in and fold your clothes.

There was also a fantastically funny singer/keyboard player duo who were hired to entertain bar guests in the evenings. 'Karaoke' springs to mind but we found it quite charming in its own hilarious way. Not for everyone I would imagine.

Otherwise all good and well located - if you can afford a sea view (we couldn't) I imagine it would be pretty great as KK is very prettily situated.

Don't take a taxi out the front of the hotel. They charge 40MYR over what you're charged if you walk out to the street.

Room Tip: 10th floor rooms have baths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabs_and_Loz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

The Hyatt Kinabalu is immediately welcoming and familiar, an oasis of calm comfort in the middle of humid Kota KInabalu. The building itself is old, but refurbished and I like that, the building blends nicely into the city skyline with its quaint curved window frames and Minangkabau-curved roofline.

The lobby has a low-ceiling, understated decor, dark wood accents and provides a visual
link to the city's colonial past - it speaks of elegance and almost evokes a sense of bygone grandeur. There are also slight hints of the richly forested interior of Sabah and its many indigenous peoples - as in the carved lobby door handles, and the tiling highlights in the bathrooms.

The use of rattan furniture and the dark wooden benches in the lobby further carry this
theme. Just beyong the lobby, natural light streams into the coffee house from the overhead perspex ceiling - what was once an open atrium now converted into this airy space where lazy afternoons can be spent basking in muted sunlight, in airconditioned comfort.

My room was large, airy and modern, with flatscreen TV and rain shower, yet the wood panelling, even the colour of the carpet, reminded me of the rainforest. And I loved the local touch - a pair of sarongs in the wardrobe for the use of guests!

One of the best things about the hotel is its location - an unobstructed view of the waterfront one street away. Sunsets in KK are absolutely spectacular as the sun sinks over Gaya island and turns the sky salmon-pink. Shops, restaurants, the fish market and Filipino crafts market are all a short walk away, and there's a shopping complex next door to the hotel.

Standards of cleanliness and hygeine are what you'd expect of a top-notch hotel. "Cosy" usually doesn't apply to big hotels, yet that's what the Hyatt is - comforting, homely and warm.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leeyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
1.6 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,068 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
663 reviews
9.3 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#12 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,331 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Kinabalu

Property: Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Address: Hyatt Regency Kinabalu Jalan Datuk Salleh Sulong, Kota Kinabalu 88991, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Kinabalu 5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience five-star Sabahan hospitality at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, the premier choice for business and leisure travellers to Sabah, the Land Below the Wind. This luxury hotel in Sabah is a mere 15 minutes drive from Kota Kinabalu International Airport, offering a central location in the heart of the city close to tourist attractions and stunning views of the famed sunsets in Kota Kinabalu. Unwind in one of our 288 spacious rooms and suites all exquisitely designed with sophisticated comfort in mind plus some of the best views in Kota Kinabalu including those of the sparkling South China Sea or the Kinabalu city surroundings. Dining options at our three Kinabalu restaurants and bars are a food aficionado's delight with some of the best food the city has to offer. Be it a dip in the blue waters of the outdoor pool, a relaxing massage at the Avantang Spa and fitness centre or a party at our Shenanigan's Fun Pub, our Kota Kinabalu hotel in Sabah has it all for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kota Kinabalu
Hyatt Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing