We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oxtail Assam Pedas!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Ranked #5 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Oxtail Assam Pedas!”
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Stayed one night to attend a wedding.

Generous sized room, large bathroom and nice amenities. Separate bath and shower.

My room overlooked city. If you can upgrade to a sea view it would be worth it. Hotel is right in the middle of town with a lovely food market immediately over the road. Big variety of cafes and restaurants near the hotel.

Fantastic choice of food at breakfast buffet including Ais Kacang! Their signature Oxtail Assam Pedas is defintely a dish to die for!

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Play T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    622
    582
    166
    52
    22
See reviews for
315
468
114
260
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

I have moved back to this hotel since it was refurbished. Stayed two nights on November 01-02, 2012. A great hotel for business and tourists in a good location, next to shopping mall, shops and food outlets. Filipino craft market and seafront restaurants within 15 minutes walk. Staff was friendly, price on the high side, excellent king size bed with extra pillows, room with city/sea view was clean, and good buffet breakfast. The Chinese restaurant is excellent. The signature dish oxtail asam pedas (spicy) in Tanjung Ria Cafe is also excellent. Bathroom has rain shower in lieu of bathtub (I prefer to have both, but can live with the rain shower). On this occasion, the drainage hole of the bathroom was stuck and water flooded a bit of the room, but housekeeping fixed and cleaned it up quickly. The driveway in front of the lobby is one-way and rather narrow, so your vehicle cannot park and wait, but has to make another round. Taxis are available easily as they are parked in front of the hotel. It would be the best hotel in the city if it stops changing for internet @ US$10 per day (down from US$20 a year ago).

Room Tip: Seaview room which costs extra, would be nice and the view is better from the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielChewMalaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Stayed there for a Wedding ( reception in the Hotel ) late September. Next to a shopping Complex , within walking distance of Filipino markets, lots of Restaurants on seafront ! Internet usage down in Lobby a bit of a nightmare try after 8pm. Front desk staff very helpfull and informative ! Very quiet and slept so well in cosy beds! Loved bathroom, big modern upgrade ! Used the gym, bit of a magical mystery tour to find it, but well worth the effort !

Room Tip: Cant hear traffic noise from outside. Perhaps not next to the lifts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snorm57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

booked this hotel from online, i was assigned to stay in skirting building for two nights. even though by the pool view and sea view, but very noisy in the night(even after 2am) because they have a pub downstairs. location is good becasue KK is a very small town, and it is close to a modernest shopping mall i think. suggest for business, not for leisure or family. resort is better, i moved to sutera harbour after that.

Room Tip: choose the room in main building perhaps better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetripthailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Just stayed for one night as in KK for a meeting.
Very friendly staff. Informed on check in that I had once stayed here in 2006 and was given a warm welcome back!
The rooms have been refurbished since then. Not much of a view from mine though as I was facing town.
King size bed, nice and comfy. Slept well.
I am used to Singapore hotel prices so this hotel seems very good value.
Oh and the oxtail assam pedas is fantastic!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view. Not sure if its more expensive though!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slimboyfat06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2012 via mobile

need better improvement in ur standard room or revise ur rate.situated in centre of capital kota kinabalu does not make you a top 5 star or 5 star hotel. Food wise hhmmm fine. Need a new look for room for better viewing...

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thomsonfamilys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We spent four nights in there during honeymoon, when I first walked inside,it gave me an old hotel feeling since it was a bit dark in the lobby. But after spent many days there, I really enjoyed my staying, rooms are very big and clean, breakfast buffet is great with lots different choices from south east Asia curry to western dessert. Near the hotel, there are lots pubs and good massage shops to relax during night, it's about 15 mins walk to jessie point if you want to go to ocean park. And it take about 5 mins walk to go Gaya street, which would be fun to visit on weekend.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
1.6 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,093 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#11 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,348 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
671 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Kinabalu

Property: Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Address: Hyatt Regency Kinabalu Jalan Datuk Salleh Sulong, Kota Kinabalu 88991, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Kinabalu 5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience five-star Sabahan hospitality at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, the premier choice for business and leisure travellers to Sabah, the Land Below the Wind. This luxury hotel in Sabah is a mere 15 minutes drive from Kota Kinabalu International Airport, offering a central location in the heart of the city close to tourist attractions and stunning views of the famed sunsets in Kota Kinabalu. Unwind in one of our 288 spacious rooms and suites all exquisitely designed with sophisticated comfort in mind plus some of the best views in Kota Kinabalu including those of the sparkling South China Sea or the Kinabalu city surroundings. Dining options at our three Kinabalu restaurants and bars are a food aficionado's delight with some of the best food the city has to offer. Be it a dip in the blue waters of the outdoor pool, a relaxing massage at the Avantang Spa and fitness centre or a party at our Shenanigan's Fun Pub, our Kota Kinabalu hotel in Sabah has it all for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kota Kinabalu
Hyatt Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing