We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointed stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Ranked #4 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“disappointed stay”
Reviewed 22 December 2012

Stayed there for 5 days recently.The hotel is surrounded by very old and shattered shop houses.The Lobby is old but the room is reasonably sized..
Breakfast is disappointing, with not much variety to choose from.Fish and prawns were not fresh. Cooking standard very poor, even nasi lemak was not of the reasonable standard, could not match with those found in hotels of West MalaysiaThe buffet dinner in the same cafeteria was also not impressive.There was no seaview from my room, only some old buildings.Big bus coulldnt enter the front of hotel, we had to drag our luggage from the main road to the hotel.Will definitely not stay in the same hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lan1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    594
    560
    159
    49
    18
See reviews for
297
445
110
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
shanghai
1 review
Reviewed 22 December 2012

Ideally location and walk distance to any most popular restaurants which you can find from the travell book, the room seems been renovated ,however, the cleaness for the room needs improvement, I can find dust on anywhere.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miss J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
441 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Hotel nicely done up. Rooms are of high quality. Breakfast was great. Service friendly and in this case including PC access. Hotel in a nice location city centre close to harbour side including boats to islands offshore. Very good value for money too - will be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GroningenCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, Alabama
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for one night. Everything was superb except I didn't like the fact that I was given a smoking room when my reservation was for a non smoking. They quickly rectified their mistake. However, there was no two single bed available for ocean front. I told them I will gladly wait. Room was very clean, great staff! If you like shopping, this hotel is for you. It is semi adjacent to a shopping center. I will stay here again because of the location.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2012

Even though this hotel has been opened for some years I believe their rooms must have been refurbished within the last couple of years as they seemed brandnew. Very spacious and I loved the sliding door to the bathroom as it makes the room look even bigger. I had a very short stay of only about 6h at the Hyatt Regency Kinabalu but even though I arrived after midnight Front Desk still managed to arrange transportation to the Bus Station for 6am the next morning and sent a detailled map to my room. Very friendly and efficient staff!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juppiduuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hongkong
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012

room is spacious very comfortable, bathroom and room divided by sliding doors that can be fully open make the room feel bigger,
very clean, view directly to the sea, we travel 3 of us with 3 different room, all were satisfied.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

This place has a mix of positives and not so positives, on the good side we have the location, very centrally located and convenient to walk, rooms in the exec. Floor are nicely remodeled and staff is friendly. On the opportunities area the hotel general feeling is tired and old, not much tourist information is provided, I was sent to a seafood place for lunch that only opens for dinner, it is a boring hotel with not much personality. Food choices are limited. Would not recommend if you want to experience Sabah, its beaches and sun

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlbertoMiami_Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,023 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#14 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Kinabalu

Property: Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Address: Hyatt Regency Kinabalu Jalan Datuk Salleh Sulong, Kota Kinabalu 88991, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Kinabalu 5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience five-star Sabahan hospitality at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, the premier choice for business and leisure travellers to Sabah, the Land Below the Wind. This luxury hotel in Sabah is a mere 15 minutes drive from Kota Kinabalu International Airport, offering a central location in the heart of the city close to tourist attractions and stunning views of the famed sunsets in Kota Kinabalu. Unwind in one of our 288 spacious rooms and suites all exquisitely designed with sophisticated comfort in mind plus some of the best views in Kota Kinabalu including those of the sparkling South China Sea or the Kinabalu city surroundings. Dining options at our three Kinabalu restaurants and bars are a food aficionado's delight with some of the best food the city has to offer. Be it a dip in the blue waters of the outdoor pool, a relaxing massage at the Avantang Spa and fitness centre or a party at our Shenanigan's Fun Pub, our Kota Kinabalu hotel in Sabah has it all for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, Travelbag, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kota Kinabalu
Hyatt Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing