We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Grandis(Kota Kinabalu)
US$162
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$290
US$154
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$147
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Eminent Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)(Great Value!)
US$33
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa(Kota Kinabalu)
US$642
US$567
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Horizon Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
US$104
US$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$193
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Celyn Hotel City Mall(Kota Kinabalu)
US$37
US$30
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Jesselton Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
US$66
US$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Crown Borneo Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
US$28
US$24
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,564)
Filter reviews
1,564 results
Traveller rating
674
621
181
60
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
674
621
181
60
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewpedasoxtailrasamclub roomwithin walking distancebreakfast buffetthe south china seacentral locationshopping mallseafoodfilipino marketsuria sabahsunday marketjesselton pointkk citygaya street
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,072 - 1,077 of 1,564 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2011

This is one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in and compared to other cities, it was incredibly cheap for the amazing room we had. The deluxe rooms are HUGE with more than enough room to comfortably spread out if staying for a few days. While check-in was not the quickest process, the staff were very polite and helpful.

My only criticism would be that their WIFI was incompatible with an iPad. This seemed pretty strange to us and was inconvienient seeing they then wanted us to pay to use their "business centre" computers instead.
Overall an excellent hotel that we didnt want to leave!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

As usual, it has always been the best service whether it is room service, reception attendance and politeness, the regency club 11th floor breakfast or tea session service. I must rate it excellent and give an outstanding award to all the staff especially the room service staff's friendliness and their UN-stinginess in giving us extra pillows and towels. Basically when you walk into everywhere, you will see the hotel staffs constants smiley faces at you and greetings even the buffet counter chef!...Obviously there is not beach front, but the seaview room is definitely stunning for its sunset and some nostalgic moment looking out to the most magnificent Kota Kinabalu Tunku Abdul Rahman marine park scattered islands...
Hyatt Regency has a very satisfactory location where you can easily access to shopping malls, sunday morning Gaya Street market, the famous and popular Little Italy Italian restaurant, and now I must say it has the best location in KK when the latest Suria Shopping Mall has finally newly opened this year. Besides, it is also very near walking distance to the center for most dive shops are located.
It is definitely worth a stay with the Hyatt Regency at a not very economical cost, BUT with no regret!

Room Tip: Best = seaview Ok = Lounge and buffet cafe view (if you are ok with the night live band) Nothing to appreciate = facing carpark and shoplot and mountain
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jessie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

GREAT stay at the Hyatt - definitely the nicest place we stayed at in Sabah.

Pros - Huge, clean, modern rooms. Room design is very open - loved it! Bathrooms are massive. Hotel is also centrally located within easy walking distance to the markets, shopping, food and the boat terminal out to the islands. Would DEFINITELY stay here again, especially for the price!

Cons - I think they charge for internet, and I never like paying for internet! The concierge was not very knowledgeable when we asked about local massage shops (especially when I later found out there were 10-12 within in easy walking distance).

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveltrotter50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

I booked this hotel and was upgraded to a sea view delux room, which has a stunning seaview! I was sitting in my room watching sunset, beautiful!

The room is spacious and equipped well. There is no wireless in the room. I booked the room through an agent and was promised there will be free internet service. When I arrived in the room, the internet connection indicated it's a paid services. After calling the frontdesk, they were also to waive my internet charges during my stay.

The buffet breakfast can be improved by providing more selections. The omelet and fried eggs were terrible, the omelet was pasty and the yolks of the fried eggs were dishevelled.

The location is great! Walking distance to the newly openned shopping mall (Wisma Sabah), Markets (wet market and craft market), restaurants, tourist agencies, dive shops, banks, and the Jesselton Point Jetty where you can boat to islands or diving spots.

This is a very good hotel in KK, I'd recommend to my friend and definite will stay again if i visit KK in the future.

Room Tip: Got to have a seaview room/suite, the view is stunning
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wilwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We stayed for 2 nights in July for a reunion. The hotel's centrally located, and walking distance to everything. The hotel was recently renovated, and the room was modern and clean. The customer service's outstanding, and we found all the hotel staff courteous and friendly. Special thanks to Ms. Natasha Toyong (Reservations) who arranged a non-smoking sea-view room on a non-smoking floor.

Also enjoyed dining at the Nagisa Restaurant (Japanese). Thank you, Captain Alina, for recommending the "Kaisen Moria Bento", a special treat available during the Food Festival (Jul 9-22). It was the best Japanese food we ever ate in KK!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KK_Sotong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews