We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Kinabalu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Ranked #3 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Miri, Sarawak, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

This hotel have really good service, from the receptionist to the housekeeping lady were very helpful n friendly. Room was clean, well kept, n equipped with the necessity. Depends on which view you like to have, for me i prefer the sea view. City view would be cheaper though. The location is strategeically in the centre of the city. U name it, suria sabah, centre point, wisma merdeka, gaya street and etc... shop till u drop n enjoy the sunset sunrise view at your heart desire. hotel food also not too bad. Would be even great if the hotel cud have more variety on the food. Swimming pool, spa n fitness centre are clean, and the environment is fine. Worth the value. Enjoyed my stay in this hitel. Defintely coming back for more especially their cheese cake. A must try.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adeline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    556
    534
    150
    47
    17
See reviews for
277
416
105
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

One night business stay. Swift check in and all questions answered. Room looks quite new. Spacious room. Big comfy bed. Plenty of hot water in shower. Ordered room service and was good quality and came within 20minutes. Rest of hotel not renovated to standard of rooms. Used a meeting room - it was set up well though. Refreshments and coffee were okay for meeting purposes. Breakfast is just ok - not exactly international hotel standard. Can't comment on value, location, spa as company paid and I didn't go outside!

Room Tip: Rm 1111. Near lift but not noisy. No noise from outside or functions downstairs. Rubbish city 'v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CCZK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

It's been seven months since I stayed here (just registered on trip advisor to post reviews) and my memory is a little foggy, but I'll share what I can remember!

I travelled with a friend of mine, both young females, and our stay was great. On arrival, we were assisted with our heavy luggage pleasantly and escorted to our room by a porter. He was funny and sweet, coming into our room to explain where everything was and the services the hotel provided. He made us feel very comfortable and welcome which was a lovely way to start our vacation. I tried to tip him and he wouldn't take it, which may have been because it was so little and he was insulted (I'm not good at exchange rates or used tipping!).

We stayed in a seaview room and the view was absolutely breathtaking! I couldn't believe my eyes. The windows are floor to ceiling (I think) and so you're just looking out on the most beautiful expanse of water and islands, it's truly lovely. The room was incredibly clean, very modern and felt fresh. The beds were very comfortable and I got great sleep which is always an important factor to me. I loved the shower too, it was one of those rain one's, and the hot water service and water pressure were great. It didn't bother us, but some people might like to know that the bathroom isn't separate - if you slide the wooden bifold kind of doors around on each side then there is a barrier, but otherwise the bathroom is a part of the whole room. Overall though, very happy with the room and no complaints.

The breakfast was delicious and I definitely recommend it. Lots of options, sweet and savoury, and all different kinds. There was one roti and sauce that we particularly liked, and so the chef made some more just for us which was very kind. The juices were so fresh and mouthwatering too. Options for kids as well as adults which could be helpful for some.

Personally I found the whole building lovely. I didn't find it outdated at all - it felt very modern. The staff were lovely and helpful when we needed to use their computer in the office room to print things out and the wifi in the rooms was great for young people like us who are constantly on our phones - it was quick too. The staff were even kind enough to let me leave my postcards with them and post them for me which was a great help, and they all arrived to the recipients promptly.

We didn't get to swim in the pool or use any of the other services, but the pool looked very nice from our room above.

Also the bakery they have on the ground floor has some delicious stuff and is very handy!

Very much an enjoyable stay in Kota Kinabalu. Thank you :)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Imogen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRKinabalu, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Dear Imogen R,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us from 7 months ago! We definitely appreciate the effort and we are delighted you had a good time with us here in Kota Kinabalu.

We are glad you and your travelling companion enjoyed the friendly porter services as well as the view of the South China Sea, which we never tire of ourselves.

A lot of thought went into the bathroom design, taking into consideration feedback from our previous guests so we’re very pleased that you pointed it out, along with the building design and other facilities we offer to our guests.

We believe that the roti you pointed out may be “roti canai” a local Indian Muslim savoury pancake of sorts normally served with dhall curry. You might also be interested to know that we’ve moved the bakery or delicatessen, to Mosaic, on the street level to make it easier for passers-by to access.

Thank you again for your wonderful review and we are very much looking forward to welcoming you back.

Julia Chan
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

The Hyatt Regency Kinabalu is a perfectly decent place to stay.

Location-wise, it's fantastic - in the centre of town, right on the water, with good accessibility to the markets and around the city.

The biggest upside of the hotel is the freshly refurbished interiors of the rooms. Compared to other hotels in the city centre in KK, you'll have the most modern and up to date room interiors.

However where the Hyatt Regency falls behind competitors is the breakfast, which while adequate, doesn't match some of the other buffet breakfast options in town. And the facelift that's obviously taken place in the rooms hasn't made it to the lobby which still feels a bit dated.

The free wifi is great, fast, and not offered at all hotels in Sabah.

I'd recommend this as a good, solid business hotel, but for holiday travellers you may want to look at a place with a bit more charm.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the water provide the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank exploradoraLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

We spent UK £140 a night for a superior room which was immediately disappointing-a little shabby and run down. Staff responded promptly to our complaint and the upgrade was wonderful and included breakfast and happy hour! But this club room is normally pricey...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry_Patt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Upon check in, towels are missing. Bath robes are missing. Kettle gone. Mini bar not stocked. Toiletries were also not available. The next morning no newspaper was delivered to my room. No waiters to handle the early hours breakfast queue. Its a free for all and first come gets the table. This is a shame on the hyatt name and definitely not 5 star. Meridien may b a bttr choice. Although their rooms are dated. Facilities n service are still top notch.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank slch5079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRKinabalu, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear slch5079,

First of all, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are sincerely sorry that the room was not up to our usual high standards that we strive to provide. Please accept our sincerest apologies. Rest assured we will look into this and kindly contact us on your next visit so we may have the opportunity then to ensure your needs are met.

We are sorry for your experience and hope to be able to provide you with a better stay on your next visit.

Julia Chan
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Always the hotel of my choice when I visit KK. This stay was short but as usual, I was more than happy to put up at this hotel. Great staff and amenities. The only quibble I have pertains to the cleaning of the shower. It was clean but there was the presence of mold on the sides. Other than that, I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view room when you book. I had a city view which I didn't mind but then sea vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisj28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#12 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#8 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Kinabalu

Property: Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Address: Hyatt Regency Kinabalu Jalan Datuk Salleh Sulong, Kota Kinabalu 88991, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Kinabalu 5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience five-star Sabahan hospitality at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, the premier choice for business and leisure travellers to Sabah, the Land Below the Wind. This luxury hotel in Sabah is a mere 15 minutes drive from Kota Kinabalu International Airport, offering a central location in the heart of the city close to tourist attractions and stunning views of the famed sunsets in Kota Kinabalu. Unwind in one of our 288 spacious rooms and suites all exquisitely designed with sophisticated comfort in mind plus some of the best views in Kota Kinabalu including those of the sparkling South China Sea or the Kinabalu city surroundings. Dining options at our three Kinabalu restaurants and bars are a food aficionado's delight with some of the best food the city has to offer. Be it a dip in the blue waters of the outdoor pool, a relaxing massage at the Avantang Spa and fitness centre or a party at our Shenanigan's Fun Pub, our Kota Kinabalu hotel in Sabah has it all for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Agoda, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Hyatt Regency Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kota Kinabalu
Hyatt Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing