We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location but housekeeping could be better” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Kinabalu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Ranked #3 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Miri, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good location but housekeeping could be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

I stayed with my girl friends for 3 days in Dec last year.

Location - Great, only take 10 mins taxi from airport to hotel, you can access shopping malls & night markets with walk distance 10 to 15 mins.

Room - Big with nice seaview, unfortunately I found some ants on my bed even I have requested to change bed sheet twice. Also, they only provide free one-hour wifi per day.

Info center - We asked for local food recommendation, but the staff may not understand our request very well, finally we found some in reversely direction.

Spa treatment - Not bad and the price is reasonable, but shortage of massagist, suggest you make an appointment 1 or 2 days before. My friend highly recommended "acupressure" massage.

Overall is not bad but wish they can improve the room cleanliness.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlotte T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    553
    532
    149
    47
    17
See reviews for
277
414
104
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

Hyatt regency is conveniently located in town center with just a short walk away from the jetty and Gaya street market. Even though the hotel is old, the room is surprisingly well refurbished. The breakfast was great!
We informed that we will be arriving early when we made reservation. However, during check in, we were informed that no rooms was available. As we were at the lobby putting on sunblock before heading out (less than 5 mins after leaving the reception), we were informed that there is a room available. The service was generally good and everyone tried their best to be helpful.
However, going to the pool was unpleasant as one would have to walk through the lobby lounge and restaurant that was perpetually full with people.
All in all, good for a short stay.

Room Tip: Definitely not "city view" as it merely looks into some horrible looking old building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LyselleTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

I stayed 1 night in this hotel after climbing Mt. Kinabalu. Check in was very quick, we were handed our room key straight away. I enjoyed the hot tub and sauna, which was perfect for my aching legs. Then we sat by the pool and ordered cocktails, the service was very quick, cocktails reasnably priced and good.

The hotel is between the Jessleston Pier and the night market, great location.

Room was nice and clean, shower worked well, bed was super comfy, I had a great nights sleep and was fully refreshed the next day after climbing Kinabalu.

It was the perfect end to our trip, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WarmSand-82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpurl
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Sticky floor, dirty Walls,clog sink,clog shower room and dirty cups and saucer. Cannot open the curtain because of ugly view facing old building and car park. No smile from Front desk Male staff when I check in with my family. I can get a better hotel with this price. Over price and lousy Service!

Room Tip: It cost Rm 500 for a deluxe Room with very ugly view and requested for a sea or pool view you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shamsul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

First and foremost check in was a breeze which is already a plus point and makes a very good impression. Very professional receptionist and provide great customer service.
Location of Hyatt Regency is perfect for both business and leisure. plenty of eateries, pubs shopping complexes is within walking distance. although the outlook of the hotel is a little tired, the room is completely new with all new equipments. I believe there was a makeover in the guest rooms not long ago. Nice food at Mosaic, the restaurant in the hotel.
overall very good experience with this hotel and would definately recomend this hotel. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank globetraveller32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khartoum
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

Lovely room, but felt a bit like a cage without a balcony when the windows fogged over the amazing view. Central to the sea front market. Take note that breakfast is not included in the price. The kettle did not work, but was replaced as soon as we reported it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whoelseKhartoum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

I really enjoyed our stay in this Hotel.

The rooms were good, clean, great views. The hotel is very well located in central KK.

The Buffet Lunch was amazing, so much choice and such good quality

I can highly recommend this Hotel, we will definetly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,976 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#12 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#8 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Kinabalu

Property: Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Address: Hyatt Regency Kinabalu Jalan Datuk Salleh Sulong, Kota Kinabalu 88991, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Kinabalu 5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience five-star Sabahan hospitality at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, the premier choice for business and leisure travellers to Sabah, the Land Below the Wind. This luxury hotel in Sabah is a mere 15 minutes drive from Kota Kinabalu International Airport, offering a central location in the heart of the city close to tourist attractions and stunning views of the famed sunsets in Kota Kinabalu. Unwind in one of our 288 spacious rooms and suites all exquisitely designed with sophisticated comfort in mind plus some of the best views in Kota Kinabalu including those of the sparkling South China Sea or the Kinabalu city surroundings. Dining options at our three Kinabalu restaurants and bars are a food aficionado's delight with some of the best food the city has to offer. Be it a dip in the blue waters of the outdoor pool, a relaxing massage at the Avantang Spa and fitness centre or a party at our Shenanigan's Fun Pub, our Kota Kinabalu hotel in Sabah has it all for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelbag so you can book your Hyatt Regency Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kota Kinabalu
Hyatt Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing