We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location and good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Ranked #4 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
redditch
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good Location and good hotel”
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We had a good 2 nights here the room was excellent, the view amazing and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We moved here from the rasa ria and i was afraid i would be disappointed but i wasn't at all everything was excellent from the room to the food and service. We were upgraded to a club room as it was our anniversary where we found fruit, chocs, a card and a bottle of wine for us a nice finishing touch.
I would recomend this to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacqui h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    604
    563
    160
    50
    18
See reviews for
300
452
110
254
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kemaman, Terengganu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

First time in KK, location is superb, malls is next door, seafood is across the road. Beautiful sea view. Staffs is courteous and warmth. Nicely maintained even the building is old (good job!) not from where i came from the older the building the worst it become. Value for money yes depending on how much you want to spent to sleep. The room has a nice large LCD and channels are ok. a dvd player. Nice room overall. Don't mind staying here again on my next trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IzhamTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
105 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

This is the second time I have stayed I the hotel. It was newly renovated, though I understand to be the rooms only, since the lobby exactly the same as it was three years ago. Being a sucker for cleanliness, I was not disappointed. The rooms were great, and thats where it matters most. Love the way the toilet area can be opened to make the room look larger. It in super modern in design, and has separate compartments for shower and wc, with the basin possibly doubling up a coffee/tea console. So, we were very comfortable, while the neighbors look dilapidated, from our hotel room, Hyatt is only a stones throw away from the newest and largest mall in town, KK Suria, I think it is called. It is also near the market, art and craft market, and night market, so lots to do within walking distance, keep up the standards in the room, hyatt!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vguudeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

We stayed in Hyatt for two nights during the Xmas holiday. All in all, Hyatt has good location in the city, i.e. travel centre, tourism information office, famous small restaurants, and money exchange shops... The room seems renovated and with reasonable 5 stars hotel size and facility. However, the gym is quite small, and the lobby looks really old and dark. The service can be improved a lot when considering it is a five stars hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zzw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2012

Stayed there for 5 days recently.The hotel is surrounded by very old and shattered shop houses.The Lobby is old but the room is reasonably sized..
Breakfast is disappointing, with not much variety to choose from.Fish and prawns were not fresh. Cooking standard very poor, even nasi lemak was not of the reasonable standard, could not match with those found in hotels of West MalaysiaThe buffet dinner in the same cafeteria was also not impressive.There was no seaview from my room, only some old buildings.Big bus coulldnt enter the front of hotel, we had to drag our luggage from the main road to the hotel.Will definitely not stay in the same hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lan1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shanghai
1 review
Reviewed 22 December 2012

Ideally location and walk distance to any most popular restaurants which you can find from the travell book, the room seems been renovated ,however, the cleaness for the room needs improvement, I can find dust on anywhere.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miss J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
439 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Hotel nicely done up. Rooms are of high quality. Breakfast was great. Service friendly and in this case including PC access. Hotel in a nice location city centre close to harbour side including boats to islands offshore. Very good value for money too - will be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GroningenCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
1.6 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,039 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
653 reviews
9.3 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#12 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,319 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Kinabalu

Property: Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Address: Hyatt Regency Kinabalu Jalan Datuk Salleh Sulong, Kota Kinabalu 88991, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Kinabalu 5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience five-star Sabahan hospitality at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, the premier choice for business and leisure travellers to Sabah, the Land Below the Wind. This luxury hotel in Sabah is a mere 15 minutes drive from Kota Kinabalu International Airport, offering a central location in the heart of the city close to tourist attractions and stunning views of the famed sunsets in Kota Kinabalu. Unwind in one of our 288 spacious rooms and suites all exquisitely designed with sophisticated comfort in mind plus some of the best views in Kota Kinabalu including those of the sparkling South China Sea or the Kinabalu city surroundings. Dining options at our three Kinabalu restaurants and bars are a food aficionado's delight with some of the best food the city has to offer. Be it a dip in the blue waters of the outdoor pool, a relaxing massage at the Avantang Spa and fitness centre or a party at our Shenanigan's Fun Pub, our Kota Kinabalu hotel in Sabah has it all for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kota Kinabalu
Hyatt Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing