We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the room is just wow !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Ranked #6 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2012

I stayed on the room on the 13th floor (i think) where the executive lounge and my room is just superb. It has what i call the open concept, there is this sliding divider which allows your to open your bathroom to to the entire room. If you want some privacy, you can slide back the divider. My room faces the city, so there is not much of a view but the rooms which faces the sea had a great view. You get that view if you dine at the executive lounge.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Starsurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,515)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

952 - 958 of 1,515 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2012

As I travel to KK quite a bit, every now and then I splash out and get a bit of luxury. It's tough living in the forest and the night before a flight back to the UK, it's nice to be pampered and to relax and swim to escape the relentless heat. This is the Hyatt for me.

The pool is available to non-guest at a charge, and if you time it right, then you can happily sip your mocktail in the peace and quiet before the rains hit.

The beds are big and lovely and the rooms very spacious. The room service is quick and the bathroom is lovely. Hot water instantly and very very clean.

Overall the hotel is quite comfortable, everything you'd expect from the Hyatt chain, even if it's in Sabah. Happy to recommend, happy to return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank darlingink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Hyatt Regency, Kota Kinabalu once again sets the pace of other luxury hoteliers; standing fast to the theory that if you can afford luxury accommodation, Hyatt can and will provide it. From reception desk to the friendly bartenders, chef’s and cooks to the housemaids, Hyatt here in Borneo is as good as all other Hyatt’s, trying to keep pace with Manila Hyatt/Casino Hotel, which I believe sets the standards of all Hyatt Regency Hotels right around Southeast Asia. I say all these good things about Hyatt Regency with the exception and disappointment they have lost my corporate account, which I had for a little over 5 years.
Located right in the heart of Kota Kinabalu along the docks with great sunset views (if you are lucky to get a room on the west side of the Hotel), there are the usual spas and exercise equipment located in a area on the first floor so you can maintain your fitness while watching splendid sunsets. It seems hundreds of local eateries are in the Hyatt area of Kota Kinabalu. A stroll along the jetty and promenade will take you to some of the best seafood found in Sabah Borneo. If you would like a adult beverage with your meal or relaxation time be prepared to pay dearly for the privilege of even a beer. Malaysian is a Islamic State and taxation on alcohol is almost prohibitive, quite often you will find the price of a drink more expensive than your main dinner fare.
Hyatt Regency, never a disappointment (with the exception of lost corporate accounts).

Room Tip: Look for internet bookings for a better room rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank growler202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We had a fantastic stay here. We chose connecting rooms as we travelled with children. The hotel rooms were very spacious and clean. The bathrooms were superb. The kids also enjoyed the swimming pool. The service was also excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanjeewiE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

I and 5 of my friends went recently to Kota Kinabalu for holiday.

The hotel rooms are spacious and very nice. Even though some of us were given smoking room, we noticed that the rooms never smelled of any cigar or cigarette smoke. I am impressed with this.

One of my friend used the Gym facilities and was thoroughly impressed with the facilities.

This hotel is also near the Pilipino Market and shopping malls. The night life area is just right across the hotel. Well worth staying here if you visit Kota Kinabalu.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay_the_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Family stay in 2 Seaview rooms. View was sensational. Rooms were large and bathroom was modern and part of the bedroom- in other words not separated by a wall. Wonderful plentiful buffet breakfast suiting all tastes was included in our deal; Useful gym and pool. The best part of our stay was the outstanding smiles and service from the staff. My family and I loved the interaction and were very impressed with the warm greetings and happy to help attitude of the many staff everyday. We would especially like to praise Bester and Chester, who are great PR men working the foyer area and ensuring all guests are looked after from the time they arrive. Would come back to Kota Kinabalu just to stay at the Hyatt again and catch up with the wonderful staff as kids still rave about there stay.

Room Tip: Seaview room if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heat57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012 via mobile

Nice new renovated rooms that are clean. Love the open concept of the toilet with the room. Good location. Special mention to one of the reception staff, Emily, who assisted with my check in. Very warm, friendly and attentive, definitely started off my stay on a good note! Definitely staying there again when I'm back in KK.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saabgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,207 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
9.3 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#10 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
301 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
729 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Kinabalu

Address: Hyatt Regency Kinabalu Jalan Datuk Salleh Sulong, Kota Kinabalu 88991, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £77 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Kinabalu 5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience five-star Sabahan hospitality at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, the premier choice for business and leisure travellers to Sabah, the Land Below the Wind. This luxury hotel in Sabah is a mere 15 minutes drive from Kota Kinabalu International Airport, offering a central location in the heart of the city close to tourist attractions and stunning views of the famed sunsets in Kota Kinabalu. Unwind in one of our 288 spacious rooms and suites all exquisitely designed with sophisticated comfort in mind plus some of the best views in Kota Kinabalu including those of the sparkling South China Sea or the Kinabalu city surroundings. Dining options at our three Kinabalu restaurants and bars are a food aficionado's delight with some of the best food the city has to offer. Be it a dip in the blue waters of the outdoor pool, a relaxing massage at the Avantang Spa and fitness centre or a party at our Shenanigan's Fun Pub, our Kota Kinabalu hotel in Sabah has it all for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travelbag, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kota Kinabalu
Hyatt Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing